We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Spacious apartments, lack of clarity on services” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mantra Boathouse Apartments

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Mantra Boathouse Apartments to your Saves list
Mantra Boathouse Apartments
4.5 of 5 Condominium   |   33 Port Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia (Formerly Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger)   |  
Hotel amenities
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Spacious apartments, lack of clarity on services”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

The apartment was beautiful. Just as good as all the reviews said.
Everything was new and pristine, it was very spacious (bigger than our 2-bedroom flat at home!), with comfortable pillows and a comfortable sofa, 2 bathrooms, 2 balconies and a well-equipped kitchen. It also overlooked the marina with beautiful views. The location was quiet, with an easy 5 minute walk to shops and restaurants on the high street.

The apartment was excellent and would've easily gotten a 5-star rating from me except:
1. The shower hot water ran out 2 mornings in a row. A cold shower would have been fine later in the day to cool down, but first thing in the morning I need a hot shower. It didn't seem dependent on the amount of hot water used, as I didn't even have time to rinse the shampoo from my hair.
2. They did not clean on the day that housekeeping said they would, nor the next day, so we did not get any fresh towels during our 6-day stay. It would have been better to have our expectations set for this, but as we explicitly asked housekeeping whether anyone would clean, we were disappointed when nobody turned up.

Would I recommend Outrigger apartments to a friend? Definitely yes. But I would suggest they take a shower before bed rather than first thing in the morning, and be prepared to nudge the staff about the cleaning.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank EEP447
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this review, January 24, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit to The Boathouse Apartments By Outrigger.
I do apologize for the short comings you experienced during your stay.
In regards to the hot water scenario, those issues we had with the gas have now being remedied.
In regards to the lack of housekeeping service, there is no excuse for that and we sincerely apologize for not living up to your expectations or our usual high standards.

We do thank you for still being able to recommend The Boathouse By Outrigger as your preferred accommodation in Airlie Beach, and we look forward to welcoming you back and ensuring you get the true Boathouse experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
North Queensland
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for four nights in a two bedroom apartment with our two young kids. The apartment was lovely, fresh and modern. Both bedrooms have their own bathroom which we found handy. Couldn't really rate the service as we only had contact on check in and out, and the reception service both times were lovely. Made a room request prior to arriving to have a third floor room which was accommodated. For what we wanted this apartment was great. If you are staying for a few nights you will need to bring a few household things like washing up liquid, laundry powder etc. Had a few meals at the Coffee Club downstairs and this was convenient and the meals/service were good. Pool is a bit of a hike if you are staying in the wing on the Shute Harbour side, but it wasn't a problem for us. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oan_14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you for your positive review on the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay in one of our 2 bedroom apartments and that we were able to meet your specific room requests. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Lovely rooms, everything was new, there was a beautiful view of the marina, however very poor room service, the staff did not clean the rooms at all, didn't even wipe down the sinks and left dirty towels that were obviously ready to be laundered on the floor in a pile for days. Also there was minimal tea coffee and sugar provided and when that ran out on the second day they were not replaced. Other essential items such as toilet paper were not replaced and garbage bins in the bathrooms were not emptied.
And when we asked about having our towels swapped on the third day we were told there would be an additional fee per towel! There was one or two helpful reception staff but that was all. Overall the rooms were lovely but the house keeping/service was aweful.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anstvayrei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Thank you for your review. As we are a fully self-contained apartment complex, we do not service clean rooms on a daily basis as a hotel would. We do however provide cleaning amenities in each room and provide mid stay cleans for stays longer than 5 nights+. I do apologise if there was any inconvenience caused throughout your stay and hope to welcome you back to the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Rooms had great view, disappointed with overall cleanliness , stayed for 4 nights, linen not changed once, bins not emptied, no clean towels, no toilet paper refills or replacement of general amenities -- asked for clean towels and expected to pay extra $2 per towel. Despite this, rooms were beautifully furnished great location and beautiful views.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Keana J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger. I regret the shortcomings in service you have reported by our Housekeeping team regarding the bins not being emptied. As we are a fully self-contained apartment complex, we do provide a mid stay clean (linen and towel replacement and general tidy-up) for stays longer then 5 nights+, however we do not service rooms on a daily basis. We hope that this did not deter from your experience at the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the boathouse with many others for a wedding and it was fantastic all the rooms have great views it's modern fresh and heaps of space for the family to gather in the rooms the 2 bed is ample for 4 adults but the three bed is amazing and perfect to share with family or friends then the penthouse!!!! Space luxury well equipped kitchen jacuzzi comfy beds massive baths in all units. There is a pool area with a BBQ and plenty of comfy chairs to lay about tennis court and restaurants a cellar and a few dress shops in the complex, walking distance to main street, sailing club and lagoon pool. Service was amazing the staff friendly what more could you want

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eatloveprayplay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay at the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger and that our pool, BBQ and tennis facilities met your satisfaction throughout your stay. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

We stayed at the 2 bedroom apartment for 11 nights we had an excellent room with outstanding views out to the coral sea. Our apartment was very clean and had all the amenties that you need. The resort has three eating places down stairs and we could not fault the service or the meals . The houskeeping staff were very friendly and nothing was a bother to them .Over all this is the place to stay while in airlie beach. I might also had that the pool area was lovely. Well done out rigger.

Room Tip: ask for a room on airlie side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gina b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Thank you for such a positive review on the Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to accommodate you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

Rooms are great - modern and fresh and the location is perfect with just a short walk to the main street at Airlie Beach. The planning of the hotel is shocking however, with no privacy in the rooms as each balcony looks onto the other, which also creates a great deal of noise (even when the doors are closed) So you can not enjoy the fact you are on the harbour with open doors and blinds as the noise is too much and people can see into your room easily.

Room Tip: I am not sure there are any good rooms as in private and quiet. The rooms asthetics and interior ar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWriterKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AABManager, General Manager at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for your review and for bringing your issue to my attention. I invite you to contact me directly to discuss in more detail and then I can address these issues accordingly. Kind regards, Daniel Jones General Manager Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger 07 4841 4110.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Airlie Beach
1.1 mi away
at Marina Shores
at Marina Shores
#3 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 318 reviews
0.2 mi away
Airlie Beach Hotel
Airlie Beach Hotel
#4 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 313 reviews
0.7 mi away
Coral Sea Resort
Coral Sea Resort
#1 of 7 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Peppers Airlie Beach
Peppers Airlie Beach
#26 of 51 in Airlie Beach
4.0 of 5 stars 625 reviews
0.2 mi away
Pinnacles Resort
Pinnacles Resort
#6 of 51 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 358 reviews
0.2 mi away
Portside Whitsunday
Portside Whitsunday
#3 of 51 in Airlie Beach
4.5 of 5 stars 172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mantra Boathouse Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mantra Boathouse Apartments

Address: 33 Port Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia (Formerly Boathouse Apartments by Outrigger)
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 51 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Mantra Boathouse Apartments 4.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated right on Port of Airlie Marina, Mantra Boathouse Apartments are a great accommodation choice. You can choose from a Two or Three Bedroom Apartment, fully equipped with everything you need like full-sized refrigerators/freezers, dishwashers, microwaves and stovetops as well as ultra-comfy beds and private balconies giving you a sensational view over the endless Coral Sea. These apartments are simply ideal for couples, groups or the family. You’ll find these spacious Airlie Beach apartments have room to spread out and relax. The separate sitting and dining areas, as well as roomy bedrooms make for a really comfortable stay; and it doesn’t stop when you step outside your door. There’s a children’s playground as well as a swimming pool and sundeck, get a little exercise up on the tennis court and throw some snags on the barbie and enjoy. Parking is free and you’re close to everything Airlie Beach has to offer. You’ll love the warm and friendly staff at Mantra Boathouse Apartments, the tour desk can help you with all of your day trips and if you’re in the mood, why not do some exploring in a rental car, just ask reception. There are many tour operators who will sail you around the Whitsundays - 74 fascinating islands of which you’ll never tire. Snorkel the Great Barrier Reef or take a scuba tour and dive deeper among tens of thousands of species of the most amazing fish, brilliantly coloured corals and all sorts of marine life. Airlie Beach is home to some excellent bars and restaurants – Cha’Mah Moroccan Bar and Restaurant, Denman Cellars Beer Cafe and The Coffee Club are right on the marina outside your resort. The Great Barrier Reef is one of the seven natural wonders of the world, combine this with Mantra Boathouse Apartments and you’re bound to have the best holiday ever. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Mantra Boathouse Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mantra Boathouse Apartments Airlie Beach/Whitsunday Islands

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing