We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good base for Airlie Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Base Airlie Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Base Airlie Beach Resort to your Saves list
Base Airlie Beach Resort
1.0 of 5 Hostel   |   336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“Good base for Airlie Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

This hostel is well located din Airlie Beach. The room was large and clean, it had a kitchen area and large bathroom with a whirlpool tub.

The internet computers in the lobby are a total scam, it cost $4 for one hour and the connection is hopelessly slow.

The gardens and pool were nice.

Excellent value (except the internet computers).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    62
    51
    33
    21
See reviews for
1
45
53
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Ive been staying here on and of for four months now cause of my job. Real nice place to come back to after work, clean big rooms, nice bathrooms and with fridge and sink in the room.
Normal hostel standard kitchen with heaps of hotplates wich makes it easy to cook.
Friendly and helpful staff. All the best to my girl Kristi, ur the booss!

Room Tip: Get a room on second floor to get a nice balcony :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2013

Base was a good hostel great location the best thing was the staff for me Kirsty was a great help sorted everything told me everything and more that i needed to check out and do in airlie.
could not of asked more if i was base she would be getting a raise my overall stya there was good helps when a bar is right next door ;)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundalk, Ireland
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Being a hostel i was expecting a rough stay but I was really surprised by this place. Overall we had a lovely stay here and would have happily stayed longer. Granted we had a private triple room and not a dormitory. The room was nice and big. the beds were very comfortable. The gardens were fabulous, beautifully landscaped with nice tropical trees, a small stream etc. The pool was a great plus. It also had lots of BBQ stations around the place. Our room was a triple which had a big double bed and a set of bunk beds. It had an en-suite bathroom and a kitchenette and fridge. Location is excellent, right at the top of the main street in airlie beach so there are tons of restaurants and bars nearby. As far as hostels go this is probably the best one ive stayed in an would rank well alongside a lot of budget hotels!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

We stayed in a private 4 bed dorm for 4 nights in March, location wise this is perfect for the Whitsundays and Great Barrier Reef. Unfortunately the staff behind the desk, bless them, Sam to be covering the work of about 10 people - meaning that whatever you want whether it is checking in, there's a problem with your room, you want to book trips or something else - be prepared that there is always a queue!!! Unfortunately we were totally forgotten by house keeping meaning that they didn't empt the bins or change bedding at all - bit of a shame as we had been recommended by friends to come and stay here. Location is central and so great for trips and there's a great bar right next door with cheap drinks and things. Good facilities for cooking, although we didn't use them but lots of others did. Rooms could do with a lick of paint though I think and some good ant repellent!!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We shared a 5 bed dormitory. First we had to wait quiet a long time to get to talk to someone. The room was not clean. The toilets were smelly, there were hair in the shower and the kitchenette was not clean....(you could see that it was just wiped once, but not cleaned...). The freezer had a 4 cm ice block in it and therefore the fridge was not working well. Around the pool and all over the place was rubbish. It could be a nice place if it was clean, maintained and friendly staff. Any Motel we have stayed in Australia for about the same price was better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2013

Of a 3 week East coast tour of Oz this was our best backpackers/Camper van stop.

As you come into Airlie, its just off the round-a-bout on the right hand side (sea, hogsbreath & lagoon on left) next to its own big bar.

We rented a room for to ourselves being a slightly older couple.
Room (for 4) was clean, crisp sheets, old air con but working and kitchen area with fridge, microwave & kettle. En-suite was basic except for whirlpool bath (probably no longer working as no plug) which shower ran from. Did for us ok.
The set up is chalets of 4 (two up two down) rooms dotted around a nice big open pool area with two hammocks and loungers. Their own web page pics are pretty spot on.

The main building has a big chill out area where you can use internet PC's (slots $) and book all the many advertised attractions at the desk.
In this building there is a luggage store, tidy & clean cooking area, kitchen tables, sofa's & TV

We paid more to rent our own room (expected) but the value, quality and helpfulness of the staff was way better than our previous night at Airlie in an overpriced, overated so called swanky hotel. We could of stayed 3 nights for what we paid one night.and wished we'd found X-Base first. Doh!

Breakfast is $5 all you can eat (Yogurt,toast,cereal, tea, coffee) and a bargain.
Checkout is at 11:00am again better than hotels especially if you've been celebrating *ahem*
Their bar next door was lively, sold good food at good prices (for Oz a rarity now) had a big screen, good selection of drinks.

After witnessing many backpackers up the east coast of Oz (SYD-BNE-PPP) this was the best we'd seen.
Others in Airlie looked grim and cost as much or more.
If you backpack or need to park your camper anywhere in Airlie then ask for James and stay here.

We booked a 4 day boat cruise from here, got a good last minute deal organised by the staff, was able to leave our spare luggage in the store whilst sailing and had 2 days 1 night relaxing time here.
Thank you X-Base

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs chalet or Ladies can opt for an all girl dorm rather than mixed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Base Airlie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Airlie Beach Resort

Address: 336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1 star — Base Airlie Beach Resort 1*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Base Airlie Beach Resort is rapidly gaining the reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon and the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep! Base Airlie Beach Resort is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. We have beds for all budgets – meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with en-suite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own spa bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. Have a sleep in with an 11AM checkout! RESORT FACILITIES: 6 Acres with loads of camping sites & campervan parks, Outdoor tropical swimming pool with deck area to soak up the sun, Down Under Bar & Grill – ALL meals under AU$13, Off street car park and secure car/campervan parking while you sail, Air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, Fully equipped communal kitchen, Internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), Fully air-conditioned cinema lounge, Secure overnight/day luggage storage, FREE BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, Fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, DOWN UNDER BAR & GRILL. By popular demand the Down Under Bar (DUB) is now in Airlie Beach! DUB is the #1 Backpacker and Student Bar & Grill in Brisbane and this is sure to be the place to be 7 nights a week! Home of the famous AU$13 Pint/Meal Deal! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, HostelBookers, TripOnline SA, Agoda, HostelWorld, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Base Airlie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Airlie Beach Resort Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Airlie Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.