We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really chill” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Backpackers by the Bay

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Backpackers by the Bay to your Saves list
Backpackers by the Bay
12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Free WIFI
Lanoka Harbor, New Jersey
1 review
“Really chill”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Found this hostel the best and most like home throughout my Eastern Australia travels. If you don't wanna be bothered with 18 year old party animals and prefer that crowd in their 20's and 30's that really know how to have a good time, this is the ticket. Beds are comfy and rooms have a max of 4 people in them. I would say stay here and party hard right down the street.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    130
    76
    34
    11
    16
See reviews for
2
70
88
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

A cozy backpackers hostel with an amazing view and where staff actually cares about their guests! We booked our Whitsunday boat trip here as well and got a free night upon return. More importantly, we weren't just put on any available boat but it suited all our requests. At night, the bar and terrace are a great place to meet other travellers and enjoy some drinks (the cheapest ones I've ever bought while in Oz!). It's easy to walk into town but also nice is hanging out by the pool at the hostel or to take a powernap in one of the hammocks, also with a great view.
This is the place to be in Airlie if you're looking for a laid-back hostel and have a great time. Would recommend this place to anyone. Thanks bbtB for a great stay!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Absolutely loved and enjoyed my stay here. I arrived by the Greyhound bus stop and was greeted by a very friendly bus driver who isntantl;y made me feel welcome. He even helped me with my bags when we arrived. The Receptionist was very helpful from the moment i arrived and even remembered my name which i thought was a nice touch. The hostel itself is nice and clean, perfect lay out for a hostel that isnt too busy. The bathroom facilities were good, the showers were amazing! Much better than some of the other hostels ive stayed in. (Base, Wake up etc) The pool is just like one that you would find at a 4+ star hotel!
This hostel is a great way to meet new people as its a nice size and you soon see familiar faces. the staff live on site and are always willing to help even when not working!

I would deffinatly reccoment this hostel if you ar looking for a quiet, friendly place in a great town!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart, Germany
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

I've stayed at the Backpackers by the Bay in 2007 and remembered it as a friendly hostel with a more laid back approach. I don't like party hostels, so I came back. We had a double room with direct pool access, which was quite nice. A fan cools you by day, the aircon only works at night,but that's still enough. The facilities are generally clean and well maintained, but the whole hostel could need a thorough cleanup or even more a renovation in some parts. It seemed to me that nothing has been done in the last five years. Also the wifi is limited (only one hour is free), and a fee applies for the single internet PC available, aswell as for the pool table. On the other hand there is a licensed bar with a cozy seating area nearby the pool, and the staff is very helpful. We could leave our luggage there while going on a sailing trip (fee applies...) and were welcome to stay on the premises and use the showers as we returned, even though we didn't stay overnight but had to wait only for the greyhound bus. The hostel is quite animal friendly. Gekkos and Grasshoppers invaded the common areas by night, and green ants do live around the pool, but I have no problem with a little nature as long as it stays out of my room. All in all still highly recommended if you need a relaxing base fir your Whitsundays trip (which can be booked through the hostel btw).

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairnryan, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

A fine hostel, located just a mere stones throw from the buzzing esplanade of Airlie Beach where Australia's young blood come to party the summer away, this hostel is a great place to rest your tired head.

Don't worry about the 3 minute walk from the bus station to the hostel as a friendly person will come to collect you and load up your luggage into the mini bus no matter how many pieces of baggage you are laden down with.

Clean 4-bed rooms with air conditioning at night time. The communal bathrooms are clean, spacious and they have plenty of facilities. The onsite laundrette and kitchen are also clean and spacious. There's plenty of space for hanging around when you get back from your boat trip at the Whitsundays so relax and spend a day swinging on the hammocks and lounging around the pool.

There are all age groups staying here, young and old, couples, singles and groups of backpackers.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

Room was clean and comfortable. Small quiet and located slightly further from town compared to the other hostels. but Airlie is generally safe hence there is no need to worry about walking back to the hostel late at night. Loved the staff there, they were absolute dear and very very helpful.bathroom is clean as well and they clean it a couple of times in a day.
they have a little verandah where there are hammocks for you to chill out and read a book, thats my fav spot!

However, the kitchen is not as clean as one would have hoped for and the rooms are slightly old and there is no air conditioner. I visited during the winter, but airlie was fairly warmer than NSW (where i was from), but i reckon duirng summer u ll be burning. there is a pool in the hostel as well, but i dont hink anyone would dip in there cos it looks abandoned.
for the price that you pay, i think it is value for money. and if you are looking for a quieter option compared to YHA or nomads where most backpackers are drunk and making a mess. this hostel is definitely for you.
They also have private rooms if you do nt wish to share w strangers or other backpackers.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Truro, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

Really enjoyed my 3 night stay at Backpackers by the Bay. I stayed in a 4 bed female dorm, which was so cosy with the wooden furniture. The bathrooms were fairly well maintained and there were always showers available whenever I wanted. The kitchen was fine and the complimentary tea and coffee was much appreciated, though a little milk wouldn't have gone a miss.

The location is perfect, it is only a 5 minute walk into the main street area of Airlie Beach, so it is very quiet and actually this is the nearest hostel to the bus drop off, though the hostel does provide a pick up/drop off service to meet all Greyhound buses.

Would definitely recommend this hostel to others. Whilst in AB, make sure you visit the Whitsundays on a Ocean Rafting day trip, so much fun!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Address: 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpackers by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.