We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good bar everything else crap” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Magnums Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Magnums Backpackers to your Saves list
Magnums Backpackers
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good bar everything else crap”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

First night stayed in a double which was small, dirty and felt like a shack. Only stayed another 2 nights because we had cheap vouchers. Me and 2 other people had bed bug bites over us. Place is pretty dirty. Staff are terrible, don't make you feel welcome and just wana get rid of you. Only place we've had to pay to store our luggage.
The bar is pretty decent but overall I wouldn't advise to stay here. Stay somewhere else and just go to the bar!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your feedback.
We cannot find any evidence that you shared any concerns with our team - we only wish you had as your claims are very serious.
We can only state that our cleaning routines and procedures are very strict, our team are very diligent - so of course we are both surprised and disappointed to have received this feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

283 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    83
    67
    29
    58
See reviews for
1
88
64
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

I slept in a 8 beds dorm for only $19. Magnums is very similar to the Gilligans in Cairns, but the good thing is the accomodation are a little bit far away from the big bar/restaurant party. My room had an automatic A/C, too cold sometimes especially at night... The room was big enough, but the bathroom too small for 8 person... The kitchen was very hot, but you can find some room in the fridge for your cold food. Unfortunately there were enough kitchen ustensil...
But for the price that I paid, it was okay !
Free wifi access very useful even if slow.
Very good location indeed !

Room Tip: If you are 2 people, book the double room for only $50/night, so $25 per person for a better privacy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your review.
We are glad you found the location very good indeed - we love being so central in Airlie Beach and close to all that the town has to offer.
We are always looking for ways to improve and have now implemented a new system in regards to the ever disappearing kitchen utensils to ensure there is aways enough to go around!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Stayed at the Magnum before our sailing trip to the Whitsunday Island. The place has a lot of people and the facilities are not very clean. Our room had a moldy smell, but there was a fridge and some kitchen appliances located in the room. If you are looking for a place to meet people and party, this might be a good choice for you. If you look for a place to get a good night's rest, maybe find something else.

Room Tip: Try to get a room further away from the bar area.. Otherwise you will not be able to sleep a lot
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
Magnums does have a great social aspect that a lot of our guest do enjoy - it is always great to meet people whilst travelling.
At Magnums we do have a saying "Party at the bar - sleep in the beds" so we do not like to think of ourselves as a "party hostel" - we want all of our guests to enjoy their stay at Magnums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in total over 2 stints as we had a cruise booked in the middle...overall really impressed. We stayed in a private double room both times and both times the rooms were clean and well stocked with cutlery, fridge bedding...you'll need to bring your own towels (although you can hire for 3Aud from reception). The room shared 2 toilets and 2 showers with 2 other rooms so never an issue waiting.

The reception is often very busy, but there is always a few people on...patience is virtue!!

The complex itself is set in tropical style gardens, which has a free wifi zone, would have preferred to have access to it anywhere but a minor negative.

Myself and partner are a bit older than the norm here at 28 and 34 and I would suggest that any older and you may want to stay elsewhere (unless you're young at heart) as it definitely a party place, although once in your room the noise isn't too bad. The bar is great and very competitively prices although it gets a raucous once evening comes, but there are plenty of alternatives nearby.

The only negative was the kitchens, although large most of the guests were not very respectful and left dishes rubbish having around...the cleaning staff always had a hard job come morning times.

Overall though great location and would recommend!!!

Room Tip: If travelling in a pair I would definitely recommend a private as you don't know what crazy kid...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your great review.
We are glad you were pleasantly surprised by our resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Really enjoyed my time here. Right in the center or Airlie Beach. Kitchen facilities, bed rooms etc are kept very clean. All rooms have aircon in them. Staff get you checked in very fast. Hostel has its own bar and night club so it did get a little loud if you never went out in the evening but not so that it would keep you awake. Would advise people to go this hostel if they are in Airlie Beach.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, November 27, 2013
Thank you for your great review!
We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at Magnums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salzburg, Austria
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

The best things about the hostel were the great atmosphere with all the plants and small cabins and the great location! The staff was also really chilled and fun to hang out with. They offered free wifi which was really cool and the kitchen/TV room was perfectly clean. The hostel was perfect for meeting new people as everybody was hanging out in front of their cabins at night for having a few drinks. The only bad thing about the hostel was the air conditioning, since we weren't allowed to turn it off even if it was freezing during the night. But still ... the room was great, the private bathroom was great, the location was great and the atmosphere was amazing!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Thank you! Great review - we really appreciate you taking the time to share your views.
We really love our property and love sharing it with you all – thank you for choosing Magnums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013 via mobile

If you want to be spoken to in a rude manner and if you would like to spend all night itching then stay here.
Upon arrival there was a girl in our room who was absolutely covered in bites. When we said that we were worried about our beds we were assured that ours had been treated and we would be fine. When we woke up the next morning covered in bites we discovered that we were not at all fine.
We had to empty our cases into the dryer, leave our bags sweating in the heat and then repack all our stuff, which took a couple of hours. When I complained to the reception staff and asked what they planned to do about this and asked for a refund, I simply got the reply "we can't do anything and we do not offer a refund, these things just happen." When I then asked for a head office address to complain I was given a piece of paper and she said "write your complaint on here and we will give it to our manager, but nothing will happen." I was not at all happy and the manner in which I was spoke to was not acceptable.
I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
We have worked alongside Trip Advisor for many years now and we have learnt that under no circumstances will they accept that thier clients are being dishonest and that is good business practice.
I will only say we were startled to receive this review - we ALL remember you well as you certainly made yourself well known to all and even when you were not even a paying guest! Of course you were not happy when challenged about this and now we have ended up with this very unflattering review. I am the biggest critic of my team if they are ever less than 100% hospitable but they make it easy because they all love what they do and they love Magnums.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
#31 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
0.5 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#35 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Base Airlie Beach Resort
Base Airlie Beach Resort
#34 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 321 reviews
0.1 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#32 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
1.1 mi away
Island Gateway Holiday Park
Island Gateway Holiday Park
#2 of 2 in Jubilee Pocket
4.5 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnums Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, Venere, HostelBookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnums Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.