We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a fantastic trip!!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S.V. Domino Private Charter

S.V. Domino Private Charter
Shingley Drive, Berth E3, Abel Point Marina (Meridian Marina) | Northern Abel Point Marina, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 7 4948 0084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 63 Activities in Airlie Beach
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day sail to the 'Best kept secret' of the Whitsunday's, Bali Hai Reef, located in the Whitsunday group of islands in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park, Queensland, Australia. Bali Hai Reef, is the most exclusive pristine reef in the Whitsunday Islands. Sail, explore, swim and snorkel with the most environmentally friendly cruise the Whitsunday's has to offer. 14.8 nautical miles from Airlie Beach is 'Bali Hai' is a tropical secluded paradise with magnificent fringing reef. Experperience real sailing in the Whitsunday's aboard DOMINO, a fast comfortable Lidgard 36 cruiser racer, one of the first displacement racing yachts built in New Zealand of double skin kauri by John Lidgard in 1976. Domino is owned and operated by Reg Eggers. As an owner, Reg takes great pride in ensuring guests treasure the experience sailing in Australia aboard S.V.Domino. It is the best experience the Great Barrier Reef has to offer. Be part of a group of only eight passengers or private charter the yacht for the day, catering for only small groups, this eco tourism experience will be cherished forever. One can also be part of the sailing, take the helm and have a go. Reg, is a New Zealand Coastal Master and also a Master Class 4 for those thinking of buying or hiring a yacht. Reg has a wealth of information to share. Domino departs Abell Point Marina at 9am and sails to 'Bali Hai'. Spend at least 2.5 hours on the island for lunch, snorkelling and exploring, then casually sail back to Airlie Beach arriving at approximately 5pm. Day sail in a group costs $180.00 per person, all inclusive of lunch, light beverages, EMC charges, snorkel gear etc. Private Charter rate for Skipper. crew and DOMINO, all inclusive is $1200.00 per day. ( prices effective 1 January 2014)
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“What a fantastic trip!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

We just finished a sailing trip with the S.V. Domino and it was absolutely incredible. The trip over to the island was initially beautiful and relaxing, and then very exciting and a lot of fun once we hit open waters and the wind picked up! The island is small and really lovely - we saw turtles off the beach and lots of fish and gorgeous soft coral during our snorkel. The visibility was not at its best due to recent weather conditions, but we still found the snorkelling lovely. Also, we were quite lucky as it was just our group booked in with S.V. Domino and so we had the boat and island all to ourselves - a very special experience! For lunch we were served more than we could finish - for the 3 of us there were probably 30 large, fresh banana prawns, mussels, smoked salmon, chicken, potato salad, and fresh salad. Keep in mind this is a SAILING trip - it is exciting and fun and you really feel the waves and wind. Be prepared to get a bit wet along the way. It does not feel the same as a ferry boat or catamaran - but that is part of the appeal. Also, with a maximum of 8 people per tour, this has got to be the closest thing available to a private charter and at a very reasonable price! Reg and Greg were fantastic. I highly recommend this trip to anyone who has ever wanted to experience sailing and all of the fun and excitement that goes with it - if you are particularly sensitive to sea sickness, or are adverse to winds and waves, this may not be the best trip for you. The SV domino sailing trip was definitely one of the best experiences I have had in Australia since I moved here 4 years ago.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    204
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Sailing to our own little Paradise on 7/05/14”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We booked a day trip with Reg after finding it on Lonely Planet guide and reading the great reviews here.
I had never sailed before and it was a great experience!
We arrived a bit late to the meeting point and he waited for us. We had the boat for ourselves, we were so lucky!
Reg and Greg treated us really nice offering us drinks and letting us enjoy the boat.
It took 2 and a half lovely hours to sail to Bali Hai, a little island. There was nobody else so we had the Island for ourselves too!!!
I had never done snorkelling before & Reg provided us with all the gear and told us where to snorkel to get the best experience. Greg was really good explaining the technic and helping us to get ready. We had 1 hour and a half of great snorkelling! The visibility was really good and the reef was healthier than in other parts we visited on other days.
After snorkelling, Greg & Reg set up our lunch on the Island. The food was really nice, fresh & tasty (seafood & chicken, Greek salad & potato salad) and loads of it! So we had lunch on our own! It was like having our own little paradise to enjoy!
After lunch we snorkelled back to the boat and we fed the Bat fish.
Then we sailed back to Airlie Beach & Reg let us have a go at steering the boat! Greg helped us to get it right.
It was an amazing experience & I highly recommend it to anybody!
Reg & Greg treated us really well and they're friendly and easy going people.
We went on a cheaper trip with more people the next day to compare, and it's certainly a very different experience.
The snorkelling experience was better at Bali Hai. Sailing is more relaxing & less noisy than going on a power/motorised boat. Reg & Greg give you a personalised service and they have a wealth of knowledge to share. And if you're lucky, you get the boat & the Island just for yourself! It's worth every penny!
If I ever go back, I'll do it again, no doubt!
Whether you go on more commercial day cruises or not, sailing with Reg on SV Domino is definitely a must-do!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Sailing Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2014

We booked this trip due to the review here on Trip Advisor. The 8 person limit made this a very intimate trip. The weather forecast for the day was not ideal for snorkelling, but good for sailing. Reg and Greg were great hosts, ensuring that we were enjoying ourselves the whole time. As mentioned in other posts, the food is REALLY good. As it was raining, Reg and Greg set-up a shelter for us to eat under. The island also looked a bit worse for wear after the cyclone had come through!

The snorkelling was good, although the visability was not the best due to the overcast conditions. It was good that Reg and Greg took the time to make sure that all our gear fitted properly too.

Our friends had not been sailing before, and when one asked for a life jacket, they were told that they were uncomfortable and that they wouldn't need one. This is true, but giving them the option would have nice, especially as it was rough, and they were worried about the boat tipping over, which we were assured was impossible (also true). They also wanted to move to a different position to sit beside us on the boat, but were told that they were already in the best spot, and that they shouldn't move. To be fair Reg was right on all these occassions and tried his best to reassure them.

It was a good thing that Reg had jackets as it did get rather wet and windy! I would definitely recommend this trip, it was unfortunate that the weather wasn't better!

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
““Best experience in a long time””
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2014

Many thanks to skipper Reg and very obliging deck hand Greg for a great day sailing to the reef at Black Island. Snorkeling on the reef was a fabulous experience, the colours and shapes of the Coral were absolutely spectacular and worth every minute it took to get to the Island. We were rewarded with a great seafood lunch prepared by Reg’s wife Julie.
Regards, George

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing day in paradise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2014

We were one of only 2 other couples on this trip. Apart from the exclusive feel to this cruise, there were several other things that impressed me.
1.The trip was timed so that we were the only ones snorkeling on the little island.
2. This had also been timed to coincide with the lowest tides so that visibility was maximal . 3.Lunch was delicious
4. The coral was much nicer than what we had seen on another tour.
5.The fish were amazing and I saw a green turtle and some huge bat fish
6. There were toilets on the boat and at the island
7. The staff are super friendly
8. Everything was included: stinger suits, flippers etc cool drinks whenever you wanted, tea and coffee.
9. Sailing is much more peaceful than motoring
10. Toilets! Just thought I'd repeat that since we were told on another tour that if we wanted to go we should use "the world's greatest toilet"(the ocean)

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.V. Domino Private Charter also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to S.V. Domino Private Charter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S.V. Domino Private Charter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.