We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hot rocks” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar

Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar
366 Shute habour road | Close to the New Woolworths, Central Airlie Beach, Free Parking, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 7 4946 5745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Bar, Seafood, Pub, Diner, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar is located in the main street of Airlie Beach. We are set back slightly from the main street which provides you with a quiet, comfortable and at dinner romantic venue, Located in front of the main walkway to Airlie Central, home to the most subtle Woolworths store in Australia. Open 7 days a week for breakfast, lunch and dinner, (Kitchen operates 7:30am to 9:30pm daily). Fully licensed .... A wonderful place to sit, relax and enjoy wonderful food, great service and good music. Known for the best Coffee in the Whitsundays and home to the unique "Hot Rock" dinning experience, the highest quality steaks and the best ever seafood. Come for breakfast, back for lunch and again for dinner...... It's the best! & We also offer Icy Rocks, frozen Volcanic Rock serving Boutique Ice Cream ... Yummy.... This is as good as it gets! Live music Sunday evenings. Come and enjoy our brand new modern Al fresco deck.
Mackay
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Hot rocks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We went for the second time and it wax as good as we remembered. The hot rocks are areally nice expirience and rhe amount of food is very good for the price :)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Second time around and loving it ... greta to hear! See you guys soon when you are next up from Mackay... Lawrence
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

458 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    280
    87
    39
    30
    22
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Airlie Beach, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Highly recommend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

Really enjoyed our dinner experience in the restaurant. Beautiful relaxing environment with friendly staff.
We eat quite healthy so we were happy to find grass fed meat with sweet potatoes on HOT ROCK. Great idea!

We can highly recommend this place for your breakfast, lunch or dinner when you are in Airlie Beach.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Glad you like the new venue - its so cool eh! and fresh food. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tweed Heads, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Hot Rock Dining Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

As a frequent business traveller I find it hard to find reasonably priced healthy food, Village Cafe was a golden find in a strip full of greasy backpacker cheap eats. The biggest challenge I had was choosing what to order everything on the menu looked devine!!! Hot Rock dining is nothing like I have ever experienced before and what's not to love about cooking your meat fresh as you go! The staff were more then accommodating with my dietary requirements with plenty of gluten free options, the friendly service was also well received by both myself and my travel companion. Thank you Village Cafe for a great dinner after a long hard day of work!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 13, 2013
Amanda, thank you for such a nice review very glad you enjoyed everything, we are quite different a little tucked away .... but right in the centre of the main street. See you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Feels fresh”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Was looking for some where fresh and healthy to eat and this ticked all the boxes. Feels relaxed and modern. Hot rock cooking so much fun. Loved it in every way. Thanks

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Hi and so it is ... fresh, fresh, fresh. Glad you like the Hot Rock experience!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitsundays
1 review
“New tapas menu.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

As a business owner in Airlie Beach I can fully recommend Village Cafe Restaurant and Bar for catering or entertaining your friends, the newly refurbished dining area is both atmospheric and friendly, and the new tapas menu is sensational and beautifully presented, Shirley and Lawrence have put together a fantastic menu. Worth the effort to look for it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Village_Cafe_Rest, Owner at Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
Thanks for the review - TO all readers .... looking for us center of the main street back from Macers and opposite BWS .... come see our new Al fresco deck and bar its Airlies best!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Village Cafe Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.