We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Coral Sea Resort - Family Holiday” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Coral Sea Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Coral Sea Resort to your Saves list
Coral Sea Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Coral Sea Resort - Family Holiday”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We just spent between Christmas and New Years at this resort. 2 families with kids from 1 yr to 14yrs. Excellent location. The services was fantastic, every request was met immediately, prior to arrival and when we stayed. All staff friendly and happy to help. The Restaurant staff especially helpful and excellent service given. Pauline at the tours office was excellent help and all our booking arranged perfectly. Our rooms cleaned daily beautifully. Spending time by the pool was glorious either in the restaurant or around the pool area, the view was so relaxing. The only down side was that there wasn't a lot of activities provided for our children's age group to do at the resort. No games room or any other services provided. I just assumed being a resort that kids would be catered for. We had a bit of rain so it would of been good to have something for them. You can book anything from the resort to do activities around Airlie Beach and other islands though. The Lagoon 200 metres away was fantastic for the kids, no wonder it has won awards. Airlie Beach main street seems to be going through an upgrade and the restaurants in the area all seem to be a little tired and also in need of refurbishment. We ate once for breakfast and dinner at the Village Cafe Restaurant & bar, good basic food with good service and reasonable prices. If you take a cab to coles from the resort for $7 each way and get groceries. If you are a family my pick now having been is Daydream Island. It has everything on the island to cater especially for kids from 0 to teens. We spent the day there going snorkelling, kayaking and putt putt golf. Their reef lagoon is great for kids to get up close to stingrays and baby sharks. You would have to get groceries before you get to the island though as there isn't anything there other than their restaurants and cafes. What we found out with our day trips to Hamilton and Daydream they seem to have young travellers working and they didn't seem to give us correct information when asking questions about directions, activities etc. I suppose they are only there for a short time and don't really care about giving a level of customer service. It did make us cranky by the end of our day as we missed a ferry due to misinformation. That's where Coral Sea excelled everything was spot in on that regard.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Thank you it pleases us ommensely that you took the time to write this reort on your stay. We look forward to welcome you back
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

597 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    308
    185
    53
    25
    26
See reviews for
88
341
29
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
london
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012 via mobile

We stayed here for an anniversary night before heading out to the Whitsundays for Xmas. Book a Coral Sea suite if you can as they come with a hot tub and hammock on the balcony, lounge, kitchenette, flatscreen, a kingsize bed and lovely views out over the Coral Sea... A steal at $270 a night. Great location in Airlie: a few minutes walk from the centre and from the ferry port.

The downsides? Be wary about room service: the food we ordered arrived well below par and presentation was not great.

That said I'd say this was a really good value hotel, and SO much better value than the Reef View on Hamilton (which was hugely disappointing and overpriced)... If I had my time again, I'd stay here in Airlie and only visit the islands on day trips.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Wow you saw a lot in the Whitsundays. We are really pleased to have been of service to you and thank you for your kind comments.
Regards Greg and the team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

A very comfortable hotel with terriffic views over the bay from the Ocean View rooms.
The hotel is located in a quiet spot on the edge of town but within easy walking distance of the High Street in one direction and the ferry terminals in the other.
The restaurant is an open sided space alongside the large swimming pool and gardens with clear views over the bay. An ideal place to have breakfast. Dinner in the restaurant was a bit disappointing,however, and I had to send my main meal back as the meat was all but inedible. They replaced it and gave me a 10% discount (on that single course only which I thought was a bit mean as the dinner with my wife had been ruined as we ended up eating at different times)
Fortunately, there is plenty of choice of eating places in Airlie Beach.
Apart from that, the stay was very pleasant and I would go there again.

Room Tip: Book a room with an Ocean View its worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, January 13, 2013
Thank you we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. I am also dissappointed to hear you did not enjoy your dinner, our restaurant has won many awards for the fine food and service it produces.
Regards Greg
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

If you have the money, definitely stay in one of the more expensive hotels - so much better than the cheaper ones which are backpackers hotels above crappy tourist shops and bars.

This hotel is pretty awesome, we had an ocean front room, with a balcony that has hammock clips and private spa. The rooms on that side are situated that many suites have spas but with privacy, strangers can't peer in. It was actually handy because the first thing you want to do after spending all day in saltwater is have a bath, and with two people one person can shower in the bathroom and the other can dunk in the spa. The spa isn't spacious (two people will have a hard time fitting unless both are small), but it's cool anyway.

The view is stunning. Ample space. Very short walk to either marina and jetty's where activities start. Very comfy king-size beds. No problem sleeping at all. A/C units in room.

If you're traveling here, would definitely recommend the mobile device internet (we had the $70 telstra one with wireless, no use getting the 4G one as there's no 4G towers here, but the wifi bit works great). For a "remote" island, their use of technology here is awesome. Many activities were using ipads to get details, ipads and macs on board sailboats for communication / routes etc.

If you stay here, YOU NEED TO TRY THE RESTAURANT "THE CLIPPERS." It is really excellent. Our first night we had their new Degustation menu (very reasonably priced for a degustation at $65), and it was really to die for. We liked it so much we ended up ordering room service from the restaurant one night. It is on the pricey side, but hey...it's vacation.

We also arranged massages and although there's only one masseuse (Chris) so you can't do two people at once, he did our massages in the gazebo which was awesome having a massage while hearing water on the rocks and seagulls and such.

There is a gym but it's really rather paltry - who's going there to use the gym anyway? Sign up for the plentiful activities!

Room Tip: Choose ocean front, with a hammock and spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you, from all the team at Coral Sea Resort, we are pleased you enjoyed you stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

We were on a package holiday and upgraded to the Coral Sea as we wanted views of the ocean. We were not disappointed. It is in a lovely location and our room, a spa room, overlooked the pool area and the water, islands and hills, the works. The hotel is a short walk to the Abel Point Marina where most of the cruise boats leave for the Great Barrier Reef and islands, and a short walk in the other direction to the town. There is a pool at the hotel and other facilities such as a guest laundry and room where you can exercise. There is a shop and tour desk for help with things to do.
The room was excellent with a spa bath on the balcony, a hammock, TV with free movies and a few pay channels, mini bar, air conditioning, fan and a comfy king-size bed. Lots of nice things and it was a very pleasant place to stay.
We had several meals at the hotel and some in our room. The service was fine and the meals were tasty. Wine is overpriced but you don't have to buy it. The restaurant was never crowded and it is next to the pool so you have lovely views while you eat.
There are some things that were not perfect or could be addressed to make staying at the Coral Sea Resort more enjoyable. There is no WiFi in the rooms, although there is access to cable Internet. Most people now use a mobile device and so wireless is the way to go and at a better price please. In the guest area where there is a computer there is no printer. There are inconsistencies in food preparation. We had the same meal two nights running and there were major differences in the meals. It shouldn't be a lottery, they really need to be the same. I paid for a coffee from the shiny machine in the restaurant and it was not a good coffee. It has been difficult to find a good coffee in North Queensland so you can make a name for yourself in this area as your main competition is in the town near the lagoon. Other reviews have commented negatively on staff but I found most staff very helpful and generally did what they said they would do and gave helpful advice.
Overall the hotel is lovely and the location is beautiful. The criticisms I have made were about minor things and did not spoil our stay as we enjoyed it very much. To focus on any of the negatives would be foolish as you then diminish your experience of this amazing area and it attractions.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you, very kind to write so honestly, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pinckneyville, Illinois
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

The best thing i did on my first trip to australia was to book this hotel!! What a beautiful room we had, I chose the ocean front,and our room was in the bayview suites section,it was a stunning view! My husband is working in queensland, and he just wanted to relax and unwind.This was the perfect place to do it!! Other hotels in the area claim to be "on the water" ocean view,and so on...I can assure you they are not!!! I was so glad to have chosen this hotel,once you arrive in Airlie Beach and drive around,you will know exactly what i mean. If you want a hotel on the water,ocean front...then this is your best and ONLY CHOICE. The staff was wonderful and very helpful with directions for this american, the food was good,and i thought the breakfast buffet was more than substantial. We had five fabulous nights there,watching the water lap at the rocks and dolphins swim by, I cannot wait to return to this establishment,and i can tell you as a former manager of a very large hotel chain....I am very "picky" and I had the best time during my stay here. In fact,this is a place I would love to work at/for should i move to Australia.

Room Tip: If you want to hear the ocean,and love watching the water...go for the ocean front rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you on behalf of all the team at Coral Sea Resort, we are so pleased you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

My wife and I have just had the most perfect 1 year wedding anniversary and i can largely say it came right down to this resort. Waking up to the most intoxicating views each morning was really great. Unlike Emma D, our service was impeccable and the bartender (sorry, not sure of name) made the best caprioska i have had in some years. Room was great (223), clean, and had everything you needed to relax and unwind. Really enjoyed the food, the meals night after night were great and the duck is a must as is the Gnocchi. Breakfast (continental) had everything you needed/wanted.
Didn't get in the pool, but it looked good enough to drink.

Room Tip: All rooms face the water so no need.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralsearesort, General Manager at Coral Sea Resort, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Thank you we all look forward to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
0.7 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#3 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 283 reviews
0.5 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 271 reviews
0.9 mi away
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
#1 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.2 mi away
Whitsunday Apartments Hamilton Island
10.3 mi away
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
Palm Bay Resort Whitsundays
#2 of 3 in Long Island
4.5 of 5 stars 99 reviews
16.7 mi away
Reef View Hotel
Reef View Hotel
#5 of 5 in Hamilton Island
4.0 of 5 stars 1,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coral Sea Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coral Sea Resort

Address: 25 Oceanview Ave, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Coral Sea Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Positioned on the absolute ocean front and just a short stroll via seaside boardwalk to the enchanting Airlie Beach resort village; with its relaxed atmosphere and collection of eclectic shops and cafes; lies the Coral Sea Resort. A stroll in the opposite direction crossing a separate boardwalk with the sea below is Abel Point Marina, your direct access to the Whitsunday Islands and the Great Barrier Reef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, EasyToBook, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Venere so you can book your Coral Sea Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coral Sea Hotel Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Airlie Beach
Coral Sea Resort Hotel
Coral Resort Sea
Coral Sea Resort Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Coral Sea Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.