We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if you can!” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Base Airlie Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Base Airlie Beach Resort to your Saves list
Base Airlie Beach Resort
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
Cork, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Avoid if you can!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Where to start? Rude staff checked us in, loud and not very friendly. When we did get in to our room there were more beds in there than our confirmed booking. When we brought this to the attention of the "reception guru" we simply got attitude and no help.

The room we waited until 2 pm for was dirty with used glasses and plastic on the floor. There were bugs in the bed and a cockroach on the floor. We did not bother bringing this to anyone's attention after out previous dealings with them.

Free breakfast is advertised but is a first come first served basis and is not replenished during the advertised breakfast hours thereby eliminating most guests.

There was an ant in the ice cube of our drink from the bar.

On the positive side, Megan at the travel desk was very helpful and pleasant!!

I understand this is a hostel but even hostels need standards!! Avoid this hostel if you can!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    87
    87
    68
    45
    32
See reviews for
4
55
80
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights in a female 4 room dorm and paid little extra for the towel n toiletries package which was nice!

2 bunkbeds in room, bedside tabel and sideboard in room as well as kitchenette area with fridge, sink and a good sized bathroom with big corner bath! Feels more beachy/ chilled than most hostels as the lodges are separate so less nosie from other rooms.

Biggest hostel room I've stayed in so far. Felt more like apartment!! Hammocks just outside rooms to chill on. Pool there too! Communal TV lounge / kicthen/ diner was ok! no telephone in hostel, had to use public phone in street. Lots of internet points in reception and friendly helpful staff too. Its just at the start of the main Airlie Beach stretch so convienient for all shops, bars and beach, activities.

Got a small discount on my stay as I'd stayed at another Base hostel and you get a discount book in reception so its worth getting the voucher and staying at different Base's along trip!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2011

This hostel clearly used to be a holiday apartment resort which is really good as each room has a kitchen and bathroom. The rooms are big and spacious and the pool area is very nice. Also the staff are very helpful and friendly and the bar next door does some amazing food deals. Great steak and chips.

The only bad thing about this hostel is that it is 6 dollars to leave your bag in the luggage storage and the trip companies only charge you 5 dollars. However is it worth dragging your bag to the shops to leave your bag to save one dollar. Also it costs another 3 dollars per bag to leave it in the luggage room after you have checked out even if its only for an hour.

Also base is about a mile away from the greyhound stop. Mission with a heavy backpack. Plus the hostel opposite does a free pick up. We asked why they didnt do a free pick up and they said they dont because the bus was taken to magnetic island for the full moon parties.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2011

Very quick thank you to all the staff at the Base Airlie Beach Resort (especially Nathan) for making our stay in Airlie Beach last week a great one. We stayed in a private double room which had its very own spa bath in the ensuite. Very clean, centrally located. beautiful pool area. Would highly recomment this hostel to anyone travelling through Airlie.

Thanks again

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

Great hostel in the center of town! Staff really friendly! Had the manager check us in! Very good to see! He was so friendly! Rooms were so clean and we had a spa in our dorm room!! I would recommend there bar called down under bar for a feed!! sooo cheap and really good had so much fun in there!! U get a 11am check out which is awesome as we were so hung over after our boat trip! I would have to say this would have been the best hostel we have stayed in by far!! it is more a resort than a hostel!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2011

stayed here for 2 nights (1 night before/after our whitsundays trip)
The hostel is made up of blocks and looks like they used to be holiday apartments, we stayed in a 5 bed dorm with ensuite and it had its own kitchen type area - just with a sink and a fridge which were quite useful!
Hostel provides free breakfast - standard toast and cereal, we didnt use the kitchen other than at breakfast!
we stored our luggage here while we were in the whitsundays - $6 for the 2/3 days.
The hostel is at the end of the main road in airlie, but its only a few mins to the lagoon/supermarket/other bars.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ireland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

Dont stay here , base are crap and rip offs to any backpacker. Expensive laundry , rude staff and charged 5 dollars when we were 10 mins late on check out ! Get real!!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Airlie Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
Nomads Airlie Beach Backpackers
#35 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.6 mi away
Backpackers by the Bay
Backpackers by the Bay
#20 of 50 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 320 reviews
0.3 mi away
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
Airlie Waterfront Backpackers
#31 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Airlie Beach YHA
Airlie Beach YHA
#33 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.5 of 5 stars 123 reviews
0.1 mi away
Magnums Backpackers
Magnums Backpackers
#39 of 50 in Airlie Beach
3.0 of 5 stars 281 reviews
0.9 mi away
Bush Village Budget Cabins
Bush Village Budget Cabins
#3 of 7 in Cannonvale
4.0 of 5 stars 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Base Airlie Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Base Airlie Beach Resort

Address: 336 Shute Harbour Road, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 50 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Base Airlie Beach Resort 2.5*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxuries of a Resort at backpacker Prices! And have a sleep in with our 11AM checkout! Base Airlie Beach Resort has gained a reputation for their stylish rooms, friendly local crew and a fun social atmosphere all in one great central location in Airlie Beach. The hostel accommodation is set amongst 6 acres of tropical gardens with an outdoor swimming pool right in the heart of Airlie Beach. Only 50m to the lagoon, the cafes, bars and shops are on the doorstep and the Abel Point Marina is just a stroll away. We have beds for all budgets - meet other travellers in our clean, comfortable multi-share rooms, all with ensuite and air-conditioning, or treat yourself to a private room with your own corner bath, fridge, air-conditioning, kitchenette & complimentary tea and coffee in the room. We also have loads of camping sites & campervan parks. Base Airlie Beach Resort is set up to be your ideal gateway to the Whitsunday Islands National Park with 74 islands and Whitehaven Beach rated as one of the top 10 beaches in the world only a short boat trip away. Off street car park and car/campervan parking while you sail, air-conditioning in ALL the rooms, fully equipped communal kitchen, internet lounge & wireless internet in every room (Global Gossip), fully air-conditioned TV lounge, secure overnight/day luggage storage, FREE BBQ facilities, 24 hour coin operated laundry, fully licensed travel desk to help organise your time in Airlie Beach, EVERYTHING you need in one location! DOWN UNDER BAR & GRILL Home of the famous AU$15 Meal/Drink Deal! Open from 10am daily for Brunch, Lunch and Dinner at the best prices intown. Nightly entertainment 7 days a week!! All in house guest will also recieve a futher 20% off at the bar during their stay at Base. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HostelBookers, Venere, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Base Airlie Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Base Airlie Beach Resort Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Base Airlie Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.