We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No frills but tasty food, and cheap” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Down Under Bar and Grill

Down Under Bar and Grill
336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 7 4948 2000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #51 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Price range: $5 - $15
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast
Description: Down Under Bar & Grill is a vibrant Bar and Bistro in the Heart of Airlie Beach. Offering great value Breakfast & Dinner plus an unrivalled night-time atmosphere. Situated at the top end of the main street with views of the Whitsunday's from our Beer Garden, it doesn't matter if you require Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch or Dinner. We have you covered.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
430 reviews
174 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 271 helpful votes
“No frills but tasty food, and cheap”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Down Under Bar and Grill is adjacent to X Base and Nomads. They have a relatively short but adequate menu and a meal deal of meal and a pint of beer, or with a wine or soft drink for $10!!!

We are locals and keep going back when we don't feel like cooking ourselves..

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    33
    14
    7
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Dinner time.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2012

Had a meal here which they produced in a quick and efficient manner. The price was very reasonable and the food very nice. I had fish which was nicely cooked and plenty of it.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottish Borders
Level Contributor
97 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Good value, but choose wisely”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

We got a $10 ($13 normally) meal deal as part of a boat trip after party of sorts. We both ordered the burger and chips and a pint of Tooheys. The beer was good, but the food was nowhere near as hot as it should have been. Had it been piping hot it probably would have tasted pretty good! Other people in our party had similar experiences with other things on the menu. A good deal, but they need to take greater care with the food. The atmosphere is pretty good and there is a pool table and giant Jenga as well as large screen and TVs around the seating area.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“$10 meal deals!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

Hit and miss with the food, the salad always cracks me up, a grotty piece of lettuce, 1 slice of tomoato and 1 bit of onion is not a salad? Also how can someone not cook chips properly? But for $10 fro a steak and a drink you can't expect too much?

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Deal in Town!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

Dinner and beer $13 ($10 if your part of a local tour’s after party). You can't beat the price! Fun atmosphere. Get the burger or chicken schnitzel. The serve food past 9pm.

  • Visited March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Down Under Bar and Grill also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Down Under Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Down Under Bar and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.