We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Views” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Sea Resort to your Saves list
Coral Sea Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Hamilton, New Zealand
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful Views”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We stayed 4 nights in the Coral Sea suites. Good sized rooms with all you need. Comfortable beds.Great views from the balcony which had a hammock & spa pool. As it is next to Marina there is plenty of interesting boats going past. Excellent salt water swimming pool with cover over the center. Dining room overlooks this too. Easy boardwalk to Cruise departures or Marina tavern.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you, we are please you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

492 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    251
    145
    47
    24
    25
See reviews for
72
283
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

We stayed here for one night and wish we could have stayed longer! Nice large, clean rooms with beautiful views from the large balcony. Dining area is open air overlooking the pool and bay/sea, my favorite spot to relax with a cocktail! The resort is a short walk to the main shopping/restaurant area as well as the marina. Staff was helpful and accommodating to our late check-in and late check-out (Check-out is 10am which is quite early).

Room Tip: It seems like all of the rooms have a good view but the higher up the better so you are above the fo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you, we have recently finalised a 2 million dollar refurbishment replacing all furniture and upgrading public areas. We have kept the original feel and charm of the property and enhanced our nautical theme.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

Lovely location. We had a beautiful room with a gorgeous view and a large balcony. There was a huge pool; the staff were very nice, the food was good. There was only one drawback whilst we were staying there: it was clearly very popular for weddings. On both the second and third evenings we stayed, weddings pushed us out of the restaurant to the poolside. We didn't really like that, so we ate out on the third evening. Apart from that, it was lovely.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you, September is a very popular wedding month on weekends especially, our large
ocean front manicured gardens are ideal for ceremonies. Our pretty private jetty is a really special place for wedding receptions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We had a rocky start but persisted after reading all the positive reviews. We phoned to make a reservation and spoke to Jenny who was abrupt and not helpful. So we turned to Webjet to make an internet booking and were successful. We are so glad we based our choice on reviews rather than letting a grumpy member of staff talk us out of making a booking. We stayed for 2 nights and to be honest could have stayed forever. Beautiful room with a spa bath. Fantastic bay view. We met Jasmine the hotel receptionist. She has personal knowledge of trips and we booked a day on the Great Barrier Reef through her. We are very greatful as we can now cross off something else from our bucket list. In short we had a magnificent stay in the perfect setting. ALL the members of staff we met in person were fantastic and very helpful. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED AND WE WILL STAY HERE AGAIN.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you we appreciate your time to write this
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

Comfy bed, good service from all staff (except from the older male manger who was rather rude and hard to talk to as below), and very clean room and hotel in general.

This hotel is rather out dated, especially for the 300+ per night price tag.

Also, half way though our stay we received a note under our door asking to change rooms. I was told the cleaners noticed our roof was wet and the bathroom above us was leaking into our bathrooms ceiling, or so i was told, because I didn't notice anything wrong with the roof. When we went to reception to change, the manager who was summoned by the friendly receptionist to do the room change, or whatever the reason was for getting him, was rather bunt and rude. I felt as tho he was blaming us through his attitude for the leak, even tho obviously it was not us.
We then asked where our new room was, and this seemed to only be taking up more of his time.

After that hour wasted, we quickly got out on the reef and had a beer and I was happy. Luckily we didn't see that manager again for the rest of our stay and the rest of the staff where great.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 20, 2013
Thank you, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay despite the small inconvenience of the room change. Regrettably we had a hot water leak which required urgent attention. Thank you for your understanding.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Broadbeach, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

stayed at coral sea resort for the 7 th time from 4th jan / 9th jan/ ,this time in the one bedroom penthouse ,we usually stay in the two bedroom penthouse ,but that was booked ,very suprised by the size and layout ,'excellent''of this one bedroom one .The rooms were cleaned every day to a high standard by lovely ladies .we have stayed in most of the room types except ,garden room .but all seem great .restaraunt staff were excellent ,great refurbishment has been done definatly worth it .drinks are very exspensive also evening meals ,but the quality is good ,This place has the best views ever 'heaven on earth ' love it love it Thanks heaps for a great holiday Will be back soon

Room Tip: personnally dont like the bayview rooms /suites .but the rest awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you, we appreciate your kind comments, Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just spent between Christmas and New Years at this resort. 2 families with kids from 1 yr to 14yrs. Excellent location. The services was fantastic, every request was met immediately, prior to arrival and when we stayed. All staff friendly and happy to help. The Restaurant staff especially helpful and excellent service given. Pauline at the tours office was excellent help and all our booking arranged perfectly. Our rooms cleaned daily beautifully. Spending time by the pool was glorious either in the restaurant or around the pool area, the view was so relaxing. The only down side was that there wasn't a lot of activities provided for our children's age group to do at the resort. No games room or any other services provided. I just assumed being a resort that kids would be catered for. We had a bit of rain so it would of been good to have something for them. You can book anything from the resort to do activities around Airlie Beach and other islands though. The Lagoon 200 metres away was fantastic for the kids, no wonder it has won awards. Airlie Beach main street seems to be going through an upgrade and the restaurants in the area all seem to be a little tired and also in need of refurbishment. We ate once for breakfast and dinner at the Village Cafe Restaurant & bar, good basic food with good service and reasonable prices. If you take a cab to coles from the resort for $7 each way and get groceries. If you are a family my pick now having been is Daydream Island. It has everything on the island to cater especially for kids from 0 to teens. We spent the day there going snorkelling, kayaking and putt putt golf. Their reef lagoon is great for kids to get up close to stingrays and baby sharks. You would have to get groceries before you get to the island though as there isn't anything there other than their restaurants and cafes. What we found out with our day trips to Hamilton and Daydream they seem to have young travellers working and they didn't seem to give us correct information when asking questions about directions, activities etc. I suppose they are only there for a short time and don't really care about giving a level of customer service. It did make us cranky by the end of our day as we missed a ferry due to misinformation. That's where Coral Sea excelled everything was spot in on that regard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you it pleases us ommensely that you took the time to write this reort on your stay. We look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, EasyToBook, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.