We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Colonial Palms Motor Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Colonial Palms Motor Inn to your Saves list
Colonial Palms Motor Inn
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   2 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brisbane
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012

We (4 of us) stayed at the Colonial Palms at the beginning and end of our kayak trip in the Whitsundays and recommend it highly. The rooms are spacious, clean and comfortable and very reasonable. It is an easy walk to town and out of the way of late night noise. The breakfast included in the tariff is superb and the management extremely helpful and accomodating. The rooms had lovely views. We highly recommend this place and would certainly stay there again . One of the main reasons we originally chose to stay at Colonial Palms was because of the great reviews on TripAdvisor - well deserved.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

198 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    75
    19
    5
    1
See reviews for
38
108
6
10
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wakefield, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

Just returned from 1 month touring Australia. A gem of a find staying at this friendly and helpful motel. Very reasonable with lovely facilities not everywhere you have cockatoos on the surrounding lawns. Price included continental breakfast which was more than satisfactory we stayed 3 nights. Free wifi accessible from room plus use of a computer in reception enabled us to download our photos as we went. Not noisy and comfortable.
Top marks to a fairly priced motel situated in paradise.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

We stayed at the Colonial Palms on a recent holiday. The room was clean and welcome after a long drive. John's hospitality in the bar was excellent and we spent a few hours chewing the fat and putting the world to rights.
Food was good and service quick and courteous. Although a ten minute walk from the main town, a very comfortable and hospitable establishment.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

Cold in Sydney so took advantage of cheap flights and went to Airlie Beach for a one week reprieve.
We booked two rooms at the Colonial Palms based on location. We wanted to be walking distance but not in the middle of town. The location was perfect. About 5 mins walk to all the shops and restaurants but lovely and quiet when we came “home”.

All management and staff were so nice and friendly, everyone from housekeeping to management greeted us with warm smiles.

Phoebe and Bernie at reception gave us lots of useful information and tips about the area and recommended a great day trip to Whitehaven. John was wonderful company at the bar for pre and after dinner drinks. We even met Bridget the chef.

Continental breakfast was great with a choice of fruit, cereal, juices, toast, muffins and my favourite small fresh rolls filled with scrambled egg and pieces of bacon.

An unexpected highlight was the great evening meals at the onsite Palms restaurant. The fish was fresh and beautifully cooked, the lamb shanks were full of flavour and melt in the mouth and the duck, oooohhh the duck, was fantastic. We actually had dinner in their restaurant 3 times. Had dinner at four different restaurants in town but thought the food at Palms was the best.

The rooms were spacious, spotless and tastefully decorated. Apparently the new owners have done a significant refurbishment over the last year. The beds were comfortable with good quality linen, fluffy towels in the bathroom, large walk in shower, sitting areas in the rooms as well as table and chairs on the balcony overlooking landscaped gardens.

There are two pools in the tropical gardens with a choice of sun lounges or tables and chairs. It was so relaxing to sit by the pool reading my book on a couple of afternoons and enjoying the company of the owners dogs Millie and Beckham (who were allowed to visit when not many guests were around).

This place was a great find and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2012 via mobile

I travel a lot with my work, I see a lot of good and bad accommodation, the bad only by false impressions given on online sites!, this hotel was such a pleasant surprise..........nice rooms, clean clean clean, friendly staff, great food and a very convenient location. If you travel for work your nuts to go past this hotel and if your not working bring your wife she'll love it to.

Rgds
Love value for money

Stayed August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012

The road leading to and through downtown Airlie Beach is a busy one. However, since BW Colonial Palms is located beyond the downtown area (about a 2-minute drive) AND since most visitors do not travel past the main part of town (at least, during our 2-day stay), we found this hotel to be very quiet . . . even though it’s just off the main road. In fact, our balcony faced Shute Harbour Road (2nd room from end) and, other than two loud trucks, we didn’t hear the traffic.

I recommend this hotel for anyone with their own car (not really walking distance from downtown). The room was clean. In-room refrigerator was appreciated. Laundry facilities were adequate. Private balcony overlooked nicely landscaped grounds. Overall, a good value for the price paid.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

We stayed here before our sailing trip and were so happy with the service and friendliness of the staff that we added on time after we returned from sailing. The hotel allowed us to leave our car safely and our luggage was tagged and stored for our sailing trip. We did not know or plan this in advance but had been provided by the sailing boat some other pay per service locations for our car and luggage. We felt better and safer leaving everything at this hotel. We also found the restaurant meal and breakfasts better here than any other place in this town. Coming from Canada this place was a great stop. Thanks. It was also a great location to walk to town and go for my morning run.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Colonial Palms Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Colonial Palms Motor Inn

Address: 2 Hermitage Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Colonial Palms Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com and Expedia so you can book your Colonial Palms Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Airlie Beach
Airlie Beach Best Western
Colonial Palms Motor Inn Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Colonial Palms Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.