We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice apartment, good location and reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger to your Saves list
Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   33 Port Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Whitsunday Escape!
Brisbane, Australia
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Nice apartment, good location and reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

We got an out of season package deal for flights and accommodation and were pelasantly surprised at how well located and well appointed the apartment was. We would definitely go back there and would recommend it without hesitation. Early morning views over the harbour were beautiful and the area - at this time of year - was very quiet and peaceful.

Room Tip: Book an upper floor room for better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, April 10, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Boathouse Apartmets.
March is a nice quiet time to be in Airlie Beach as you said.
The view is lovely over the marina any time of day, but to wake up to that view is wonderful.

Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you back to the Boathouse next time you visit Airlie Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    26
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
48
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 27, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in a three bedroom apartment for one night before boarding a charter yacht and the we stayed for one night, again in a three bedroom apartment, after we got off the boat and both times it was just great! Rooms we're clean, spacious, great views and luxurious. Most importantly, both stays we arrived early and upon asking if there was any chance of an early check in it was no problem at all. Instead of trying to kill 2 hrs in tropical QLD heat we were in our air conditioned apartment relaxed and happy! Thank-you Boathouse!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, March 29, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your 2 nights with us at the Boathouse Apartments.
I am pleased we were able to accommodate an early check in for you on both occasions.
Check in time is normally 2 pm, but on some occasions, as with yours, if our arriving guests rooms are ready before then, we are happy to oblige with an early check in.

More and more ocean going adventurers are using our Apartments as a stop over between destinations to freshen up and revitalize on either side of their journey.

Thank you again, and hopefully we will see you back at the Boathouse Apartments in the near future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Griffith, Australia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2014

My husband and I had a 4 night stay at Boathouse Apartments. We were allocated an apartment on the first floor. I asked if our room had an ocean view and I was told "yes". When we got to our room I excitedly went straight to the balcony to check it out, I was very disappointed, we had a partial view of the ocean but not what I was looking forward to. I went back to reception and asked if we could move to a higher floor for a better view but I was told no other apartments were available as they had not yet been cleaned after guests vacated that day. I'm not quite sure our room had been cleaned properly either as the kitchen bench was rather dirty! When we went out to the balcony again we noticed large ants crawling all over. I searched around for some insect spray but couldn't find any so we decided to go out for dinner and buy some spray on the way back. We gave the balcony a good spray and got rid of them. When we returned from having breakfast the following day I went into the second bedroom to get a towel and I noticed black marks on it (I thought it was mould) but when I looked more closely the marks were moving. I lifted the bed runner from the bed and there were ants crawling everywhere. These were tiny things but there were hundreds of them. I went down to reception to let them know, I also mentioned the ants on the balcony that we had sprayed the night before but there was no real response. She told me she would call maintenance and get them to attend to the problem. It occurs to me this must happen quite a lot. We waited a while but had to leave as we were going out on a tour so I told the receptionist where the ants were so they could fix the problem while we were gone. When we got back the ants were dead, the majority had been removed but there were still some dead ones over the bed. Linen had not been changed. The next day we had the little ants again, this time on the kitchen bench. I was not impressed with this, management needs to look at this problem and keep on top of it!

It was very strange that every day when we returned from an outing our kitchen garbage bin had been emptied but nothing else had been done, not even fresh towels. If the rooms are not serviced I would rather cleaners stay out of the room completely and let the guests empty the bins when they go out each day, surely this would make more sense and would be less of an intrusion. Why just bother to empty the bin?

There were good points about this place. It's proximity to the main street and restaurants etc. It's an easy, level walk. Downstairs from the apartments is The Coffee Club which is handy for breakfast or a cup of coffee and Denmans Cellars Beer Cafe is also lovely for a drink and something to eat, food was divine!

As it was, we didn't end up spending much time in our apartment as we were out most of the days and every night for dinner. Don't think we'll stay here again, the ant experience and the staff's attitude has left me with a bad taste in my mouth!

Room Tip: Request a room on the third floor in advance, hopefully they'll come to the party! Room 301 woul...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, March 26, 2014
Thank you for your valued feed back regarding your recent stay with us at the Boathouse Apartments

My apologies for the ant problem you experienced during your stay.
Unfortunately anywhere in the far north, ants can be a random problem, even when the rooms are cleaned to a good standard.

At the Boathouse, we do get the property treated on a regular basis as a precautionary measure against the creepy crawlies.
We do not like to spray the rooms before arrivals as a precaution, due to fact that the number of guests that are allergic to insect sprays seem to be increasing.

We are non-serviced apartments, unless a guest stays 5 nights or more, in which case they will receive a midstay service(change of bedding and toweling)

House keeping empty the kitchen bins each day to stop food odours and also to minimize the chance of getting ants.
Our guests are welcome to leave thier rubbish outside the door for collection, or they can just put the do not disturb sign on the door if they do not want house keeping to enter the room.

Thank you again for your feedback, and hopefully you will consider us next time you visit Airlie Beach.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toowoomba, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Stayed 5 nights in 2 bed apartment with my husband and daughter. Beautiful location and reception staff friendly and helpful ....... But, I had to go to go to reception for additional dishwasher powder and laundry detergent, although the bins in the kitchen were emptied every day the bins in the bathrooms were not and there seemed to be no other servicing of the room other than the bins being emptied ....... After 5 days with 3 people I would expect toilet rolls to be replenished (4 rolls between 3 people for 5 days is not enough), tea bags, sugar, shampoo / shower gel replenished etc. I don't really expect to keep running up and down to reception for these basics. Also, asked the lady servicing the rooms to change our bath mats and hand towels on day four and came back to room 5 hours later to find 4 fresh bath towels (not required) on the dining table and the dirty / wet bath mats and hand towels lying on bathroom floors (I'd left them on the side of the bath for collection. Not sure what the room servicing procedure is, but, didn't expect none at all other than bins emptied.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for providing valuable feed back on your recent stay with us at the Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger.

As we are self contained, non-serviced apartments, the house keepers will only empty the rubbish in the kitchen each day. We feel that it is a matter of not intruding to much into the more private sanctuaries of our guests, being the bathrooms and bedrooms on a daily basis.

If our guests stay 5 nights or more, the room will receive a midstay clean, at which point the towels and bedding will be changed and the amenities will be replenished.

If our guests require extra amenities outside this arrangement, and the house keepers are still on shift, we are happy to deliver such items. If reception is called outside these times, our guests may need to come to reception to collect extra amenities so we do not leave the front office unattended.

Thank you again and hopefully we can welcome you bacjk in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hobart, Australia
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We stayed in the four bedroom rooftop penthouse and it was pure luxury. Hollywood A-listers would feel right at home here. It has everything you could possibly want or need. Beautifully appointed with an eclectic mix of modern and stylish furnishings. HUGE living areas. Great view. Outdoor hot tub. Lots of bi-fold doors to enjoy the great outdoors while inside. Big TV. Each bedroom with its own luxurious bathroom (with amazing bath tubs!). Which makes this penthouse the perfect place for a group of friends or four couples. Divide the cost with others and it actually works out to be great value. Chefs will love the kitchen. But we barely used it. There were great eateries downstairs - we especially liked tapas and beers at Denman Cellars. It's a short walk into town - if you want to be right in the middle of the action of Airlie Beach then this might not be the place for you. But if you're looking for somewhere quiet, and private, and luxurious, away from the backpackers and bustle of the main strip, then the Outrigger is a perfect choice. We didn't want to leave.

Room Tip: Book the four-bedroom penthouse with a group of friends/four couples and you get to enjoy the luxury...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, March 8, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review you stay with us in November last year.
The 4 bedroom penthouse is a very impressive and spacious apartment.
As you mentioned, if you have the 8 people staying (max 9) it becomes very reasonably priced.
We believe that we have the best location in Airlie Beach, being a short flat walk to almost everything you need access to.
With the new Woolworths about to open in the middle of town, and when the new Cruise Whitsunday terminal opens here at the Port Of Airlie mid year, the Boathouse Apartment's location becomes even more attractive than it already is.

Anyone reading this please remember that we have a strict NO PARTY POLICY, here at the Boathouse Apartments.
So if you plan on using your apartment as a function/party room please consider elsewhere.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Spectacular apartment and setting by the Airlie Beach Marina.

We purchased 4 nights at these apartments on the basis of their off-season special. Suffice to say we were flabbergasted at its quality.

The apartment has 2 bedrooms at opposite ends of the apartment, which is perfect to 2 couples. Each bedroom has it's own bathroom and facilities. The second bathroom also contains laundry facilities. Keep in mind that the apartments are not cleaned throughout the stay.

The apartment itself contains full kitchen facilities, including oven, stove, dishwasher, microwave and fridge. All kitchen utensils and pots, pans, etc included.

There is a full dining table both within the apartment and on the balcony for 4 people facing the marina.

There are 2 main shops on the ground level; a coffee club and a beer garden / cafe` type store.

The pool and surrounding facilities are clean and well maintained. There is also secure underground parking which is included free of charge.

The apartments are located approximately 5 minute walk to the main strip of Airlie and close to the beaches and shopping. Coach and Island tours also do pickups from the front door.

I would definitely return to these apartments if I was to return to Airlie.

Room Tip: Try to get an apartment on the top level as it will give you the most spectacular view of the marina...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, February 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us at the Boathouse Apartments.

The apartments usually represent good value, so when you consider the super special that you discovered, I can understand why you were flabbergasted.
The apartments are great for everyone, from a single traveller to 2 or 3 couples in one of our 3 bedroom apartments and of course families.

The fact that we are just a few minutes walk from the hub of Airlie Beach is a huge bonus for us and our guests.

Thank you again for your review, and as you said, if you come back to Airlie we will look forward to welcoming you back to the Boathouse Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2014

The Boathouse Apartments were in a good location to walk into town and the apartments were clean and well set out. However it was let down by the kitchen utensils - we couldn't cook anything as everything stuck solid to the pans, even with copious amounts of olive oil. It would have been great if we'd been able to have a decent fry pan - if you're going to have a fully equipped kitchen at least provide pans that are usable if people want to cook. The appliances are also not standard and the manuals were hidden away in one of the cupboards. The 'king sized bed' was just two single beds pushed together which was sometimes uncomfortable due to the ridge in the middle. The receptionist when we got there was quite abrupt to both us and the family checking in before us. Other than those few things we had a great stay - great location and well furnished rooms.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at the Boathouse Apartments.
Apologies for the lack of warm welcome you received, we are always striving to be the best at what we do.
We have been gradually replacing any of our expired pans, so again apologies if you were stuck with a not so user friendly one.
The king bed is two singles either zipped or velcroed together, so if any guests require single beds, it is possible to accommodate them.

I am pleased that your were still able to enjoy your stay with us despite your concerns.

Thank you again for making the effort to provide us with your valued feedback.
i have no doubt that next time you stay with us, you will enjoy the real Boathouse experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger

Address: 33 Port Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the water’s edge at the new Port of Airlie Marina, The Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger is a short stroll from the heart of Airlie Beach’s entertainment, shopping and dining precincts and the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon. Featuring spacious two and three bedroom self-contained apartments with every room offering views across the marina out to the Coral Sea. Guest facilities include a resort-style swimming pool, tennis court, children’s playground and tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.