We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great waterside setting in AIrlie Beach” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sorrento Restaurant and Bar

Sorrento Restaurant and Bar
Abel Point Marina, Shop 22, Building 5, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
(07) 4946 7454
Improve this listing
Ranked #22 of 70 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Italian, Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great waterside setting in AIrlie Beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

Just a perfect setting at this time of year, food was good and service excellent. Sitting on the upstairs balcony watching the sunset, moon rise over Mandalay and the beautiful sea breeze makes this a great location for a night out. The service was really great and we all had seafood pasta which was good with fresh seafood. Can recommend the prawn and spanner crab linguine and a good Mojito. Prices are reasonable too. Just what you want in tropical paradise.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    79
    19
    17
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh seafood”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

Had lunch there today with clients and the seafood platter for two people for $99 was excellent. Staff were great, and the view was even better. Thank you

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hay Point, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The total package”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

WOW where to start - my partner and I stayed at the Shingley Beach Resort and were suggested to go here for dinner by the owner of the resort. The food was amazing, the views and scenery were blissful, the service could have been more frequent, we had to ask for drinks each time we wanted new ones.
We did return the next day and sat down stairs on the couches at the bar and ordered two lunch platters with drinks - AMAZING!!! I couldn't have asked for better quality and tasting food. LOVE it and we will be back

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

We had a very nice meal on the balcony and enjoyed the company of a baby gecko. Oysters natural with olive oil and lime - yum. Confit pork belly - delish. Semifreddo - tasty, particularly the berry layer. View from balcony magnificent and the staff very friendly and helpful. Overall a very nice meal and evening

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
195 reviews 195 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
126 helpful votes 126 helpful votes
“The best waiting staff in Australia?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2014

We arrived in Airlie Beach on Christmas Eve and wandered down to Sorrento on a reccommendation from the manager at Marina Shores. We were not actually sure if we were hungry or not, but decided to have a nibble of somthing and a drink.

We were warmly greeted by the staff, who found us a table. Our waitress was Ellis a young lass from England who was on absolute top form. She was bright, bubbley and happy to serve us just what we wanted, which happened to be a large sharing platter of cold meats and cheese, washed down with a bottle of red.

Ellis continued to entertain us throughout the meal, finding our British humour refreshing after dealing with so many Australians, who have thier own slant on life.

Excellent restaurant, great food, great wine and the best waiting staff we came accross during our 4 week trip. I left a decent tip, Merry Christmas to all at Sorrento.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sorrento Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Sorrento Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sorrento Restaurant and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.