We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and lovely room with view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger to your Saves list
Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   33 Port Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Whitsunday Escape!
Yeppoon, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great location and lovely room with view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

This place really is great. Its a 300mtr walk to the centre of Airlie (flat walk, no hills) and its far enough away that its very peaceful and no noise from pubs/clubs. The room was very nice and modern. We stayed in a 2 bedroom which has 2 bathrooms. Great undercover secure parking. Everything is very modern. We had breakfast included at the coffee club downstairs which was also fantastic. The only thing I wasn't happy with was in the second bathroom it was like it wasn't cleaned very well - rubbish was still in the bin from previous person, floor wasn't mopped, and there was a large stain on the valance.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, December 10, 2012
Thank you for your review on the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, we are delighted that you found our resort to be easily accessible to town and that our rooms were nice and modern. I do apologise for any shortcomings in service from the housekeeping department and have addressed your points of concern to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

150 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    104
    26
    15
    3
    2
See reviews for
52
48
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The apartment was beautiful. Just as good as all the reviews said.
Everything was new and pristine, it was very spacious (bigger than our 2-bedroom flat at home!), with comfortable pillows and a comfortable sofa, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies and a well-equipped kitchen. It also overlooked the marina with beautiful views. The location was quiet, with an easy 5 minute walk to shops and restaurants on the high street.

The apartment was excellent and would've easily gotten a 5-star rating from me except:
1. The shower hot water ran out 2 mornings in a row. A cold shower would have been fine later in the day to cool down, but first thing in the morning I need a hot shower. It didn't seem dependent on the amount of hot water used, as I didn't even have time to rinse the shampoo from my hair.
2. They did not clean on the day that housekeeping said they would, nor the next day, so we did not get any fresh towels during our 6-day stay. It would have been better to have our expectations set for this, but as we explicitly asked housekeeping whether anyone would clean, we were disappointed when nobody turned up.

Would I recommend Outrigger apartments to a friend? Definitely yes. But I would suggest they take a shower before bed rather than first thing in the morning, and be prepared to nudge the staff about the cleaning.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger.
I do apologize for the short comings you experienced during your stay.
In regards to the hot water scenario, those issues we had with the gas have now being remedied.
In regards to the lack of housekeeping service, there is no excuse for that and we sincerely apologize for not living up to your expectations or our usual high standards.

We do thank you for still being able to recommend The Boathouse By Outrigger as your preferred accommodation in Airlie Beach, and we look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring you get the true Boathouse experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Queensland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in a two bedroom apartment with our two young kids. The apartment was lovely, fresh and modern. Both bedrooms have their own bathroom which we found handy. Couldn't really rate the service as we only had contact on check in and out, and the reception service both times were lovely. Made a room request prior to arriving to have a third floor room which was accommodated. For what we wanted this apartment was great. If you are staying for a few nights you will need to bring a few household things like washing up liquid, laundry powder etc. Had a few meals at the Coffee Club downstairs and this was convenient and the meals/service were good. Pool is a bit of a hike if you are staying in the wing on the Shute Harbour side, but it wasn't a problem for us. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your positive review on the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 2 bedroom apartments and that we were able to meet your specific room requests. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Lovely rooms, everything was new, there was a beautiful view of the marina, however very poor room service, the staff did not clean the rooms at all, didn't even wipe down the sinks and left dirty towels that were obviously ready to be laundered on the floor in a pile for days. Also there was minimal tea coffee and sugar provided and when that ran out on the second day they were not replaced. Other essential items such as toilet paper were not replaced and garbage bins in the bathrooms were not emptied.
And when we asked about having our towels swapped on the third day we were told there would be an additional fee per towel! There was one or two helpful reception staff but that was all. Overall the rooms were lovely but the house keeping/service was aweful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review. As we are a fully self-contained apartment complex, we do not service clean rooms on a daily basis as a hotel would. We do however provide cleaning amenities in each room and provide mid stay cleans for stays longer than 5 nights+. I do apologise if there was any inconvenience caused throughout your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012 via mobile

Rooms had great view, disappointed with overall cleanliness , stayed for 4 nights, linen not changed once, bins not emptied, no clean towels, no toilet paper refills or replacement of general amenities -- asked for clean towels and expected to pay extra $2 per towel. Despite this, rooms were beautifully furnished great location and beautiful views.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported by our Housekeeping team regarding the bins not being emptied. As we are a fully self-contained apartment complex, we do provide a mid stay clean (linen and towel replacement and general tidy-up) for stays longer then 5 nights+, however we do not service rooms on a daily basis. We hope that this did not deter from your experience at the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at the boathouse with many others for a wedding and it was fantastic all the rooms have great views it's modern fresh and heaps of space for the family to gather in the rooms the 2 bed is ample for 4 adults but the three bed is amazing and perfect to share with family or friends then the penthouse!!!! Space luxury well equipped kitchen jacuzzi comfy beds massive baths in all units. There is a pool area with a BBQ and plenty of comfy chairs to lay about tennis court and restaurants a cellar and a few dress shops in the complex, walking distance to main street, sailing club and lagoon pool. Service was amazing the staff friendly what more could you want

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger and that our pool, BBQ and tennis facilities met your satisfaction throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the 2 bedroom apartment for 11 nights we had an excellent room with outstanding views out to the coral sea. Our apartment was very clean and had all the amenties that you need. The resort has three eating places down stairs and we could not fault the service or the meals . The houskeeping staff were very friendly and nothing was a bother to them .Over all this is the place to stay while in airlie beach. I might also had that the pool area was lovely. Well done out rigger.

Room Tip: ask for a room on airlie side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review on the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger

Address: 33 Port Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on the water’s edge at the new Port of Airlie Marina, The Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger is a short stroll from the heart of Airlie Beach’s entertainment, shopping and dining precincts and the famous Airlie Beach Lagoon. Featuring spacious two and three bedroom self-contained apartments with every room offering views across the marina out to the Coral Sea. Guest facilities include a resort-style swimming pool, tennis court, children’s playground and tour desk. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.