We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy Expensive Dine In Prices” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Spicy Thai

Spicy Thai
1 Hermitage Drive | Whitsunday Visitor Resort, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Improve this listing
Ranked #58 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Crazy Expensive Dine In Prices”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

I wish I had of read the other reviews beforehand on the takeaway vs dine in prices! They are way over the top on their dine in prices! It's more than double to eat in. For instance the Green Curry Chicken is $27.50 on the menu when you eat there, but on the Take away menu only $15.50! Normally it is only a few dollars difference! The food was very average with the beef tasting like it had been re-heated and the noodles were tough! Lack of atmosphere as well. Do not recommend eating here. To take away I could prob handle it for those prices! Feel ripped off! It cost us $68 instead of about $30 less if we had of taken it back to our room!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    14
    18
    9
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Hard to find, yummy fried rice.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013

Hard to find this restaurant, even though it was basically next door. poor direction signs. Nice enough food, quite expensive though. i will say the special fried rice was AMAZING.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
95 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Best restaurant on the island”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We went here twice, as we loved it so much. This is not a typical resort restaurant. This restaurant wouldn't be out of place in Melbourne.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutherland Shire, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Food but expensive”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Food was excellent but beware you will pay double to eat in the restaurant. While we were there, two tables of people walked out after seeing the cost. We paid $155.00 for 2 entrees, 3 mains and 1 rice, daughter drank Coke and we had 1 beer and 1 wine. Maybe we are just used to our local Sydney Thai prices?? We took a take away menu with us and everything was half price to take away, if we hadnt have got a takeaway menu we would not have noticed the prices were double to eat in. (Or you could have it delivered to your hotel cheaper) Best fried rice we have ever tasted, but also the most expensive

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
83 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Was okay.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

After eating at Nana Thai in Mission Beach, this place was just okay, and more expensive. The meals were fine, just not as good as other Thai places we have eaten.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spicy Thai also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Spicy Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spicy Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.