We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Day trip to Long Island” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shute Harbour

Shute Harbour
Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Visit Shute Harbour like an insider
Top Rated
$659*
and up
3-Day Whitsunday Islands Luxury Sailing Experience
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Day trip to Long Island”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Departed on Cruise Whitsundays ferry to Long Island from here after catching local bus from Airlie Beach. Very nice coffee at Cafe while waiting for ferry to depart.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    47
    38
    12
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Tumut, Australia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
21 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Picturesque place for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stumbled across a café here and had a light lunch sitting outside overlooking the harbour - fantastic. The only 'gripe' is we were the only 2 in the café ordering a meal and the waitress 'forgot' our coffees as she said she had too much on her mind.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungendore, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Nothing really to do here but beautiful spot”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

We came here to just catch the ferry to island. Nothing really to do here but watch the boats beautiful views and water. Nice to see once then that's it. Need to pay for parking $7.00 day

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“small but the base for most departures for the cruises.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

We went out to Shute habour to have a look and see the scenery, would be an amazing place to live with the houses on the side of the cliff amazing. We went to the Shute Harbour Ticket office and were lucky to meet Jack who was very informative and helped us do our bookings . His booking office is further down near the carpark. (not the Big building with the cafe) ..

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Queensland, Australia
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
58 attraction reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
“Water Colour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

When driving into Shute Harbour from Airlie Beach, the first thing that greets you is the amazing water colour. It is something that will stay in your memory for eternity. Drive on up to the look out for the best view, out to the Whitsunday passage and islands. Shute Harbour itself has tour operators, which is convienient if you would like to take a day trip. The ferry to Hamilton Island operates from Shute Harbour and there are a few shops to browse through and an eatry for those wanting a coffee or snack. Shute Harbour is one place we take our visitors and all who see it are very impressed, taking many photographs.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shute Harbour also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Shute Harbour? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shute Harbour, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.