We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stored our luggage cheaply” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Backpackers by the Bay

Save Saved
You added Backpackers by the Bay to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Backpackers by the Bay
12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Cairns, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Stored our luggage cheaply”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

We stayed at backpackers by the bay on the days surrounding our Whitsundays trip. It was a nice hostel but in need of a bit of updating. It is just that little bit too far out of town in comparison to some other hostels, however they did store our luggage cheaply for us while we went out on our boat which was ahuge help and they give an hours free wifi to new guests and they give out free dvd rental.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    118
    62
    30
    9
    14
See reviews for
2
58
81
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Huaraz
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

Backpackers by the Bay is riddled with bedbugs be warned!
I stayed there for a night and was totally covered in bites the next morning. I went to the doctor and he said that I had a bad allergic reaction to bedbugs, which most people do not get, that's why they are not aware of the bedbugs presence.
Wooden furniture is where the bugs actually live and should be avoided at all cost!
The staff at Backpackers by the Bay were not helpful when I told them about it and just ignored the problem.

Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

I stayed here for nearly a week (with a couple of days off on a sailing trip). Hostel was clean, staff were really helpful and being away from the main shops, it was calm and quiet. There weren't many people (maybe 20-30% occupied) so perhaps it was easier to ensure cleanliness, but it was certainly one of the cleanest backpackers I've ever stayed at.

Kitchen was spacious, dorms were comfortable, and the shower stalls were roomy (it's nice to shower without having your elbows stick to shower curtains or bang against the wall). Hammocks are hung out daily and there are chairs outside the rooms to enjoy the sunshine on.

The staff helped plan and book all my activities, and had lots of suggestions on what do to and where to go. Bags were stored for free while I was on a sailing trip and there was a free night's stay when booking overnight trips through them.

Two little gripes: no hand soap in the toilets and the stairs to the main road was not properly lit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Hostel is cute, there is a nice atmosphere, the bedrooms are clean and spacious. The kitchen is big, and there is a Pool table.
The only thing that bothered me is that it's a bit far from the center... Ok it's 7-10min walk, but as the city is realy small, that's a lot.
Other than that, it's fine, I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2012

In Airlie Beach there is not much to see, but it is a great point of departure to the Whitsundays.

We stayed in Backpacker's by the bay in the night before our cruise, and the night after returning from the boat. Meanwhile, they stored our bags for a small fee and that was really handy. Also, we were picked up from the bus station upon arrival, which was quite nice.

The staff was really friendly and helpful, the place is quiet and comfortable, the rooms are nicely decorated and the facilities are ok. Not the cleanest place I ever was, but clean enough and nice enough.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my boyfriend in a private double room for 1 night in August 2012. Our stay was a very pleasant one- we had a free pickup directly from the bus station (ironically by a fella who was also from northern Ireland)

Prices were a little steep, at $70 for a private room, but we did have a gorgeous view and hammocks right outside our French doors!

We had to pay to leave our bags whilst on the whitsundays trip, which I know other hostels let you leave them there for free if you book with them, but it wasn't too expensive.

Wifi connection was good, and yes it was turned off at 7pm, but they're an Eco-hostel! We're saving the planet one Facebook status at a time!

Communal areas were clean and looked homely, although it was fairly quiet when we were there- their winter I suppose.

About 5-10min walk from the main part of town- nice because it's quiet rather than in the centre of the bars etc.

Overall we really enjoyed our stay in backpackers by the bay- I Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

This place was ok for a couple of nights prior to our Whitsundays trip, but nothing more. The rooms and the communal areas were clean enough, but in places it felt a little tired. As an example most of the locks on the shower doors in the mens bathroom were broken.

It’s already been mentioned in some of the other review, but the free wifi advertised on their leaflet is only available until 7.00pm after which the internet is turned off. There is an onsite bar, but this wasn’t open during the two nights we stayed at the hostel. There was also no quiz or outdoor movie either despite signs everywhere advertising numerous activities. This all led to a bit being a bit dull come the evenings. Maybe at other times of the year, or when the hostel is busier, things are different?

Overall we were a bit disappointed, especially as it was one of the more expensive hostels we have stayed in during out time in Aus so far.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Backpackers by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Backpackers by the Bay

Address: 12 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 47 Specialty lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Agoda and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Backpackers by the Bay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Backpackers By The Bay Hotel Airlie Beach
Backpackers By The Bay Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Backpackers by the Bay, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.