We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Clipper Restaurant

Clipper Restaurant
25 Overview Ave | Coral Sea Resort, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
0749641300
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Contemporary, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Restaurant is situated at Coral Sea Resort which is already listed on Trip Advisor under Hotels, but the restaurant is also open to the public and can be reviewed seperately
Melbourne
Top Contributor
231 reviews 231 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 83 cities Reviews in 83 cities
107 helpful votes 107 helpful votes
“Average food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2013

The restaurant is at the Coral Sea Resort with the setting overlooking the pool. Service was good, wine list and menu had plenty of variety. Portion sizes were fine. I ordered the barramundi, which tasted very fishy and unusual.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    14
    8
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best view ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We went for a bite and a drink at this restaurant, the food and the drinks were really good- but if you are not staying at the resort you will not be allowed to sit at the front, but the view is still superb.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

Restaurant has great views and is nicely decorated, they seemed to be having a mixed night when we were there, my steak was cold like it had been cooked way before the other food and left to stand, my wife had the Gnocchi which she liked so much she orderd it the following night. My daughters grilled fish with vegatbles came out battered with salad, when we pointed this out the waiter did give us a free serving of vegatables. So bit of a mixed bag, waiters all appear to backpackers who offer fairly average service, had to keep turning around to get any service, may just have been a bad night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Great for lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

This is the second time I have been for lunch and had the Caesar salad which I think is one of the best I have had locally.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The first night we were here, we tried the degustation menu - priced very reasonably for a degustation (kind of like a 3 course meal but this one had several appetizers to taste). Everything was simply excellent. We particularly liked the gnocchi in the menu, and had a great lamb rump. Absolutely wonderful lemon creme brulee. The regular dinner menu can be pricey, but that's what you get on a resort island and honestly, the food is so good it's worth it. Definitely getting this food again (although will probably be lazy and get it for room service).

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clipper Restaurant also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Clipper Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clipper Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.