We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hostel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Backpackers by the Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Backpackers by the Bay to your Saves list
Backpackers by the Bay
12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WIFI
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great hostel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

So I hopped off the bus and was greeted by one of the guys from the hostel who took me there in the bus even though it wouldn't be that far to walk. I checked in and met Peter who was very friendly and told me about the quiz they do in the evenings to win a free bottle of champagne. None of the rooms have more than 4 people in which is nice and the rooms were nice although under the beds wasn't cleaned very well. The kitchen was nice and clean although it was a bit on the small side I thought if there were a lot of people wanting to cook at the same time, not that this was a problem for me. It is about a 5 minute walk to town which I liked as it means you are away from the night life (I'm not a party person) but it's easy to get into town as well. Overall a great place to stay :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    131
    77
    35
    11
    17
See reviews for
2
72
89
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oldenburg, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

I really want to recommend this hostel, because it is really one of the nicest and friendliest hostels I´ve stayed in during my time in Australia. The staff is really nice and helpful and the owner makes the place really a home for travellers in caring and with his positive, nice attitude. I felt welcome and comfortable straight away. The staff gives you help with booking of tours and hostels. In the evenings there´s a quiz - if enough people wanna take part - which is a good chance to get to know other travellers, but that´s not very hard in that hostel anyways, because it is quite small and the atmosphere really great. The Wifi is a bit dear, but that might also be a good thing, because like that nobodody is staring at his computer the whole time. The bathroom smelled a bit and was a bit hairy, but that was basicly the only minus I would point out. If you wanna stay in a nice, laid-back, quiet (not a party place) hostel in Airlie, this is perfect.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

Great staff, friendly atmosphere, brilliant evening quiz for a bottle of champagne. Pete at the desk has loads of knowledge on the local boats and will book your forward travels as well. Booked a last minute boat through the desk for a knock down price - a brilliant trip!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 26, 2013

I had a wonderful time in Backpacker by the Bay. The staff is very nice and helpful. There's a lot of space in the room for all your stuff. The kitchen, toilets and rooms are very clean. I recommend this hostel to everybody! :)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brunswick, Ohio
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

This is a really nice hostel to stay at if you want to be near the main strip but not in the middle of it. It's quiet and homey, and reception offers a lot to make your stay enjoyable. You can book tours through them (and they can help you decide what's best for you), store your luggage, and there are daily shuttles to the bus stations and to the pier. They also offer a $2.50 breakfast option with cereal, bread, peanut butter, etc (or you can buy eggs and toast for the same price!).

There's also plenty to do to stay busy at the hostel. They have a pool, a mini bar outside, sunloungers and hammocks to lay out and read or relax during the day, a pool table, DVDs you can borrow, and a nightly hostel quiz where you can win a bottle of champagne.

Everything is really clean as well, and it's only about a four minute walk to the main road. Great stay!

Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

this hostel is just amazing. I arrived and booked a last minute sailing trip through them, not only did i not have to pay some cancellation fee, i got a night for free! And the price is already amazing. They held my luggage for me when i was away. You get 1 hour free wifi. It's located a bit outside the town which is nice. Only the mattress are a bit thin the rest is awesome.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
85 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We only stayed a couple of nights here before setting off to the Whitsunday's. The staff were brilliant. We had a good laugh with them every night. I especially loved the quiz nights as we won both nights in a row. Free booze! Result.

The rooms are fine and the location is great as its quiet. Our room was fine and the fellow guests were looking for the same thing as us: i.e to chat and not party!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Address: 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpackers by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.