We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Group Day Trip” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Derwent Hunter Day Tours

Derwent Hunter Day Tours
Abel Point Marina South | Shingley Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 7 4946 7124
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 63 Activities in Airlie Beach
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Tall Ship Day Sailing on board the Australian legend Derwent Hunter. Whitsunday Islands, Great Barrier Reef. Help sail, snorkel fringing reefs,explore coral atolls of Langford Reef and Bali Hai. Multi award winning for adventure and eco tourism. Departs Airlie Beach.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lovely Group Day Trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

We had a group of about 20 family and friends book on this day trip together as part of our wedding weekend. It was a lovely day, snorkling at both Black Island/Bali Hai and at the beatiful Langford spit. Learning about the ship and the local area and marine life from Captain Dave and Jess was great (learnt some disturbing stuff about octopus mating habits!). Low wind on the day meant we didn't get the full Derwent Hunter sailing experience but everyone stil had a chance to get involved with hoisting the sails, etc. Eveyone was well fed with a very welcome cold meat and salad spread for lunch. Special mention to Jo who helped us cooridinate the group booking logisitics. Would definitely recommend to others.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    19
    6
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Top Contributor
173 reviews 173 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 55 cities Reviews in 55 cities
237 helpful votes 237 helpful votes
“Wonderful day trip!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

The only down side of our day trip was that the meeting time was 740AM and some guy named Neil Armstrong and his wife/partner didn't show up until 810 If they had been any lat, I think we would have asked the crew to depart without them... As the boat was at capacity 40 owing to the long weekend and the Australian school holiday.

First, the crew (Captain David, cook Dan, crew Jess and Ena) were all fabulous. Jess loves marine biology and her enthusiasm was contagious; she was truly the highlight of the day. The two snorkeling stops were enjoyed by all.

The food thoughout the day was fresh and tasty. While not gourmet, there was plenty and no one went hungry.

We really can't recommend this day trip enough.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“The best way to see the Whitsundays”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

This is a really top day, sailing on a tall ship, snorkeling at 2 fantastic snorkeling sites, eating good food, listening to the captain and crews very entertaining information sessions, not to mention walks on pristine beaches and catching some sun rays.
The snorkeling is top class, we have not seen so many species and so much live coral in one place for a very long time - the snorkeling equipment (including wetsuits), instruction and extra care that the crew takes to ensure you are safe & comfortable is out of the top draw. They very cleverly include "noodles" for beginner snorkellers which really makes it easy for any one to do.
You snorkel from the beach, so nothing could be easier, even getting onto the ruby dingies from the Derwent is super easy.
The day we went the water was super calm, the water so blue - we were surrounded by wonderful green islands - a picture that will be in our memories for ever.
Morning tea, complete with chocolate cake, lunch of fresh cold meats, salad, rolls etc was delicious and most welcome after we had finished snorkeling at 2 locations. Whilst we sailed around they gave us afternoon tea and discussed the history of the area, coral, fish etc.
We wanted to sail and snorkel in the Whitsundays, in a relatively small group, so this trip more than met our expectations, it was good value for money and suitable for all ages - thanks to a wonderful captain and crew.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“A must do in the Whitsundays!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I spent an unforgettable day on the Derwent Hunter!
The boat is fantastic and you will be charmed by its long history and elegance. The itinerary we took was really relevant. We had the time to appreciate the beauty of the islands around and to meet whales and calfs on the way. The spots chosen for snorkelling were beautiful and very surprising. We got a chance to swim among colourful fishes and coral, and even turtles.
The crew was the best I met during my trip on the Whitsundays. In addition to their kindness and their humour, they were very knowledgeable and we learned many things about the region. I almost forgot the most important, the chocolate cake and food on board was excellent :)

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing, informative and fun”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012 via mobile

If you want a great day out in the Whitsundays, this is a must. With amazing fresh food that seems to flow all day, to beautiful coral snorkeling. We were lucky enough to see Turtles, Dolphins and Whales. The Girl crew were inspiring with their knowledge of the sea and their incredible fitness. On this trip you can sit back and enjoy or get stuck in hoisting sails.
We will definately do this again.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Derwent Hunter Day Tours also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Derwent Hunter Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Derwent Hunter Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.