We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Base Airlie Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Base Airlie Beach Resort to your Saves list
Base Airlie Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014

Thought the folks were really friendly and helpful here (Jaime and Kellie especially) and the rooms were very comfortable. It's a backpackers so there's always going to be a fair amount of activity but the place is structured well so that the private rooms are at the quieter part of the hostel at the back. A really good spot and seems to be a good launching place for Airlie and Whitsunday activities too. Ask Jamie what sort of specials he can find for you as there always seems to be something!

Room Tip: Stay at the back if you want quiet, and more towards the front if you're there to party.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Airlie Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback. It's greatly appreciated. I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us in Airlie Beach. We hope that you'll be back to visit us again. Best wishes.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    77
    73
    62
    40
    28
See reviews for
2
51
70
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Darwin, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Checked in late afternoon and the guy on reception, Nathan, was really helpful and recommended a nice walk to do (thanks for that!) to kill time before dinner. Hostel itself was clean and the beds are really comfy! I was only there two nights before my Whitsundays trip (amazing!) and it was a good stay! Stayed in the four bed dorms.
Only downside is it was a bit chilly at night, but hey it's not like I asked for a blanket so I guess I can't complain. Protip if you're staying in June make sure you do!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Airlie Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your feedback about our hostel here in Airlie Beach. We do pride ourselves on quality service. So I'm pleased that the customer service you received was amazing.

Further, all of our beds here in the hostel have blankets provided at the end of the beds/in cupboards. I'm concerned that yours did not. Did you advise reception at all on your stay? As we do have them available at reception?

Again, thank you for your outstanding review. And we do hope you return to visit us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed there for 2 nights in a 4 bed dorm and then a 6 bed dorm.
The rooms were good, clean, and they have their own ensuite bathroom which is good. (But no toilets outside, so when someone is in the bathroom, you have to wait....)
They don't change sheets everyday, so could be a bit dirty but ours were okay.
There is a bar with food next to the hostel, so could be a bit noisy, and the wall between room is very thine so we had to knock on our neighbor door to ask to be less noisy at 2.30am!

Very good location in the city centre, 15minutes walk to the boat departure, 15 minutes walk from the bus (Greyhound/Premier) so this is good.

Maybe the staff needs to be a bit more enthusiatic and friendly !
But it is a good hostel, good if you want to party!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Airlie Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us for the most part.

However, I am sorry that you found the staff to be lacking enthusiasm.

In regards to the rooms being serviced daily. The floors, bins and bathrooms are serviced every day as part of the service we extend. However, fresh linen is available upon request for dorm rooms. This is the same with every other hostel. So for this I apologise but we do offer the service if our valued guests have stayed 3 or more nights and request it.

I also apologise that you found having an ensuite without a seperate shower and toilet an inconvenience. Fortunately, we have ensuites in every room as part of the facilities we provide. Where most other hostels are share facilities between 30 odd guests. Until now we weren't aware that due to the shower and toilet being in the same room and not seperately this proved to be an issue. So thank you again for your feedback.

We wish you the best with the remainder of your travels and hope to see you again.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

2 of us stayed here 16th-19th May. We arrived early morning, before we could check in so stored our bags. There's no security to ensure that your bags couldn't potentially be taken by someone else. The attitude of the girl on the desk suggested that it was a big effort for her to even attempt to be polite and friendly. When we did get access to our room, none of the electrics were working and both taps were dripping incessantly, the bathroom tap was more of a trickle.
Whilst this was sorted out fairly quickly, the room was still average - the sink still had food in it from the previous people that had checked out and the drawers smelt, some had hair in them. The girls who came to change the bed sheets one day, asked us to include their names in our review as they'd get a free bar tab or something ? Unfortunately, we told them we had nothing good to say about the place.

The worst part of the entire stay was the kitchen. Never seen anything so disgusting, and I've been a university student. The price of our stay cannot be used as an excuse for the dirtiness, as we stayed in 5 hostels on our stay in Australia and all the others had a decent level of hygiene. The floor was dirty, the hob looked like it hadn't been cleaned in days, there was powdered cornflakes on a shelf under the microwave, very tempting for rodents. The kettle, microwave and tables were dirty too. See the pictures as proof.

To make matters worse, when we arrived to use the kitchen one day, we found the 'Emergency exit' door to be closed...because it was padlocked shut! Health and Safety would have a field day in this place. Again, pictures included to show this

If you have any kind of basic hygiene, then you will not want to stay in this place!

Room Tip: Choose a different hostel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Airlie Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate the time you have taken to let us know your views of our property. All feedback is valued, good with the bad. Without it we wouldn't know which areas need improvement.

Firstly, I'd just like to extend our apologies that you did not enjoy your stay with us for many reasons. We try where we can to cater to the different needs of our guests, one of which is FREE luggage storage whilst our guests are waiting for the 2:00pm check in. This is a standard with most hostels and unfortunately is only opened every 1/2 hour by a staff member as a courtesy to our guests so they don't have to walk around with their bags all day.

Further, in regards to the electrics in your room. I'm grateful that the issue was resolved without delay. However, what was the issue? A blown light bulb etc? Sadly, these issues do happen but luckily can be fixed without to much hassle.

Although, the cleanliness of the room, hair in drawers, food in sink is unacceptable. This should have been cleaned accordingly and will be addressed with our housekeeping team.

On the subject of our communal kitchen. This area is cleaned by staff 3 times a day between 6:30am and 10:00pm as you may have seen them do during your stay. We do what we can to keep the area clean, but it is also up to our guests not to abuse the area. As I hope you can understand, other travellers may not be as clean as most. And this mess may very well have been made after our staff spent time cleaning the area. I noticed you stayed with us for 3 days in a 4 bed female only room. Was this area like this the whole time or just on the specific day you took the shots? Again, I do apologise for this mess.

With respect to your comment about the emergency exit. There are 2 emergency exits within this area. Due to the door being damaged late at night and maintenance not being able to collect the needed parts to fix the issue. This was the temporary resolve. However, in saying this it should never have been padlocked but there was no other way of securing the building so late at night. Nevertheless, we still had alternative access to the communal facilities, so our guests were never without use of this area.

I hope this response answers all your concerns and that you enjoy the rest of your travels.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Base is really the only nice, cheap, and NOT trashy spot on the strip. Hammocks, pool, beautiful grounds and a great staff for a good price. Worth the few extra bucks compared to the nasty ones further down the road. Jame-I helped me book the perfect boat trip for me (so key!!) and was kind of my spirit guide/ new BFF. Seriously he made my trip, such great hospitality. Nate at reception was also great. Give both of those guys a raise and an ice cream cone. And you can still get trashy at the bar of you really want. Or walk like 5 minutes in any direction. But don't say I didn't warn you. Airlie is generally swarming with wasted 20 year olds, but base is a great refuge for those of us who did that years ago, are over it, and kind of want to forget it ever happened... :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Airlie Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 10, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your glowing review of our property and staff. And for reminding us what we're all about here at Base. Airlie Beach is certainly one of those small towns that is very transient. And it's great that you found us a place you enjoyed and would come back to.

We hope that you enjoy the rest of your travels and that you come back to stay with us again soon.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

The room are all over the place and so random it's all small rooms scattered abject to a very small camping spot, terrible parking, staff booked us in a room with too many people so had to swap so pretty poor hostel but banging food bar, really good value and airlie beach is absolutely stunning!!! Would love to go back!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Airlie Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your feedback regarding our hostel and bar. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed the food and location as we do.

However, sorry to hear that you did not find the layout of our hostel which has bungalows surrounding a pool and gardens, not suited to your needs. We're very proud of our hostel here mainly because it's not situated above a bar, but in a more tranquil environment. This is the first I've heard that someone has not enjoyed that about our property as most of our guests love it.

Further, I apologise that you were checked into a larger then normal dorm on arrival. I'm sure it was just an honest mistake which as you mentioned was resolved. Here at Base Airlie Beach Resort we only have 4 and 6 bed ensuited dorms available. We do not have any larger dorms like most other hostels with share facilities. This is also something most of our other guests have enjoyed about what we have to offer.

Overall, I hope that I have answered all your concerns. And again, I am deeply sorry that you did not enjoy your experience with us. But do hope somewhere down the line you give us another chance to show you what we're all about here in Airlie Beach.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

This place has a really relaxed vibe and is ideally located - walking distance to the Marina and all the shops / pubs and restaurants. A great place to stay before / after a trip to the Whitsundays. I stayed in a private room which was really spacious with it's own terrace.

Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Base Airlie Bea... R, Front Office Manager at Base Airlie Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear Guest,

I'm very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us at Base Airlie Beach Resort. We also appreciate the time its taken to leave a review. If you ever decide to travel back to Airlie Beach we would love to have you come visit. It was a pleasure having you stay with us.

Kind Regards,

Aotea RM
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Base Airlie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Airlie Beach Resort

Address: 336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Base Airlie Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuries of a Resort at backpacker Prices! And have a sleep in with our 11AM checkout! Base Airlie Beach Resort has gained a reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great central location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon, the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep and the Abel Point Marina is just a stroll away. We have beds for all budgets - meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with ensuite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own corner bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. We also have loads of camping sites & campervan parks. Base Airlie Beach Resort is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. Off street car park and car/campervan parking while you sail, air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen, internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), fully air-conditioned TV lounge, secure overnight/day luggage storage, FREE BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, EVERYTHING you need in one location! DOWN UNDER BAR & GRILL Home of the famous AU$15 Meal/Drink Deal! Open from 10am daily for Brunch, Lunch and Dinner at the best prices intown. Nightly entertainment 7 days a week!! All in house guest will also recieve a futher 20% off at the bar during their stay at Base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, HostelBookers and Agoda so you can book your Base Airlie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Airlie Beach Resort Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Airlie Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.