We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easily Top 5 Hostel in Australia” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backpackers by the Bay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Backpackers by the Bay to your Saves list
Backpackers by the Bay
12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Halifax, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Easily Top 5 Hostel in Australia”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I have traveled all throughout Australia, New Zealand, Asia, Europe, and North America. Hostels all have their standards and people have learned to expect certain things in certain areas. Comparatively, Australia has a fairly low standard; poor kitchens, dirty bathrooms, uncomfortable beds, and often grumpy, unhelpful, staff. Backpackers by the Bay breaks this norm, making it one of my top picks of Australia hands down. It is a MUST STAY. Especially compared to the other places in Airlie Beach, this tops them all.
They gave me one nights stay for booking my boat trip with them, stored my luggage, and dropped me at the Marina - ALL FOR FREE.
Ignore the average coverage given by Lonely Planet. The rooms are clean with only 4 beds and quiet when you need to sleep. The kitchen is fully functional and well equipped. An awesome back deck and pool area looks out into the harbor, nestling you in the hills of Airlie Beach. It is obvious that the staff are motivated to keep this place running smoothly and are more than welcoming, always inviting others to join in in day time and night time adventures. So many good memories here.
SUCH A NICE PLACE, WISH I DIDN'T HAVE TO LEAVE!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    84
    40
    13
    19
See reviews for
2
75
99
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Port Douglas, Queensland, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I was advised to go to the "By the Bay" by a friend and she was right! This Backpacker is well located in Airlie Beach. With an extremely friendly staff who helps you to book the next of your adventures! The perfect place to chill and relax while enjoying all the beauties of the Whitsundays!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Place is welcoming and the people are really nice. I checked in at 7.00am and was out with a staff member and several guests by 8am for the entire day. Really relaxed slightly more mature atmosphere. Spent 2 nights and would recommend

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, uk
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

We arrived in Airlie beach and we were met by the lovely Chloe and taken directly to backpackers by the bay. We had only planned to spend a couple of days there to do a sailing trip to the Whitsunday islands. After our boat trip we settled in and met some of the most amazing people we've met in our entire travels! The backpackers offered amazing value for money and a community atmosphere that ensured everybody felt at home. Quiz nights, card games and more keeping everyone entertained, even though the main town area was 2 minutes walk away we found ourselves at the hostel every night!!!
Highly reccommended backpackers...... THE BEST IN AUSTRALIA!!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

After travelling Australia for over 14 months and staying in many Hostels, I can Safely say that 'The Backpackers by the Bay' Is the best Backpackers I have ever stayed at!!!! The Location is perfect, the staff are awesome and the general vibe of this backpackers overshone any that I have been to! Pete the owner is very welcoming, helpful and friendly, giving this hostel a real home from home atmosphere. The staff are fantastic, they get everyone invoved in the hostel playing nightly quizes and Chloe Is the best entertainer with here hilarious card games! all of these things creates the unique vibe of Backpackers by the Bay! It's perfect for if your travelling on your own, as a group or as a couple. My husband an I planned to stay here for 1 night and ended up staying for 3 weeks and!!!! We were sad to leave but have made friends and memories that will last a lifetime, due to our stay at 'Backpackers by the bay'!!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Great hostel with clean rooms. Located only 5 minutes walk from the main street. Very friendly and helpful staff (special thanks to Peter for his patience and his advise). I particularly enoyed the quiz organised by the staff, good opportunity to meet new people. I definitly recommand this place!

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

So I hopped off the bus and was greeted by one of the guys from the hostel who took me there in the bus even though it wouldn't be that far to walk. I checked in and met Peter who was very friendly and told me about the quiz they do in the evenings to win a free bottle of champagne. None of the rooms have more than 4 people in which is nice and the rooms were nice although under the beds wasn't cleaned very well. The kitchen was nice and clean although it was a bit on the small side I thought if there were a lot of people wanting to cook at the same time, not that this was a problem for me. It is about a 5 minute walk to town which I liked as it means you are away from the night life (I'm not a party person) but it's easy to get into town as well. Overall a great place to stay :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Address: 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, HostelBookers and HostelWorld so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpackers by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.