We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“only wish we live nearby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrento Restaurant and Bar

Sorrento Restaurant and Bar
Abel Point Marina, Shop 22, Building 5, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
(07) 4946 7454
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 69 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“only wish we live nearby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

We are seduced at the first encounter: an entree size seafood platter for two with very reasonable price. The chocolate drinks are great too. So we come back the second time, the foods are still great, the service are still great and the atmosphere are still great.

Only wish we live nearby.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    79
    19
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Pattaya, Thailand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A firm fan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014

We ate here before setting sail on our chartered yacht the following day. Superb location though unfortunately we were there slightly before the opening of the new balcony. I would return just to be able to enjoy a wine or two on what will undoubtedly be an excellent addition to the restaurant. My vegetarian pizza was excellent and good value. My husband's chicken with risotto meal was tasty but on the small side for the cost. Good selection of children's meals. Service was friendly though a little disorganised with several waitresses asking us the same questions. Nice vibe in the restaurant which was clearly a favourite with locals, always a good sign. The free wifi was a plus for us as well. No need to walk around the point in Airlie Beach proper if staying onboard for night, the best is right at Abel Point Marina.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Solid Service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Great place to eat breakfast, lunch or dinner when chartering a yacht through Abell Point Marina. We boarded our yacht the night before setting sail taking a short walk to the restaurant - very convenient. The place has a friendly, relaxed vibe with good food, live music and great view across Airlie Beach.

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mascot, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Would live here”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Came here on the first night after my wedding. Got the table I asked for, beautiful, peaceful night overlooking the water. Service was extremely good. Waitresses were polite, well mannered and well dressed. Food came out quicker than expected. My wife and I both ordered entree's, main and dessert. Went back two nights later to do it all over again. Will travel back to Airlie just for this restaurant.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
331 helpful votes 331 helpful votes
“Good food at reasonable prices but slow service and noisy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

With a newly built balcony on which to enjoy pre-meal drinks while taking in the commanding view of both the marina and bay, you can't complain about the location. Equally good is the quality of the food picked from a wide-ranging menu. However the service on a busy night is slow and, when crowded, the plethora of hard surfaces lining all walls and floors of the restaurant make for a very noisy environment - not the place for a romantic dinner for two or a quiet meal with good friends. So if you are both patient and willing to tolerate a lot of background noise, this is a good place to consume some nice classic Italian dishes. .

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Sorrento Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrento Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.