We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT AGAIN” 5 of 5 stars
Review of La Tabella Trattoria

La Tabella Trattoria
The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 7 4948 1888
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $23
Cuisines: Italian, Pasta
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Open 7 days All day dining Full Table Service Outdoor seating Views Private air conditioned function room Cocktail Bar Homemade pastas Fresh locally caught seafood
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“PERFECT AGAIN”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

As a local I have visited La Tabella many times, in fact I think my husband has a seat with his name on it. Visited on Sunday 29th for a girls lunch and once again was not disappointed. The gnocchi was to die for and the service, as always, I could not fault.............Leni continually improves everything at the restaurant, not sure how, but she does. Thanks for a brilliant, relaxing and enjoyable afternoon. Good luck to Iris who is off to pastures knew, you will be sorely missed.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

411 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    94
    50
    23
    27
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Breakfast”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Came here for breakfast yesterday then again today! Baked eggs are the go along with the great coffee! Staff are also fantastic!! Might be back for the third morning in a row tomorrow!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
Level Contributor
204 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
“Excellent food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

We had dinner here and were quite impressed. The table service was friendly and attentive, without being intrusive. The weather was a little cooler than we anticipated, but not to worry. Not only were we offered a table near a heater, A waitress offered my girlfriend a loan of her jacket. An unexpected nice gesture.
The food was great too, excellent pizza and calamari and canoli for dessert. Reasonable value for money in a nice setting, with great service. We would go back.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Inconsistent Italian”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Airlie Beach's only dedicated Italian Restaurant needs to make some serious improvements in order to retain its clientele. As a local, I look forward to taking advantage of a night out now and again, and given the expensive prices in Airlie, I expect it to be good.

In the interests of a fair review, I have had some excellent experiences at La Tabella in the past; however, my recent experiences have been inconsistent. It is difficult to tell whether your service and food will be outstanding, mediocre, or very poor.

When I dined at La Tabella with a table of friends recently, we suffered one of the worst dining experiences I've had. Minimal attention from the staff, mediocre food, and when I mentioned our concerns about the long wait for our food, the Maitre d' had the audacity to insinuate that it was our - the customers' - fault: "An hour is a normal wait for food," You should have gone inside and told the staff," "I was busy elsewhere," "It's a staff member's last week before she quits," "The staff don't speak good English," "We have a highly transient staff," "I've been in hospitality for twenty-five years," "It's always going to be this way in Airlie Beach," and so on.

The arrogance, bland food, drinks and fake apology were more than anyone should have to deal with.

People in Airlie Beach - tourists or locals - deserve a quality dining experience. La Tabella needs to make much better use of this opportunity.

Pick up your game, Tony. Your guests deserve better.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
88 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great food impeccable service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2014

A very enjoyable dinner. Staff were outstanding with service and pleasant as well. We felt like friends afterwards. I have a history in the pizza making world so was nitpicking in saying it wasn't the best ever but it certainly was very good. Everyone else in our party had superbly presented dishes and we could have been in any of the best restaurants around the world. Lovely ambience in the al fresco setting. Definitely recommendable.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tabella Trattoria also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to La Tabella Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tabella Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.