We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great way to experience the Whitsundays” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Whitsundays Sailing Adventures

Whitsundays Sailing Adventures
Ground Floor, Beach Plaza | 6 Airlie Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
1300-653-100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 56 activities in Airlie Beach
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Whitsundays Sailing Adventures - Quality Owner Operated Sailing & Diving Adventures. Great Barrier Reef - Whitsunday Islands - Australia. Vessels within the Whitsundays Sailing Adventures group Emperors Wings, Kiana, Pacific Sunrise, Silent Night, Summertime, SV Whitehaven, Whitsunday Getaway, Wings 2 & Wings 3. We have a fantastic range of vessels - and to make it easier for you to select the right style of Whitsunday Sailing Adventure cruises, we have grouped our yachts into four categories: Adventure and Classic Cruising, Eco Sailing Safari, Wings Diving and Style Sail and Dive. You can consider the options presented in each category to assist you to choose the vessel that will best suit your style and budget.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
39 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“A great way to experience the Whitsundays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

We just arrived back from a 2 day, 2 night trip on Wings II and it was fantastic. The boat was a catamaran style boat with a fairly big area for lying out in the sun. The crew were great - Mark as captain, Charlie as dive instructor and Lou Lou as host. The food was top quality - not sure how they managed it but they had tons of it at every meal and it was really good quality. Like other reviews have said, the accommodation is pretty small but works out fine - you don't really spend that much time in bed! We did 3 dives and visibility wasn't fantastic due to weather conditions but they were still great, got to see lots of coral, fish and a couple of turtles. The group sizes mean that everyone gets to know each other which makes for a fun trip - there were 21 guests on our trip. Very highly recommend a trip with Wings II.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    17
    4
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Summertime sailing adventure arrghhh!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took a 3 day trip on the "summertime" boat this August. We picked it because it had one day of seeing whitehaven beach, one day for diving/snorkel and one day for kayaking. A lot of boats have similar itineraries but we liked summertime because of (a) the food - we were really surprised at the quality of food made by chef Alex on a boat! He meals were all prepared from scratch and were delicious. (b) diving for beginners - neither my wife or I had ever done scuba before - Mickey is a pro and taught us the basics. Note that this wasn't included and costed an additional fee. (c) the passengers - our particular boat had a fun bunch of people from england, switzerland, Netherlands, Italy, Poland and my wife and I are from USA. After the cruise there was a party at a bar in town.

The crew of summertime had an underwater camera and took photos of the people and you can get a copy for a small fee.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alice Springs, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“"Summertime" - just great!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was on the 3 days/ 2 nights cruise on "Summertime" and can really recommend it. We had a lot of fun and saw some beatiful places. They provide perfect mixture of beach time, snorkling, diving and kayaking. Comfortable, wooden boat and amazing food!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Sailing the Whitsundays on Summertime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

Our family did the three days two nights trip out on the Whitsundays with Summertime and we would certainly recommend them. There were several reasons we booked with Summertime the first being availability of a triple berth, next that it was not a party boat and lastly the availability of kayaking and diving. We had previously booked another boat with a triple cabin with en-suite but that boat was removed from sailing in the Whitsundays. On our trip aboard Summertime there were 16 people which was a bit crowded but OK. There was certainly an opportunity to get to know everyone on board.

On our trip the first day we went to Whitehaven beach which was absolutely beautiful. We spent the afternoon with Ally and had lots of fun photo opportunities. Ally is a very energetic and a terrific hostess, also the Summertime chef. The second day we got to go snorkeling in several locations and scuba diving with Mikey. On the last day we went kayaking to see turtles and rays - there were heaps of each and the kayaking was an excellent activity. As mentioned in another review the nights were pretty chilled out as we had lots of activities and an early start.

The crew; Captain Brad, hostess and chef Ally and dive-master Mikey were great and really easy to get along with. They each did their best to ensure everyone had an enjoyable time. Ally prepared excellent meals and snacks, there was certainly no reason for anyone to be left hungry with 3 good meals a day plus snacks.

While we would have preferred a bit larger cabin with en-suite facilities the Summertime was a very good experience and worked well for a triple berth two night / three day trip. I would have said "sail" but on our trip the weather was so calm (beautiful) we had to use the Summertime's engine exclusively and had no opportunity to experience the sails.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Highlight of Australia sailing with Summertime”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My boyfriend and I did a three days two nights trip out on the Whitsundays with Summertime and would definitely recommend them. The reason we went with Summertime was due to it being a small boat and not a party boat. Alltogether I think it holds around 14-16 people which was great as it wasn't too crowded and you had the chance to get to know everyone on board. We also went with Summertime because of the activities they offered including snorkelling, kayaking and a free introductory dive.

The first day we went to Whitehaven beach which was beautiful where we all messed around for photos for Aly and played frisbee. The second day we got to go snorkelling and try out scuba diving with Mikey. Finally the last day we went kayaking and got to see lots of turtles and rays - a highlight of the trip. On the nights it was pretty chilled out with a few glasses of goon then bed as we always had an early start.

The crew Brad, Aly and Mikey were great and really easy to get along with. The food Aly prepared for us was amazing and I don't think anyone was ever left hungry. We always had 3 huge meals a day aswell as snacks!

Great trip and will always be a highlight of Australia for me!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitsundays Sailing Adventures also viewed

 
Queensland, Australia
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Whitsundays Sailing Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitsundays Sailing Adventures, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Whitsundays Sailing Adventures to your Saves list