We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is not a four star resort” 2 of 5 stars
Review of at Whitsunday Vista Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added at Whitsunday Vista Resort to your Saves list
at Whitsunday Vista Resort
4.0 of 5 Condominium   |   1 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“This is not a four star resort”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2011

Maybe it was because we had a small one bedroom unit but this experience was not four star. The info said there was a kitchenette - this was just a sink and a microwave in a cupboard. Unit was very small and decor dated and a bit shabby. When someone on the floor triggered the fire alarm which was sounding (for quite a while) in every apartment - I called reception and was given a curt response. Views were of a construction site - not the views advertised. Bit of a hike to Airley's shops - okay if you don't have problems walking - we didn't - took us around 7 mins at a fast pace. You get what you pay for I suppose but when it says four star you expect it would be around that calibre.

Room Tip: If you want cooking facilities ask for a kithen with cooking facilities that includes a cooktop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    66
    33
    22
    21
See reviews for
31
109
10
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
ottawa
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2011

We arrived here on off hours and everything was well explained on after hour check in. We were very happy when we arrived in our one bedroom apartment. Very spacious and had everything we needed. We purchased the internet for 3 days and it was only 40$. The place is very close to the main street in Airlie and the beaches (5 minute walk). We ended up not booking our tours with the reception desk but they seemed very knowledgable with all the tours that were available. What really impressed us was that the woman at the front desk (karen) went out of her way to make sure that we had a nice last day at the resort despite our greyhound bus leaving at 7pm. She allowed for a later check out and ensured we were comfortable with all we needed in the nice pool area until we were ready to take our showers and prepare for our departure from Airlie. Thank you once again Karen and we had a great stay. Excellent price for value.

Room Tip: I think all of the rooms have a great view of the bay. we stayed in 10F and thouroughly enjoyed (3r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011

Great people who are very helpful. The room was fairly basic but ok. Usual stuff with remote control not working, and some minor ant problems....but decent enough room and great location. Slightly pricey for room only though with no servicing. Friendly staff made it all ok as an experience.

Room Tip: Dont bother with the jacuzzi room
See more room tips
Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annesley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011

We stayed in the Whitsunday Vista Resort for 2 nights in August 2011 and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

We had a spa suite and could not fault the size of the rooms, cleanliness or kitchenette facilities. The bed was comfortable, the spa bath nice and the balcony overlooked the harbour which was pleasant to see at sunset. We even had some wild cockatoos on our balcony!!

The staff were accommodating, bending over backwards to help us by storing our luggage on day of departure and offering advice on the area.

We would definately recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a balcony overlooking the beach/harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was a good clean hotel. It was great having a fridge and cooker to eat in when we wanted. Having a washer / dryer was a god send.

We had a suite with spa the first time - but didn't use the spa. The second time was an apartment which was also good. Again - basic but clean.

There was a Thai restaurant which was really good.

However there was no atmosphere around the hotel and in all our time there - hardly saw anyone!

It was about a 10 minute walk into airlie - but it was a very pleasant walk and fairly flat.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland
Level Contributor
68 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2011

My friend and I stayed 5 nights in a studio apartment. It was a bit smaller than expected but the view was good and the apartment was very clean. The kitchenette was quite disappointing, only providing a microwave, toaster, kettle and bar fridge. Had expected to get one hot plate as otherwise not too different to a motel. We were able to use the BBQ by the pool for cooking. There is a small laundry area shared with the neighbouring apartment. Reception staff were a bit frosty to begin with but had thawed out at the end of the 5 days. A little bit more knowledge about alternative activities in the area wouldn't go astray for those who want to do something other than visit beaches or islands. The Thai restaurant downstairs is great for take away and I would suggest going to the IGA supermarket 10 minutes walk towards Shute Harbour as it is a lot cheaper than the one along the main street.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2011

Stayed in a one bedroom self contained unit. Room had everything we needed whilst away from home (bedroom, bathroom, small kitchen and living area). Comfortable, clean and quiet hotel. Short 5 min walk to main street. We had a car and parked undercover... Easy to get around with a car but when driving around Airlie but you will soon learn that most areas around town are pay parking :(. Cedar Creek Waterfalls are about a half hour drive out of town. All rooms apparently have a view of the harbour - to get the great island views though you need to be out of airlie on the islands/ferries! Tour brochures available from reception and tours can be booked by hotel staff and hotel pick ups arranged. We organised our day trips easily ourselves - all seemed to be one set price unless specials were advertised at the numerous booking sights in main street of town. Enjoyable stay and extending our visit an extra night was no problem. Would eat out more next visit as you can grab $10 meals in town without any probs.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
1.2 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#3 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
at Boathaven Spa Resort
at Boathaven Spa Resort
#29 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
Blue Horizon Resort Apartments
#30 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.4 mi away
at Water's Edge Resort
at Water's Edge Resort
#8 of 16 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 449 reviews
0.9 mi away
Airlie Apartments
Airlie Apartments
#7 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to at Whitsunday Vista Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about at Whitsunday Vista Resort

Address: 1 Hermitage Drive | Whitsundays, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — at Whitsunday Vista Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Whitsunday Vista Resort offers you distinctive apartment style accommodation, located directly across from the Port of Airlie and adjoining Boathaven Bay. Relax and enjoy the Whitsunday Vista of turquise blue waters from your private balcony with uninterrupted views of the Coral Sea and Whitsunday Islands. Whitsunday Vista Resort offers a variety of room types including Bayview Spa Suites, 1 Bedroom Spa Suites, 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments, all with breathtaking water views and private balconies. Whitsunday Vista Resort is a pleasant five minute level walk to the centre of Airlie Beach, a bustling seaside resort village with great shopping, restaurants, cafes, bars and famous Airlie Beach swimming lagoon. Whitsunday Vista Resort is an ideal base from which to explore the Whitsundays, with an on site tour desk and convenient bus stop literally on our doorstep. Apartments feature wireless internet, individually controlled air conditioning, ceiling fans, LCD TV, cable TV, direct dial phones, kitchenette and laundry, additionally 1 and 2 Bedroom Apartments feature a fully equipped kitchen including dishwasher. Whitsunday Vista Resort features a delightful pool, outdoor heated spa, covered barbecue and entertaining area, undercover parking, lift access to all levels and Whitsunday Spicy Thai Restaurant open for dinner or room service every evening. Whitsunday Vista Resort is your ideal base for a holiday in the Whitsundays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Agoda and EasyToBook so you can book your at Whitsunday Vista Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Vista Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Vista Airlie Beach
At Whitsunday Vista Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage at Whitsunday Vista Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.