We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of mr bones

mr bones
263 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
0413 017 331
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Pizza, Tapas
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

We popped in for a casual Tuesday lunch while in town and this has been our best food experience in Airlie beach over the past few days. While it is a pizza bar, we had 2 of the other food dishes (the pork belly and baked haloumi and prawns)- both were decent portions for the price and were really tasty (We took a pic of the menu so we can try and replicate the latter dish at home). The wine list was also pretty good. We paid $65 for 4 glasses of wine and the 2 entrees, we thought that was pretty good value for the food we received as we have paid similar/more at other places here in the past few days and not been as happy.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    358
    131
    19
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockhampton, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Really awesome Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

We read the reviews on the pizza and were not disappointed. The staff were happy to add to/subtract things from the pizza menu on request. The pizza bases were fresh and I really haven't eaten any others that match this except in Lygon St and Italy. Fantastic job Mr Bones, please keep up the fantastic food.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland Australia
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

This place has the best pizzas. It isn't a romantic setting, but for great pizza and a beautiful view over the lagoon to the harbour it is wonderful.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast
Top Contributor
307 reviews 307 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 124 cities Reviews in 124 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
“Amazing view, good food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

I decided to try this restaurant after reading the reviews on trip advisor and I wasn't disappointed. I had the mushroom pizza and it was great. Some of the other pizzas on the menu also sounded very yummy. I tried the Persian love cake after reading someone's review but I was not that impressed with this dessert. It was moist but lacked flavour. Service was friendly and efficient. The restaurant looks over the Airlie Beach lagoon so amazing view. The menu on their website is not up to date. I phoned for a booking and left a message. No one called me back to confirm.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing Pizza”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

The pizzas here are just divine. If you are a big Pizza Hut or Dominos fan - don't go here. Mr Bones' pizzas are proper italian pizzas with just a few toppings - but oh my....... those toppings. The buffalo mozzarella on our pizza was some of the best I have ever tasted. We can't wait to go back.

The staff are super friendly and helpful and on the night we went, the owner and his guest gave up their chairs for us as my husband didn't want to sit on the stools at our table. All done with good grace and great service.

Good wines too!

Make sure you book.....

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed mr bones also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Cannonvale, Airlie Beach
 

Been to mr bones? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage mr bones, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.