We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Alright for cheap afternoon drinks” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Magnums

Magnums
366 Shute Harbour Rd, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #43 of 70 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Central Coast, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Alright for cheap afternoon drinks”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I came here with my mother while in Airlie Beach for one day off a cruise. We decided to stop for drinks, as we were also having lunch at the little pizza shop next to it (they both share an outside dining area).

As far as drink prices go, they had $5 cocktails so we were happy. Keep in mind that the glasses are completely filled with ice, and the bartender was somewhat sloppy making my cocktail and spilled some of the nip of peach shnapps, so I didn't get the full shot of alcohol. My mother was really happy with hers though and went back for another drink.

Overall, good for a few cheap drinks, especially if you feel like pizza for lunch at the place next door.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    32
    24
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Cane toad auction and racing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2014 via mobile

Went here for a couple ales with friends. Fully equipped bar. Very strong alcohol odour.

While we didn't eat here, the food looked basic at best and many dishes weren't being finished.

Great atmosphere was created around 8.30pm when Magnums auction off and race cane toads. Might be a little boring for some, but the tourists were getting right into it.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Love Magnums! Who wouldn't?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

BEST BEST atmosphere. Most wonderful place to come hang out with your friends to have a drink at the wooden tables downstairs, or go upstairs for a view. Then at night it turns into a night club, with competitions ;)
Love this place, defiantly a favourite!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie beach
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Stodge”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

We'll miserable steaks I've seen thicker lamb cutlets and overpriced! Other meals at our table were cold and oily, wilted salads, though the beers were nice and cold. Took a couple of hamburgers home with use at nights end and got charged a dollar to put the burgers in a separate bag! WT! It's only booze food there!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

Food was very basic, not that i was expecting to much but what they served you wouldnt give a dog,
Great atmosphere there

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Magnums also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
 

Been to Magnums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Magnums, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.