We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a top spot!!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Clipper Restaurant

Clipper Restaurant
25 Overview Ave | Coral Sea Resort, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
0749641300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Restaurant is situated at Coral Sea Resort which is already listed on Trip Advisor under Hotels, but the restaurant is also open to the public and can be reviewed seperately
Mackay
Level Contributor
85 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“what a top spot!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

what a beautiful spot to sit and have breakfast lunch or dinner. we did the lot! amazing view, delicious food and great service. Staff were very accommodating with my special diet requirements which was very much appreciated.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    61
    15
    9
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect View, Beautiful Food, What More Could You Want?!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Beautiful Location. Stunning views. Cheeky Seagull outsmarting the staff. The Salmon & Crab Linguine was devine and you absolutely cannot go past the desserts! We had the tasting plate for 2 and it was amazing!! So worth paying $28 for!! Was the perfect long lazy holiday lunch!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location but...worst food ever!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Well lets start with the positive (because there won't be much). The restaurant looks great, the staff is friendly enough and the views are gorgeous.

Nothing really after that. Firstly the restaurant was empty. Weird that as it is supposed to be one of the best in Airlie (don't know who decided that?).

My partner and I wanted to have a relaxed night with a great dinner. We were expecting great food. The waiter got us a glass of champagne as the (in our heads) aperitif. He took the order and about 5 min later we had the a mouse bouche in front of us. Not even worth mentioning what that was. About 5 min later we got our starter. Ceviche of trout and mackerel. Looked weird, tasted boring, lack of flavours. No harmony between the ingredients.

We thought it could only get better from here....my girlfriend wasn't even finished when the waitress wanted to grab her plate already. Weird that! About 3 min later they served our main course....we still were sipping our aperitif. The restaurant was still almost empty and it was only 7.30pm...so why did they rush us through this?

I could write a detailed description of that s*** on my plate but that would take up the space.

Lets just say we had spent $130 in not even 45 min for a supposed to be romantic holiday dinner in one of the best places around.

I just wonder about all the other reviews and how good they are. The second guess is we were the unlucky people who go to a restaurant on a Sunday night and they let the housekeeper cook.

Good it was early enough to go elsewhere and enjoy some decent food in Airlie beach.
Thanks for that!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“More than the menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Wow, a highly recommended spot. Degustation menu of 6 courses for $68 or $98 with matched wines. Amuse bouche was gazpacho with a crab salad on the side; entree was semi dried tomato gnocchi; fish course was prawns and cuttle fish followed by gin and tonic sorbet. Main was either barramundi or chicken, but that does not do justice to the dishes presented. The chicken breast was served with a small chorizo pie, which was lovely, and lightly pickled carrots. The barramundi was served with asparagus, mash and a mixed vegetable - really both dishes were exceptional. Dessert was either creme brûlée or a chocolate mouse, and again, both were more than this brief description says.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Beautiful views overlooking pool and sea. Gerat food!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We ate in the restaurant when we were staying one night at Coral Sea Resort.

The food was very fresh and perfectly cooked. Staff were very attentive. Prices were good.

The cheese board to finish was awesome. Very nice Australian cheeses!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clipper Restaurant also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Clipper Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clipper Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.