We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best day trip ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Rafting

Ocean Rafting
Shingley Drive | Abell Point Marina North (Next to Sorrento Restaurant & Bar), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 7 4946 6848
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$103*
and up
Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocean Rafting visits the “Wild Side” of the Whitsunday Islands, the uninhabited islands with beautiful natural scenery brimming with marine, bird and animal life. There are two exciting tour options, the Northern Exposure and Southern Lights, and each Ocean Rafting day includes an exhilarating ride to Whitehaven Beach, pristine snorkelling reefs and guided Whitsunday Island National Parks walks. Ocean Rafting is the only tour to have direct access to the stunning and iconic Hill Inlet beach, and special snorkel sites at Hook Island and Border Island ensure a memorable underwater experience.The semi rigid inflatable vessels are super fast allowing guests to experience a fun ride, adventure and education amongst the natural beauty of the Whitsundays. The vessels were originally designed and built as rescue crafts and are driven by 450hp engines. 70% of the vessel is shaded, providing comfort from the tropical sun. Small groups allow guests to experience tropical paradise away from the crowds.Ocean Rafting has been operating since 1997 and is proud to have special permits allowing its vessels to visit protected areas in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The Skipper and Eco Host will ensure guests have a fun filled adventure and personalised service, from the courtesy bus pick up in the morning to snorkel lessons and a guided National Park walk in the Whitsunday Islands.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Forest Hill
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The best day trip ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

As a former whitsunday resident growing up I have been on loads of day trips out to islands and this one hands down is the best. I did this one with my 9 and 15 yr old and we all had a ball, great snorkelling spot, fun staff, fun boating, food was a bit average but worth suffering lol

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,677 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,361
    248
    45
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Awesome!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We had an amazing day. Such a fantastic bunch of people that knew how to make the group comfortable with each other. Fantastic value at $129 for two snorkeling spots (we saw a turtle at one) and an amazing time at Hill Inlet on Whitehaven Beach. The views were spectacular. I'd also definitely recommend the $35 photo/video package.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Friendly staff but the trip was impersonal and felt more of a money making tour with lack of soul!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We have been on several organised trips since we have travelled up the east coast and this one was average compared to the others which were brilliant. The whole thing felt like we we're being herded in with a lack of personal touch and at every opportunity they were trying to make money. For example- lunch was included- but drinks (including water) you have to pay extra for. Snorkeling was part of the trip, however when we got there we were advised to wear stinger suits- which of course they have us at an additional cost! Then the opportunity to be sold things was on the boats commentary just about as much as any commentary of what we were actually seeing. Overall- you get to see a bite size amount I whitsundays but if I were to do it again I'd try and find a smaller group (not 30 of you squashed into one raft!)- it seems ocean rafting have gotten too corporate and forgotten what it is they are there for.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanRafting_Safari, Owner at Ocean Rafting, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Thank you for your review and feedback. Ocean Rafting does offer the "Ultimate Experience" package which includes the extras such as the stinger suits. If guests opt to take the normal tour price the optional extras available are drinks and stinger suits. We have found from operating over the years that some of our guests bring their own sunsuits, stinger suits or wetsuits, or just prefer not to wear one, so not all guests require one and we therefore offer it as a choice for guests. There is also a considerable cost in the upkeep, washing and replacement of the suits. In terms of the beverages, we have also found that not all drinks are consumed, which is just not only sustainable but goes against our policies in minimising waste and rubbish. We can confidently say there are very few tour operators who do include beverages in their tour price, so this is not unusual practice. In regards to the scope of the area that we visit in the Whitsundays, Ocean Rafting guests travel over 150km in one day, taking in Whitehaven Beach, Hill Inlet and special snorkel sites, which is a considerable route that showcases some of the most beautiful spots in the region. We pride ourselves on showing guests three days in one in the Whitsundays and is by no means a bite size amount in comparison. There are also not many smaller group touring options than Ocean Rafting and definitely not one that covers such a big area. Our crew pride themselves on offering a personal and memorable day out in the Whitsundays for all of our guests so we are very sorry to hear that our tour did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jinan, China
1 review
“very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

ocean rafting is the best day trip during our holiday,we will chose it next time!we chose the southern trip,we had snorkelling about 1 hour,the reef is so beautiful,so many fish and sea anemone there.

Visited October 2013

Review collected in partnership with this attraction

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brabant Province, The Netherlands
1 review
“fast and safe ride with amazings things to see!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

drinks should be included en snorkel equipement can be somthing better. it was a beuatiful day with ocean rafting! no regrats!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Rafting also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Ocean Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.