We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't Stay Here” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Magnums Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Magnums Backpackers to your Saves list
Magnums Backpackers
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't Stay Here”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

I stayed here for 2 nights in August. I think I chose Magnum's because it had good ratings on Hostelworld, but I honestly have no idea why anyone rated it so well. Here's my experience: I had reserved an 8 bed room which was quoted at $19/night. However, my train arrived after 9pm and reception was closed. I was told that because of this I had to pay for a private room for the night which was $56/night. I honestly see no reason why if you arrive after reception is closed, that you can't check into a dorm room. My view is that it's another way to get more money out of you. If a manager is reading this and has a legitimate reason, I would love to hear it. I called the number on the reception desk and a security guard came to let me in. By the way, normally you have to pay a $10 fee for them to let you in, however he didn't charge me because I waited half an hour for him to get there.

So the next morning I switched to a dorm room so I wouldn't have to pay $56 for another night. They charged me $22 for the dorm room. I asked why it wasn't the $19 I was quoted and they responsed that that was only for those staying 2 consecutive nights in a dorm. Are you kidding me?!

My friend stayed at Beaches Backpackers next door for $17/night and said it was great. I also visited a friend at Nomad's Backpackers which is 3 minutes walk down the street. Nomad's was incredibly clean, with big rooms, and a pool. Stay at Beaches or Nomads, Magnum's is terrible compared to them.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, September 9, 2012
Hi Adam

We are genuinely grateful when people take the time to review us however we would love to have the opportunity to address your issues while you were staying with us - I hope the following information does address your issues:

When we close at 9.00 each evening we contract a security provider to check our guests in for us, these security providers do not have access to the computers and so they are allocated any vacant private rooms, this practice was introduced for other guests’ safety and comfort. These terms and conditions are posted clearly on ALL booking channels including Hostelworld (quoted by you). This practice has probably cost Magnums revenue but we are conscious that our guests comfort and safety are paramount.

We love to offer 2 consecutive nights for the discounted price and have done this for many years, single night stays are generally more expensive whether you stay in a 5 star establishment or a good ol’ backpackers!

Magnums has many discounted accommodation offers as well as free accommodation to all guest booking their overnight sailing with us, we monitor other operators rates closely and I can assure you that we will continue to offer the best value in town.

Adam, take care on your travels, enjoy the rest of Australia, and please do not hesitate to check out our website www.magnums.com.au if you are looking for any further information on rates and conditions, there are not many but they are very clear and concise.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    41
    77
    59
    26
    54
See reviews for
1
80
55
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at magnums two nights before we set sail the whitsundays, the hostel is located in the centre of the main road, it provides you with free Internet, we booked our trip via them so we also recieved a free nights accommodation and free luggage storage, they have deals on food and a bar located at the front! Everything you need in one place, the rooms and communal showers were also clean and pleasant to use.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, August 30, 2012
Thank you for your review!
We love our location – we are the most central backpacker resort in Airlie Beach.
We are glad you found our rooms and communal showers a pleasure to use – we have great housekeepers who take pride in their work (they love receiving fantastic reviews like this)!
We hope you enjoy the rest of trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bentota, Sri Lanka
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2012

we stayed there for 3 nights, in a quiet double room in the middle of the silent nature. the room was not so big, but clean like the toilet and the bathroom.
the resturant-pub in front of the main street is really nice, good for party and meet new people.
try it!

Room Tip: choose the room in the back of the hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, August 29, 2012
Thank you!
We have had a busy year at Magnums making improvements and we are thrilled that you enjoyed staying with us, thank you for letting us and others know!
Stay safe and send us some photos so we can post them on our site – we would love that!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2012

Magnums backpackers has been a highlight of my 7 week holiday. I stayed there for 4 nights at the end of June. I stayed in a single room for about $50 night and couldn't fault the room. Double bed, fridge, air con and fan(not that i needed it). Shared bathroom but only sharing with a few others so never had to wait and they were very clean. Rainforest setting is the best thing about it and although the backpackers is also a pub club it is surprisingly quiet(except for the drunks that stumble back at 3 in the morning but nothing some earplugs cant fix). The staff were also extremely friendly. Especially Becky who checked me in to Amy who organised my amazing tour. I'm not sure what the dorms are like but i would recommend anyone to stay in the double rooms. It is also very well located. 20 sec to beach and shops.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
We are thrilled to be able to play our part in your 7 week holiday and to be acknowledged as the highlight?…..WAHOOOOO!
Thank you for your feedback - we agree Becky and Amy are gems and just love hosting our guests.
Take care and safe travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

This is not a hotel, once you remember that backpacker hostels are not hotels - you will learn to love them! This is probably one of the better designed hostel- with the rainforest at your door, and bungalow style accommodation - it almost makes you forget its a back packers. I stayed here 1 night on a quick drive (30 hours excluding the overnight stop) from Sydney to Cairns, and was not disappointed - my mate and I shared a private room with a bunk - and slept well (which is all you want from a backpackers). They had great entrainment out the front in the open pub area, it seemed quiet enough and was in the heart of Airlie. The price was reasonable as were the facilities.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thanks Dajesta9!
Great that you enjoyed staying at our place - we are Airlie’s only custom designed backpackers so we are pleased you noticed the benefits!
30 hours driving? Not good - please take it easy and stay safe.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

Loved the design of the hostel being in a rainforest setting. We stayed quite far back in a private room and so far away from the bar so was quiet at night. Bathroom was generally clean but spiders sharing the shower with you was a bit off putting! Our room was clean but smelt very strongly of damp. My chest tightened as I have mild asthma so not great! We also had ants appear around our zipped coolbag, once we moved these to the fridge they soon went and cleaner came and mopped up straight away which was good. Drinks in the bar were quite expensive but good atmosphere. We ate out all the time, tried cooking pasta 1 night and it was a nightmare - really hot kitchgen and rubbish utensils. Other kitchen only had microwaves and no hobs. Needs a revamp with kitchens for backpackers. Luggage very secure, was happy about that!

Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, June 27, 2012
Thanks for the feedback Amanda.
Tomorrow our brand new BBQ area gets installed with all new utensils - we love constructive feedback and always re-act!
Watch out for the new website and photos of the new area in a week or so!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

We rented one of the cabins for a long weekend. The mattresses are thin and not particularly comfy. I had a very sore back after 2 nights. At about 3 am they turn the sprinklers on and it hits the corrugated iron roof and sides LOUDLY. I bought ear plugs to counter this.
The pros to staying here is the location, right in the midst of everything. The restaurants on site especially Mamma's which have big serving sizes. I would stay here again If I was on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
We value your feedback regarding our mattresses. We do our best to offer a standard mattress to try to provide the best comfort for all our guests but we do understand that a mattress is a very personal preference and unfortunately we cannot always please everyone.
Our friendly management team are here to help with any issues our guests may have. In regards to your issue with the sprinklers – if this matter was brought to our attention we would have rectified the situation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 49 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnums Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, HostelBookers, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnums Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.