We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Average.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airlie Waterfront Backpackers

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Airlie Waterfront Backpackers to your Saves list
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
4.0 of 5 Hostel   |   6 The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Halifax, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Pretty Average.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

We only stayed in Airlie for a night. The room was OK and it did the job for us. No atmosphere to the place. Seemed relatively clean. Staff were ok and tried to assist us in activities. Probably wouldn't have wanted to stay for longer than a night!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    33
    32
    13
    15
See reviews for
3
32
26
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We spent months organising our belated honeymoon and wanted to include a trip to the Whitsundays. We decided to book Airlie Waterfront Backpackers as a cheap stay either side of our boat trip as we liked the description of being close to the beach.
DO NOT BOOK THIS HOTEL!
you will not receive a confirmation e-mail and they will charge your card regardless of whether you stayed there or not. You cannot get hold of them at all, they don't answer the phone and they do not reply to the messages left via the contact form. The have no dedicated e-mail either.
Despite contacting them via their online contact form 3 times they did not contact me back although they say they did I am meticulous in my planning and checked both junk and inbox. As i had no confirmation of my booking i warned them i would cancel my trip again via the contact form as i could not get through by any other means.
I booked another hotel and thought that was that.
When we returned from our trip we found that our card was charged and there was a message on our phone indicating this. We were appalled!
Considering that i had emailed several times and told them i had not received any replies and left my phone number...the only time they bother to contact my via phone was when it was too late!
Why did they not try and phone me prior to the trip when i obviously was not receiving their communication.
I would advise you to book somewhere that has an e-mail address ad a phone number that you can actually get through on, Dont waste your money on this place.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012

Don't go there! It was really aweful! We couldn't sleep at all because the room was dirty, noisy and the springs were popping out of the mattres painfully. Above all, we never met such rude staff especially Mary.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

positive:
- perfect location
- friendly staff
- free Wifi
- roof terraces for each room
- only 20 Dollars in 6 Share

negative:
- small rooms, no space for your luggage or lockers in room
- Wifi is really slow and often doesnt work, can be a big problem when you
try to book your greyhound tickets...
- kitchen is not that good, cooking will need a long time because of defect oven

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

My friend and I stayed here for 2 nights. When we arrived and checked in we were told that we had been upgraded to a better room, which sounded great! So the room changed from a 17 share to a 13! On the downside I don't feel it's appropriate that there is only 1 unisex toilet for at least 24 people?! There was not a sink in the toilet so you had to go to one of the 2 small shower rooms to wash your hands - and if they were full, what are you supposed to do? The shower rooms were unclean the majority of the the time, small and dingy! The kitchen was quite small and it seemed like the only one in the hostel? There was free WIFI though!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

We stayed here for 5 nights on vacation and got what we expected. It's better than most hostels, with clean rooms and a bar downstairs with some other shops. We stayed in a "dorm", although there were only two bunk beds in it. There were three of us and usually a fourth person (whom we didn't know) stayed there as well. The room was a little cramped and not enough outlets for everyone to charge their phones, etc. The bathroom was a good size and fairly clean. The wifi was free and they also have a computer room where you pay a certain price to get a certain amount of minutes. The bar downstairs was very nice and the bartender was welcoming and gave us advice on what to do and which restaurants to go to. The best things about this hostel are the view and the location. The view of the beach is spectacular (the beach is right across the street from the hostel!). The hostel is within a short distance of the main street. Overall, I would consider staying here again but probably get a private room.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012

Hostel was fine, tiny room :(! Smell from shower drain! Had to pay 20Dollars deposit for plates etc. Staff (Apart from one nice lady) were very unhelpful and rude. Everything seemed like a problem to them! Airlie Beach is nice though!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlie Waterfront Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Waterfront Backpackers

Address: 6 The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Airlie Waterfront Backpackers 4*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Beach Plaza with its high cathedral peaked roofs, open plan mezzanine style architecture and being uniquely positioned right on the beach off the esplanade with dramatic views of the Whitsunday Island's makes it the perfect place to visit in our beautiful Airlie Beach. We are an iconic multilevel shopping centre, filled with a variety of excellent restaurants, conference centre, business centre, en-suite hotel rooms, shops and a small upmarket backpackers hostel. We are the ideal venue to visit for all day dining as we have an array of food establishment's with great views of Airlie Beach. Airlie Waterfront Backpackers is Airlie Beach's FLASHPACKERS. Refurbished in September 2008, our hostel boasts a fantastic central location 500 meters easy walk from the bus station and only minutes away from the swimming lagoon. Located on The Esplanade, our hostel is directly opposite the beach with million dollar sea views out to Whitsunday Islands and offers a great range of budget accommodation to suit all types of backpackers and travellers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and HostelBookers so you can book your Airlie Waterfront Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlie Waterfront Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.