We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing views and a really good standard of accommodation” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitsunday Terraces Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Whitsunday Terraces Resort to your Saves list
Whitsunday Terraces Resort
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   5 Golden Orchid Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland Q4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
london
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing views and a really good standard of accommodation”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2010

We only stayed there 1 night after we came back from our tour of the Whitsundays but is was really lovely. Absolutely amazing views and we had rainbow parrots by our balcony!
It is on a hill but it was ok. Staff were very friendly and the place is really clean and to a good standard. Room only so we didn;t eat there but it is in a great location for the town and all the bars and restaurants on the front.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    50
    35
    26
    16
See reviews for
19
55
19
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010 via mobile

Rooms could do with an overhaul. We were all disappointed with accom. But we used to 4+ star places. If you looking for very basic accommodation this would be ideal and also if not planning to stay in room much.

  • Stayed January 2010
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2009

This is reasonable accomodation, that has probably seen better days. It could do with a new fit-out, and then could score higher. The location is excellent - with views of the ocean. The apartment was large and airy, but the kitchen could have done with some cleaning stuff and a bit more crockery/cutlery.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkeley, CA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2009

Pluses:
1) Great, convenient location (close by, but up a steep hill or lots of stairs from CBD, so could be a problem if you have mobility issues, but we liked it).
2) Quiet: Although so close to bars & youth hostel, and a busy time over Christmas, with no vacancy in apartments, we had no noise from street or nearby apartments.
3) Views: we had a 2-room suite, main room especially had large patio with fabulous ocean view.
4) Birds/vegetation: Plenty of trees and plants; trees right next to our balcony were home to a variety of parrots, lorakeets, cockatoos; lots of fun to watch & listen to.
5) Room size: both rooms were large & had plenty of chairs etc.
6) Air conditioning: both in main room and bedrooms; up-to-date and powerful enough to deal with summer heat & humidity. About the only thing in the place that worked well, but thank goodness it did.

Minuses:
1) Furnishings/repair: Maybe nice place 20 years ago, has been allowed to wear out. Toilet & sink leaked, furniture old & dingy, beds (especially one of them) supremely uncomfortable, no hook anywhere to hang a robe. Only 1 burner on 2-burner stove worked. Not much in the way of dishes & kitchen equipment. The closet had big, heavy boxes of floor tiles on the floor for some reason.
2) Meager service: Nobody there after 4 or 5 PM for check-in; you get your keys via intercom/safe. Thus when you find they have given you no towels, you can't fix that till the next day. Only place in AU or NZ I've ever been (and I live in Australia now) where you are not even given biscuits, let alone breakfast stuff--only tea bags, instant coffee, sugar, and a couple milks. After first day with dish soap, tea not replenished and beds not made, I checked and was told, "you have a "bargain rate" ($285 AU/night for 2 bedrooms & a living room) that doesn't include service. That's an extra $15/night." (I sure didn't remember my online booking saying anything about "completely unserviced"--it felt a bit like bait & switch.) So we had to go buy our own dish soap, salt, garbage bags, toilet paper, etc. (still cheaper than $15/night and I felt stubborn at that point, didn't want to give them any more money).
3) Cleanliness: a bit grubby. We had to sweep our patio, clean off the tables, clean out the mini-oven, etc. Even grubbier by the time we'd been there 5 nights with no service.
4) Amenities: 2 swimming pools, but both too small to "swim." Not what I'd expect from a big apartment complex in Australia, where lap pools are the norm, especially in a warm beach climate. A couple barbecues, but again not what you'd expect.

I booked this because it was hard to find a place with 2 bedrooms over the Christmas holiday--it was all I could get in early October. It wasn't absolutely horrible, but it was a lot to pay for somewhat seedy accommodation.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2009

Driving up the coast from Brisbane to Port Douglas, Decided to Stay the Night In Airlie Beach.. Found Whitsunday Terraces on Wotif for a bargain ... Upon entry to our the view from our room was breathe taking ... The room while sparsely furnished was large and clean.. The main street was less then 5 minutes away and tho their were several stairs to take it wasnt unbearable ... The pool and spa area were huge and we spent several hours with our feet in the pool watching the sun go down .. The staff were freindly and very helpful ... Overall I'm happy with my experience .. While not a 5 star resort it suited our needs beautifully ..

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maclean, New South Wales
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2009

Great place to stay in Airlie Beach due to it's close proximity to the main street. The views from our room were stunning and exactly what I had hoped for. There is an uphill walk back from the main street which is quite manageable and compared to the resorts further up the hill it is a breeze. The staff were very helpful and the room clean, tidy, quiet and good value.

  • Stayed March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2009

Great Weekend. Whitsunday Terraces is superbly located in Airlie Beach. Being a 3.5 star hotel, it was very affordable and provided good value for money. Views were excellent as it overlooks the new development port of airlie. There are a few stairs to climb but that was fine. I would recommend hiring a scooter to shute harbor and surrounds. Overall accommodation and service was fine.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Whitsunday Terraces Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitsunday Terraces Resort

Address: 5 Golden Orchid Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland Q4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #39 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Whitsunday Terraces Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled on a hillside overlooking the heart of Airlie Beach, Whitsunday Terraces Resort offers great value holiday apartments ideal for anyone who wants to soak up the beauty of the Whitsunday Coast.Each of our self contained holiday accommodation Whitsundays have been designed with the perfect seaside break in mind, and feature private balconies with stunning ocean views, kitchenettes and air conditioning. With two outdoor swimming pools overlooking the sea, and a heated spa, all set within tropical gardens, our Airlie Beach holiday apartments features everything you need to relax and recharge.The resort is just two minutes from the centre of town and close to the popular Airlie Beach Lagoon and the beach.Book online now and start planning your tropical seaside getaway today ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, HostelBookers, Agoda, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Whitsunday Terraces Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitsunday Terraces Hotel Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Airlie Beach
Whitsunday Terraces Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitsunday Terraces Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.