We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a bit noisy ... but that's what ear-plugs are for” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Magnums Backpackers

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Magnums Backpackers to your Saves list
Magnums Backpackers
3.5 of 5 Hostel   |   366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sandbach, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“a bit noisy ... but that's what ear-plugs are for”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2011

a bit tired but clean accomodation. There are "rules" posted about the place telling people to keep the noise down and banning alcohol in the residential areas, but these are ignored almost universally so we did have a bit of a party going on outside our room until the early hours on our first night. So ear-plugs to the rescue and no worries.
This place is cheap, but standards are good. My only real complaint was that the "breakfast kitchen" (there is only one kitchen, but they call it the breakfast kitchen) is shut between 8 and 9:00 am for cleaning ... surely this is the peak breakfast period! We had to wait for it to open on our last morning thus delaying our check-out. The timing it seems suits the cleaner's routines but is in complete disregard to customer needs.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Public Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, January 22, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns in relation to your recent experience.

We are happy to advise that there is a new kitchen and recreation room coming soon!

Your comments regarding our cleaning of the kitchen times – all fixed!
We have taken your review on board and agree we should not be cleaning at peak demand times. We have spoken with our housekeeping staff and we have now addressed this problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    63
    50
    20
    51
See reviews for
1
65
51
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2011

I'm surprised at all the negative reviews of Magnums. No, it's not the cleanest hostel, and yes it's a tad bit grimey. The kitchen sucks, its not a full kitchen. But I've never had bedbugs here and I've stayed for almost 2 weeks in 2 different rooms. It's the cheapest hostel in Airlie, they have a buy3 get the 4th night free deal. The cabins are all tucked away in a beautiful rainforest setting. And there's free wifi!
But I think the best thing Magnums has going for it is the atmosphere. Every night people are chillin out on their balcony. Everyones really friendly and will invite you to have a seat and offer you a drink. I found it really easy to meet/party with others at this hostel.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rockhampton, Australia
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2011

A group of 30 of us booked to stay at Magnums and we had 3 x 10 bed dorms booked, and all 3 were infested with bed bugs. The sheets were not clean and were covered in stains, including blood stains which were not ours. There were bed bugs crawling through the sheets after one of us lay down for 20 minutes - we took photos. We obviously didn't stay in our dorm all night, and spent most of it sitting in the cold rain outside McDonalds. We approached the unfriendly reception staff in the morning and told them this, and they denied a bed bug infestation and accused us of bringing them into the hostel (perhaps a little difficult to believe given we didn't even sleep in the beds or unpack our luggage)... Despite our photographic evidence of crawling bed bugs on sheets, a few bites here and there, and a room full of bed bug faeces, we were told that there were certainly no bed bugs. We were not refunded our $27.50 per person, however after much arguing and complaining, we were each issued with a measly $3 to cover use of the dryer and a large garbage bag from a rude receptionist with a bad haircut. Worst service ever experienced. If you value personal hygiene and don't fancy sleeping in someone elses blood-stained sheets, perhaps stay somewhere else. However if you love waking with an itch and dealing with unfriendly and unhelpful staff, Magnums is highy recommended.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Guest Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you Jess for taking the time to share your concerns in relation to your recent experience.
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. Magnums follows a strict code of conduct that complies with local and state legislation in relation to Bedbugs, Oh what a curse they are, it is always disappointing to hear that we have had bed bugs introduced to our hostel from the many travellers that stay with us, you can be absolutely assured that as soon as an incident is brought to our attention that a swift action plan is set in motion by trained personnel to minimise the potential of discomfort to guests.
May I suggest that in this instance you should have requested to see Management immediately, our management team are passionate about ‘getting things right’
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2011 via mobile

Me and my friend had booked a 10 share room at magnums but on check in we were told that they had to close some of the 10 share so we were being moved to an 8. Bit strange but not an issue. Walking to our room everything seemed nice it was all set in rainforesty trees, but then we got chatting to a girl who started telling us that she was in a 10 share and had to be moved because of a bedbug infestation! So we went back to cheek our beds! No signs thankfully. We ended up staying 2 nights there both fine. Next day we wanted to leave but thee busses wernt in our favour so we booked another night, as all was seeming fine. We were told that they had a freshly cleaned 10 share. So we went n checked it out and it seemed fine.but on return that night we found a full infestation again on all the beds, clearly not cleaned efficiently. So we called out security who relocated us to a new double room. First thing in the morning we went down to see what reception had to say but we received no apology of any kind and were given 2 bin Liners and $3 to tumble dry all our stuff. Then when my frend went up to reception again to as for a towel to shower she was told the dryer only took half an hour so no basically!
We were having a pleasant time a magnums up untill this point as it in a good location alright fasillities but the ture colours of this hotel are shown with the was the staff have delt with the issue, and it seems to be a big issue!!

Such a massive inconvenience, especially seen as we could only deal with when the office opened at 6.30 and we had a 9 am bus to catch!

There are better places to stay in airlie!!

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Magnums A, Guest Relations Manager at Magnums Backpackers, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your concerns in relation to your recent experience.
Sorry to hear you had a bad experience. Magnums follows a strict code of conduct that complies with local and state legislation in relation to Bedbugs, Oh what a curse they are, it is always disappointing to hear that we have had bed bugs introduced to our hostel from the many travellers that stay with us, you can be absolutely assured that as soon as an incident is brought to our attention that a swift action plan is set in motion by trained personnel to minimise the potential of discomfort to guests.
May I suggest that in this instance you should have requested to see Management immediately, our management team are passionate about ‘getting things right’.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2011

I stayed here for 2 nights with my girlfriend and our friend. We had a private room and our friend stayed in a 10 bed dorm. Our private room was $60 a night, it had a fridge and t.v but you had to put a $30 deposit down to get the remote. The room was clean and good air-con but was very small and the decor was dated. There is a good laundry room, washers and dryers are $3 each. We didn't use the kitchen area but it looked okay. The rooms are like wooden cabins set in a rainforest sort of setting, which looks cool but lots of small lizards around, this didn't bother us but might some.
There is a large bar at the front of Magnums which had live bands and dj's on but you cannot hear the music from the rooms. The bar has drinks offers on every day. Big Momas cafe does breakfast till 2pm daily. It isn't cheap but the breakfast is very good.
Airlie beach is a very small place anyway, but Magnums is in a great location on the main road in the centre. A 2 minute walk to the lagoon, shops, bars etc and 5-10 minute walk to the beach.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syndey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2011

This is a great place to go out as the hostel has one of the biggest bars in Airlie Beach. Staff are very helpful and friendly.

Room Tip: For quite rooms stay at the far back of the hostel as the bar is at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2011 via mobile

Arrived early after driving from Brisbane, so had no accommodation booked for that night. tried to book place we had for remainder of stay so following a long drive around we arrived at Magnums. To be honest we were happy to get a bed but def wouldn't have booked this place if we had alternative options. Although the staff were efficient they were a bit too business like - didn't feel very welcomed 'here's ur key, your room is that way'. We booked a double room as was traveling with my hubbie on our honeymoon so didn't want to share with a gang of others. Room was way up the back past lots of bushes/trees which meant lots of midgets & bugs. Luckily we didn't have any in our room!!! Rooms very very basic and u can feel mattress springs through the mattress. Air con worked. Only used basis bathroom facilities as didn't want to chance a shower. Not a lot of security - didn't feel safe in rooms, all the doors needed was a little push to force open. Can't understand how some hostels are brill & others are just terrible! Location is great as it's on the main strip in Airlie. Always busy & seemed to have a good buzz. Altho' we didnt meet anyone I'd say it would be a good place to meet lots of friends.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Magnums Backpackers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magnums Backpackers

Address: 366 Shute Harbour Road | (PO Box 313), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Magnums Backpackers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Whitsundays!!Magnums is a tropical oasis in the middle of the excitement of Airlie Beach. Relax in our beautiful settings or take the short stroll to the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon, Abel Point Marina or Port of Airlie. Magnums is an “over 18 years only” budget holiday retreat in the heart of the beautiful Whitsundays.No need for a cab - Magnums is within walking distance of all the fantastic restaurants, pubs and nightclubs Airlie beach has to offer.Our affordable accommodation styles include dorm rooms, deluxe cabins and private rooms which are all surrounded by beautiful tropical gardens. All of our rooms have air-conditioning and ceiling fans for your comfort. Professionally cleaned linen is provided and our rooms are cleaned daily by our friendly in-house housekeeping team. Magnums’ facilities include a fully equipped shared kitchen and undercover eating area, coin operated washing machines in our laundry, free security deposit service for your security and a free WiFi area, all for your convenience.Our new kitchen/recreation room is now open! We have a 51 inch Plasma TV, games and free Wifi - so it is the perfect indoor entertainment area for your enjoyment. Get some friends together or make some new ones and enjoy a game of volleyball on our sun-filled volleyball court.Want to venture out on a daytrip or an overnight sailing adventure and discover what the Whitsundays has to offer? Magnums has a fully accredited tour desk within our reception area with a large range of tours and activities at very competitive prices. Come and discover Magnums – you will be surprised! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, HostelBookers, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Magnums Backpackers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Magnums Backpackers Hotel Airlie Beach
Magnums Backpackers Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnums Backpackers, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.