We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like the infinity pool ... "above & beyond"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Martinique Whitsunday Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Martinique Whitsunday Resort to your Saves list
Martinique Whitsunday Resort
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   18 Golden Orchid Dr., Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Like the infinity pool ... "above & beyond"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2014

All the reports are true .. it is a marvelous place to stay. Trudy & Michael are ideal hosts and it is clear that their 'aim in life' is to ensure that everyone has THE best time possible. Views are stunning and the 24% hill is a good 'work out' (even as 67 year olds we live to tell the tale and write on Trip Advisor)! During our recent stay we celebrated 44 years of marriage ... a surprise bottle of bubbly 'found' it's way into our fridge ... it is 'touches' like that, which make this place memorable and 'special'. We will certainly be recommending Martinique to all our friends.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy C, Owner at Martinique Whitsunday Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Steve & Andi
You know we have the best job out! We get to meet the most loveliest people which makes our job very easy. We have a motto "if we can, we will, if we can't, we will try and find a way"!
So nice to see you celebrate 44 years of marriage, that is just awesome!
Thanks for spreading the word too, we love referrals! :-)
Cheers
Trudy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    206
    47
    5
    2
    0
See reviews for
59
128
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2014

We had a wonderful stay here - we were upgraded to a 3 bed apartment on arrival and the views were totally magnificent - the best in Airlie. The Service was above and beyond - I lost my sunglasses and Trudy called Virgin and our airport transfer company and tracked them down so i didnt have to worry. Cannot receommend highly enough.

Room Tip: High floor appartments are wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy C, Owner at Martinique Whitsunday Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to write a review! I know I start all my comments with that but we really do appreciate it!
Glad we could upgrade you and yes the view from the Penthouse is absolutely amazing!
So happy we found your sunglasses too!
Hope to see you back one day!
Cheers
Trudy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014 via mobile

We had a wonderful week at the Martinique Resort. We were so well looked after and Trudy gave us lots of local info. The Infinity Pool is amazing and the sea view from our balcony so stunning we had to prise ourselves away to explore the Whitsundays! Hope we can return some day.. It would be a dream come true!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy C, Owner at Martinique Whitsunday Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Your son certainly has good choice in accommodation! :-)
Thanks for writing the review and we are happy you enjoyed your stay. Yes we love the infinity pool too and never get sick of that view!
We hope too to see you again one day.
Cheers
Trudy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
80 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2014

We booked this accommodation based on previous TA reviews and were not disappointed. Our apartment (no. 14) was large, clean and comfortable. Like previous reviews, one of the best features of these apartments are, of course, the views. We had a large balcony with a fantastic view over the sea. Unfortunately I had a bit of a mishap with the dishwasher (my doing!) and Michael, Manager, came straight up to sort out. I think the only thing we didn’t like too much was that our apartment was right by the pool and we had two sun beds right outside our bedroom window. No privacy there!!

As other reviewers have pointed out, the hill can be a bit of a killer. You need to have good joints and good lungs! Going down is fine but coming up!!! It’s actually quite a short road but I think the gradient was 24% so that gives you an idea. As a reviewer has pointed out before, at least you can get rid of some of the calories you’ve doubtless consumed at dinner.

Trudy was charming and very helpful. Would definitely recommend these apartments if staying in Airllie Beach.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy C, Owner at Martinique Whitsunday Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest
Thanks for the review! I certainly agree with you on the apartments being large. We might not have the most modern up to date apartments but they are certainly spacious and our cleaners take great pride in cleaning them.
Of course each apartment has very nice ocean views too!
Glad we could make your holiday enjoyable!
Cheers
Trudy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grenoble, France
Level Contributor
130 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

This hotel has everything - a stunning view, an infinity pool, rooms that are appointments and every facility you need. On top of that, the service is excellent and always comes with a smile.
We were upgraded and found ourselves with an extra room instead of a sofa couch and our stay was a memorable experience.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy C, Owner at Martinique Whitsunday Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear John
Thanks for taking the time to write a review, we really appreciate it.
Glad we could upgrade you and you enjoyed your stay!
Cheers
Trudy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2014

I am an Australian currently working in China and recently helped organise a trip to Australia for five Chinese managers from our company.
I recommended that they have a look at Airlie Beach, they agreed, however, due to the delay in organising the trip I struggled to find five rooms - for 3 nights - in any of the Airlie hotels on the accomodation websites.
I took a long shot and telephoned the Martinique Whitsunday Resort and was greeted by a cheerful lady named Trudy (manager), she shuffled a few rooms around and managed to come up with five rooms for an excellent rate. I immediately confirmed the booking, I didn't need to look any further.

What a gem Trudy turned out to be! I remained in China whilst they visited Australia and you can imagine the dificulty for me trying to make sure that their itinerary ran smoothly......however, after explaining the situation to Trudy over a few calls, I knew that they were in good hands!
Trudy looked after everything for the guests, she took their flight details, organised all transport from the Proserpine Airport to Airlie (and return) and looked after all of their tours over the three days. They were amazed at how helpful and cheerful Trudy was and bought her a gift before they left. She really started the visit off well for them, and they all talk of going back one day.
Australia used to have many people like Trudy in the tourist industry, sadly however, they are becoming few and far between. It is a great pitty.
Thank you Trudy!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy C, Owner at Martinique Whitsunday Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Dennis
OMG, thank you so much for your review, you really are too kind! It was an absolutely pleasure dealing with you and having your associates stay here. I'm glad you made the call to us too!
I loved my gift too and have it proudly sitting in my office.
The guests always came back with a smile on their faces after their tours so I know they had a good time.
We want to visit China one day and will certainly pay a visit to you when we do.
Take care.
Cheers
Trudy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2014

You don't need to be on the beach in Airlie Beach as you are likely in this town as a jump off for visiting the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. The Martinique is right up the hill from town and presents terrific views of the water and islands. The view and the splendid infinity pool are really the highlights as the room was spacious and comfortable, but nothing fancy. The hot tub was a bit tepid, but it was 80 F at 5pm so it really didn't matter.

The steep walk into town takes 5-7 minutes. Going down is a joy. Going up allows you to burn off some calories you likely consumed in town at all the bars and restaurants.

The front desk is very helpful and will assist in booking any activities you may desire while in the area.

If you are staying for just a few days it's probably more economical to rent a car as opposed to taking the shuttle from the airport. I believe there is free parking at the hotel, and you could then drive into town - and avoid the climb up if you are not in shape.

Room Tip: I think all rooms have a view, but Higher floors offer the best views, and that's important here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trudy C, Owner at Martinique Whitsunday Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Hi Mark
Your comments are appreciated, thank you.
Yes the pool and view are certainly highlights of this hotel and agree with you on the hill!
Thanks again!
Trudy & Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
1.0 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#3 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.6 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#2 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 596 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#6 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 327 reviews
0.5 mi away
Waterview Airlie Beach
Waterview Airlie Beach
#1 of 50 in Airlie Beach
5.0 of 5 stars 112 reviews
0.1 mi away
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
#10 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 199 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Martinique Whitsunday Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Martinique Whitsunday Resort

Address: 18 Golden Orchid Dr., Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Martinique Whitsunday Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Martinique Whitsunday offers guaranteed spectacular sea and island views over the sparkling turquoise waters of the Coral Sea to the Whitsunday Islands from every apartment. Classical French Caribbean architecture has inspired the design of these exquisitely styled 1, 2 and 3 bedroom holiday apartments. Martinique Whitsunday Resort Accommodation consists of twenty self-contained Units in French-Caribbean architectural style, 20 metre wet edge swimming pool, heated outdoor spa and surrounding decking area plus various garden beds, B.B.Q. eating area, gymnasium and car parking. Airlie Beach is the epitome of a beach town only 250 metres walk; you'll instantly feel the carefree and relaxed attitude emanating from every space. You'll find it in the Airlie Beach Lagoon, a manmade saltwater swimming area surrounded by sand and grassy knolls. You'll find it in the beachside parks where afternoon barbeques proliferate and continue into the evening hours. And you'll find it in the alfresco restaurants where fresh seafood overflows from every dish. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com and Agoda so you can book your Martinique Whitsunday Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Martinique Whitsunday Airlie Beach
Martinique Whitsunday Hotel
Martinique Whitsunday Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Martinique Whitsunday Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.