We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Tabella Trattoria

La Tabella Trattoria
The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 7 4948 1888
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 70 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Price range: $11 - $26
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Open 7 days All day dining Outdoor seating Views Private air conditioned function room Cocktail Bar Homemade pastas Fresh locally caught seafood
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
“Great food, great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

Ate at la tabella with 9 of us, kids and adults all really enjoyed the food. Did have a bit of a wait for our food. Yummy menu good cocktail and wine list. Thanks la tabella

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    60
    31
    21
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, QLD
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Very nice lunch”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Attended a lunch with friends , food and service were exceptional, owner operator really works at pleasing here guests.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent breakfast”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013 via mobile

Beautiful food in a great location served by great staff. We have been here for two breakfasts in a row & can't wait to return for a dinner. Loved drinking wine there in the afternoons after spending the day at the laguna. Great coffee:)

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Perfect Pasta”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

Walked the esplanade trying to decide on a restaurant for dinner. Lucky for us we chose La Tabella Trattoria. The service was fantastic, the ambiance was lovely and the food was amazing. It is sometimes very hard to find a restaurant that offers a large range of gluten free choices. I devoured my Pasta Marina enjoying every mouthful of the perfectly cooked GF pasta. definitely will return on our next visit.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Bland tasteless pasta”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2013

My wife and I had what we call cheap food at high prices at this restaurant on sep 13. The pasta was so bland and tasteless. We were very disappointed. Spaghetti cooked with no salt whatsoever, no chili as described in the menu item, no Parmesan, salt shakers that did not work. Waited forever for drinks- if they had been on the ball we would have had an extra round of drinks - just don't get it. Then to add a surcharge for a credit card - just taking the customer for granted. Duncan

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leni F, Owner at La Tabella Trattoria, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Duncanandjulia,

Once again, please accept our apologies for the lack of salt and chili in your pasta dish.
Perhaps you have a palate that prefers spicier food, as neighboring tables overheard your comments and mentioned that theirs was perfect.
It would've been a pleasure to bring you some extra chili, at no extra charge, or to re cook the dish for you had you bought it to our attention early instead of consuming the whole lot and then complaining.
We do add parmesan to our pasta dishes, again we would've bought some extra.
Your wife ate all her meal, from memory a pizza, which I trust she enjoyed.
It was a busy night on Friday 13th and apologise you had to wait 5-8 minutes for your drink.

Kind regards
Leni
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tabella Trattoria also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to La Tabella Trattoria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Tabella Trattoria, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.