We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelming Experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Rafting

Ocean Rafting
25 Ocean View Ave | The Jetty Office, Coral Sea Resort, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
07 4946 6848
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 56 activities in Airlie Beach
Type: Boat Tours
More attraction details
Attraction Details
Owner description: Ocean Rafting visits the “Wild Side” of the Whitsunday Islands, the uninhabited islands with beautiful natural scenery brimming with marine, bird and animal life. There are two exciting tour options, the Northern Exposure and Southern Lights, and each Ocean Rafting day includes an exhilarating ride to Whitehaven Beach, pristine snorkelling reefs and guided Whitsunday Island National Parks walks. Ocean Rafting is the only tour to have direct access to the stunning and iconic Hill Inlet beach, and special snorkel sites at Hook Island and Border Island ensure a memorable underwater experience.The semi rigid inflatable vessels are super fast allowing guests to experience a fun ride, adventure and education amongst the natural beauty of the Whitsundays. The vessels were originally designed and built as rescue crafts and are driven by 450hp engines. 70% of the vessel is shaded, providing comfort from the tropical sun. Small groups allow guests to experience tropical paradise away from the crowds.Ocean Rafting has been operating since 1997 and is proud to have special permits allowing its vessels to visit protected areas in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The Skipper and Eco Host will ensure guests have a fun filled adventure and personalised service, from the courtesy bus pick up in the morning to snorkel lessons and a guided National Park walk in the Whitsunday Islands.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Airlie Beach, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Overwhelming Experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

I took my partner out for her birthday with ocean rafting, being a local of the whitsundays I thought I knew what to expect. I had done the islands, snorkeling, whitehaven, etc before, but we were pleasantly surprised. I have to give a big mention to the two crew who took us out - Tristan and Muzza, bloody legends! We did the south run on this day, it was typical whitsunday weather - 4 seasons in 1 day, but both of us being local boat crew had a blast in the slightly rough weather. We were taken to a secret snorkeling spot I'd never been to before, the lunch on whitehaven beach was very exclusive, we had a thrilling ride home with a big surprise at the end, what else can I say but ocean rafting is one thing you must do while in this town! It was such a pleasure to experience what they have on offer.... DO IT!!!!! Thank you once again to the staff of Ocean Rafting, your all awesome! Benny!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

850 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    685
    123
    26
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mackay, Australia
1 review
“ocean rafting on thunderstruck”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

my partner and i took our two tennagers on the ocean rafting tour, what a great experience!! the crew were fantastic really friendly and with great sences of hummour they made sure everybody was having a good time they are a credit to their buisness we were blown away by the pristine waters we loved the snorkling the coral was amazing we were lucky to see humpback whales and sea turtles then whitehaven beach was unbeleivable the veiw from the the platform was amazing, then back to the boat for lunch which was great value for money we really enjoyed it we will be coming back and i will make sure i tell everybody about this great experience looking foward to receiving our photos from the day, i have snorkled at the poor knights islands in nz and this trip to the reef was right up there with that, we need to stop these coal ships going through the reef its too precious to risk loosing such a special untouched pristine place coz if its gone we can never get it back simply amazing and once again the crew made our day they are awesome i think their boss should give them a pay rise !!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quite a ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

We did the Southern Exposure tour on 3rd July 2013. Will and Karl were funny and entertaining. The ride was chopping but amazing- exactly what we were hoping for. It is not a ride for "sipping tea". You have to hang on at times and you get wet! My husband enjoyed the snorkelling and got some great underwater photos. Whitehaven beach and Hill Inlet were stunning. The walk to Hill Inlet took about 15mins up the hill. There are toilets at the top also. Lunch was basic but delicious. Rice, pasta and green salads, bread rolls, salami, chicken drumsticks and mussels. Drinks are not included but can be bought on the raft, (aswell as chocolates) It was an fabulous day. Highly recommend.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“great trip”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

It is a wonderful day out, full of fun and fast jet boating, we loved the snorkelling, the lunch on Whitehaven Beach and the bush walk, felt it was great value for money, and a great addition to our holiday

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Family Fun for All”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Loved this trip. The name is a bit deceiving, I am not the sea rafting type but it is really a neat cruise on a sea raft so it can go into the amazingly beautiful inlet. The view is beyond this world. The Aussies are defintely keeping this a top secret from the Yankies so they (NASA) do not come again to take 100 tons of pure white silicons off the pristine beach. So soft, so white, so pure, it's a dram coming true. Oh, do not forget to do a exfoliation act on your whole boy and face.

My teenagers love the cruise and snorkeling, and the beach took eir brath away. sarah's handle of the boat makes you feel like a Las Vegas high roller, you have to experience it to know what I mean. buffett lunch is surprisingly not bad at alll. Certainly beyond my expectation and worth the money. dylan our guide is very personalable and fun. Love the whole trip, every last bit of it.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Rafting also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Ocean Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Ocean Rafting to your Saves list