We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and good quality with a few slight problems” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Airlie Beach Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Airlie Beach Apartments to your Saves list
Airlie Beach Apartments
1 Golden Orchid Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia   |  
Hotel amenities
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Good value and good quality with a few slight problems”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

Spent two nights here last week - overall a good experience. The manager is very helpful and friendly and was very welcoming. We arrived at 2000 and there was no problem with checkin.

The room itself - a studio with double bed, sink, hob, microwave and bathroom was comfortable and good value for the $105 per night. The apartment was clean and tidy.

In addition, we needed to stay a third night at very short notice; this was quickly and easily arranged.

The two slight problems. Firstly, a couple of the lights did not work and as a result the room was fairly dull in the evenings. We let the manager know. She thanked us as the cleaners do not check on this and report back to her. I felt that this should be a basic check done before guests arrive.

The second issue I was not happy about at all. On the fridge there is a notice stating that all dishes must be washed by guests before departure. If guests do not do this, it is suggested that it will cost $50 for cleaners to do it. While not an unreasonable request that rooms are left clean and tidy, the dishes in our room were not particularly clean so I had to wash al the dishes at the start - and the end - of our stay to avoid paying the $50 charge.

The VERY loud alarm of the YHA next door at three in the morning was a real pain. It lasted about 10 minutes

Overall, good value, good service spoiled slightly by easily avoidable inconveniences.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    27
    5
    2
    6
See reviews for
18
46
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

Not only was the accommodation fabulous but the service was super friendly and above and beyond. Very neat and tidy, all the comforts of home and close to the heart of Airlie. I will definitely be recommending Airlie Beach Apartments and I wouldn't look past staying there the next time we make it up that way.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

My friends and I arrived late around 9pm and the hostess was so nice and patient to us. She was friendly to help us to arrange and book ticket for 2 days trips with a discounted rate which saves money. The pool is nice and opened whole day. The 2 bedrooms are clean and the living room is large with TV and 2 bed sofa which can take 6 people maximum in a room good for a group of friends and families. It also has a kitchen with fridge, freezer and kitchenware so we can cook to save the money on food. The shower room is clean, but no wash machine which is the only shortcoming, but there’s a store of coins washing at nearby just crossing the street. The apartment is located at town centre and we can walk to everywhere, shops, supermarket, restaurants, bars, lagoon, beach and so forth. And it is close the Abel Point harbor as well about 5 minutes driving where you can take ferries to Great Barrier Reef, Whitehaven Beach and the islands. I would like to recommend it to my friends and anyone who will stay overnight at Airlie Beach, especially Chinese and overseas travellers.

Room Tip: Calling the apartmen number directly for booking will receive a discount than through the internet h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We stayed in a QB self contained room with ensuite and were very happy here. The owner (Kate) and her daughter (Bronte) gave excellent service beyond what was necessary (including a lift to the marina!). What we were especially grateful for was making the effort to wait list on the Cruise Whitsunday's Great Barrier Reef Adventure trip to Hardy Reef when it was fully booked. The location is one street back from the main street so it handy to everything but lacked the noise of being close to the main backpacker hostel/ bars. Thank god for that as they get pretty noisy most nights. I heartily recommend this hotel to all budget travellers.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

My partner and I stayed there recently with another couple. We were there only for one night as a stop off before starting a sailing trip.

The owners were incredibly help and let us have a late check out and saved us a taxi fare the next morning by driving us to Abel Point Marina to meet our boat.

The apartments were clean and central to everything. We took the short walk to the man street where we did some souvenir shopping and had dinner. The next morning we took the same trip for breakfast and enjoyed marvelling at the waterfront and the man made lagoon.

Again, I must say, the owners went out of their way to be helpful and kind.

Room Tip: The front rooms are close to a busy road and a bit noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeuwarden, The Netherlands
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2013

This stay was great. The apartment is modern, comfortable, cozy and clean. The personnel is friendly and helpful (for example, they delivered special towels for the pool area). The friendly hostess arranged a great sail trip for the next day, and even arranged a discount because she was late with arranging the trip. We had a great sailing trip the next day.

We paid 105 dollars a night for our studio (with a "private" pool in front). Small con's were the lack of a frying pan in the kitchenette, and the print (50 dollar fine when not cleaning properly) on the refrigerator. Overall, this was a great stay, very comfortable, friendly, and very close to the town's centre (2 minute walk)..

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We stayed at Airlie Beach apartment for 4 nights. We came to the resort purely to visit the whitsunday island s and experience the tropics. The staff at the apartments were fantastic and so helpful. Book your trips with them as they can offer great advise. They were very friendly and approachable and great to talk to.

The location of the apartments was perfect. Right next to the main shops and restaurants and just a short walk to the lagoon. Abel point marina is just a short walk away where you can get a boat over to all of the islands. I would recommend an evening at Sorrento's restaurant at Abel Point as it is a great spot for the sunset with live music and the food is great!

We stayed in a studio apartment which was perfect for us. We had everything we needed. Kettle, toaster, fridge, freezer, hairdryer, iron and ironing board. The bed was more that satisfactory and we enjoyed an early night in watching a moving on the TV!!

Would definitely recommend these apartments. We would stay there agin if we are ever lucky enough to return to OZ!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Airlie Beach Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airlie Beach Apartments

Address: 1 Golden Orchid Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
Location: Australia > Queensland > Airlie Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 48 Specialty Lodging in Airlie Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Airlie Beach Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Airlie Beach Apartments Whitsunday Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlie Beach Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.