We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One more tick off the bucket list - Heart Reef!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Heart Reef

Heart Reef
Great Barrier Reef Marine Park, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Bodies of Water
Attraction Details
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“One more tick off the bucket list - Heart Reef!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

It's been on my bucket list for 10 years and I finally got to see it in person. Well, sort of… The only way to see Heart Reef is by plane and that's exactly what I've done! It's not as big as you'd think - actually quite small, so make sure you see it as you fly over!

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    14
    5
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cairns, Queensland, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Small”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

See this iconic reef on advertising etc, everywhere... We got a chopper ride over the whitsundays, outer reef.. And almost missed seeing it as we're looking for something bigger!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Unforgettable”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

We flew over this with a little air tour, the reef is stunning & then suddenly in amongst it all you see the heart! It's a memory I'll never forget! Definitely worth the trip.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Seaplane away”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

I'll keep it simple - amazing. Despite the cost of the seaplane tour it's worth it. Definitely a must do if you want to take in the best view and extent of the Great Barrier Reef.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Spectacular”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We flew by helicopter with Heli Reef and would highly recommend it. The heart reef is smaller than expected but still a special thing to see.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heart Reef also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Whitsunday Island, Whitsunday Islands
 

Been to Heart Reef? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Heart Reef, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Heart Reef to your Saves list