We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Tour Definitely Worth Doing” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ocean Rafting

Ocean Rafting
Shingley Drive | Abell Point Marina North (Next to Sorrento Restaurant & Bar), Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 7 4946 6848
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$103*
and up
Rafting Tour to Whitehaven Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Ocean Rafting visits the “Wild Side” of the Whitsunday Islands, the uninhabited islands with beautiful natural scenery brimming with marine, bird and animal life. There are two exciting tour options, the Northern Exposure and Southern Lights, and each Ocean Rafting day includes an exhilarating ride to Whitehaven Beach, pristine snorkelling reefs and guided Whitsunday Island National Parks walks. Ocean Rafting is the only tour to have direct access to the stunning and iconic Hill Inlet beach, and special snorkel sites at Hook Island and Border Island ensure a memorable underwater experience.The semi rigid inflatable vessels are super fast allowing guests to experience a fun ride, adventure and education amongst the natural beauty of the Whitsundays. The vessels were originally designed and built as rescue crafts and are driven by 450hp engines. 70% of the vessel is shaded, providing comfort from the tropical sun. Small groups allow guests to experience tropical paradise away from the crowds.Ocean Rafting has been operating since 1997 and is proud to have special permits allowing its vessels to visit protected areas in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park. The Skipper and Eco Host will ensure guests have a fun filled adventure and personalised service, from the courtesy bus pick up in the morning to snorkel lessons and a guided National Park walk in the Whitsunday Islands.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Bathroom facilities
Bundaberg, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Tour Definitely Worth Doing”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

The crew on our boat Thunderstuck, Carl and Nathan, made the tour thoroughly enjoyable. The tour was filled with great information and sights. The view from the hill over Whitehaven beach is incredible and the colors of the water is outstanding. Having time to relax on Whitehaven beach was great. Lunch is worth purchasing as an extra as it is more than enough with my husband and 18 year old son going back for seconds and even thirds!
On our way back to port, Carl showed some moves the boat is capable of! What a way to start 2013.
I would definitely encourage anyone visiting Airlie Beach to do the tours with Ocean Rafting.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,676 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,361
    247
    45
    16
    7
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fast fun, loads of fish and friendly staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We started the first day of 2013 on an ocean rafting tour!

We enjoyed the best of the Whitsunday's all in one action packed day!

We were on board the boat 'Jammin' and our guide and skipper, Mary and Tristan, were so friendly and welcoming and made the day a lot of fun!

Mary was fantastic at providing us all with plenty of interesting facts about the whitsundays! She really is very good at what she does..

The snorkeling was amazing! As always. Even after such heavy rain there was still plenty to see. Especially when feeding the fish!

This is the 2nd time I've done this tour and its the best tour in Airlie! Excellent value for money!

Highly recommended for sight seeing, snorkeling, swimming and fast paced boating all in one day! Suits pretty much any age.

Thanks again to the team we had the best day!




Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Most Breathtaking Beach in Australia!!! YOU MUST SEE THIS!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

OMG! Ive seen some stunning pristine beaches in my time but this is by far the most breathtaking. The view from the hill is so beautiful it is almost surreal! From a long way away you can see stingrays cruising along in the crystal clear water that is every shade of blue. The white sand is magnificent and the combination of it with the different depths of the azure water is mezmerising! You could sit and look at it all day!

We did the northern tour and would have liked more time snorkelling and for sitting on the hill just absorbing the view, and maybe less time on the beach after lunch - an hour plus after lunch was too much with little to do. There were almost no shady options near the boat to sit during lunch and a warning about being mugged by the seagulls while stepping of the boat into wavy water with lunch balancing high in hand would have saved a lot of peoples chicken drummies and bread rolls from getting stolen while navigating the moving stairs.

The snorkelling was awesome but far too short and thank goodness my partner and I took ALL of our own gear. It was not good to witness people being really dissapointed (and irritated) by being told that they could not have any fins as only a select few are allowed them??? Fins are BASIC snorkelling gear and everyone should be given the option especially if they are all paying the same price. If not they should be told beforehand.

We enjoyed zipping round in the boat and having some fun seeing what it could do and would have loved to have done more of this at various times throughout the day. Maybe the staff should ask travellers to change seats regularly so that everyone gets a fair turn on the seats under cover with padding!

Overall it was a terrific day and we'd would recommend it to everyone as a great way to see some magical parts of the GB Reef!!! We'd do it again for sure!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanRafting_Safari, Owner at Ocean Rafting, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your day and thank you for taking the time to leave feedback. We just wanted to take the opportunity to explain why we generally don't supply fins to all guests for snorkelling. Whilst we understand that fins are part of general snorkelling gear, Ocean Rafting follows a series of eco-friendly procedures with a “leave no footprints” policy to minimise our impact on the environment and the Great Barrier Reef. Unfortunately inexperienced snorkellers can inadvertently cause damage to the reef with their fins so we minimise distribution for this reason. The fins that we do offer for experienced guests are flexible fins, which are far less likely to cause coral damage. We also find that at the locations we snorkel, the noodles are far more effective in assisting with buoyancy and allowing guests to float above the reef and bommies so they are able to take in all the action below. We do always endeavour to explain this policy on board on the day, as we do with all of our environmental policies as an Advanced Ecotourism Certified operator and a Green Travel Leader. Thanks once again and we hope to see you back again one day soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Townsville, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“No backup Boat”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012 via mobile

Was looking forward to having a look at Whitehaven Beach. Was assigned to the boat "Jammin". The boat broke down 40 minutes into the trip. Had to turn around. Sucked for us, but not as much as it would of for the three German blokes who had been on "Jammin" the day before also when it had broken down. Full refund, but ended up wasting half our day.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OceanRafting_Safari, Owner at Ocean Rafting, responded to this review, December 29, 2012
Ocean Rafting sincerely apologises for the breakdown...this is actually the first breakdown Ocean Rafting has had in over 4 years and 70 days. Unfortunately this happened due to the highly advanced technology in the motors that we use onboard our vessels and their capability to emit ultra low emissions. The motor itself did not in fact break down, rather the technology used in the motors became faulty, therefore telling the motor to shut down. We spent the first day trying to find out what the problem was but it would not repeat the shutdown process again, making it very difficult to detect the problem. We tested the engine with the computer, but again it gave a 100% reading which did not help matters for our mechanics. After the second breakdown, our team spent all night replacing the engine with a brand new engine (close on $30 000 worth of equipment), which we carry as a spare in case this ever happens. Six of our staff worked throughout the night to ensure we had a boat for the following day. As you stated, we did give everyone a full refund...please believe that it is the worst thing that can happen on our tours as we are very aware of the disappointment for our guests. I am sorry that you felt you should award us with such a low ranking as we tried our best to rectify the situation by offering a full refund to everyone and replacing the motor, and we really don’t feel we could have done much more than we did. Ocean Rafting has an extremely efficient maintenance regime and operate using the best of equipment. We replace our engines every 2000 hours to avoid breakdowns and these types of situations, which can be seen by the fact we have not had a breakdown in over four years. The good news is that the new engine is working well and we have had no other problems since.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, South Australia, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

To the team at OR you guys rock, doing the Northern Exposure tour was def the highlight of our Whitsunday holiday. Nathan n Sarah you guys are wicked.

Ocean Rafting is a must, must, must do if your in the Whitsundays.

11/10

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean Rafting also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Ocean Rafting? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ocean Rafting, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.