We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want to sail and not hear a motor, this is the tour for you” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S.V. Domino Private Charter

S.V. Domino Private Charter
Shingley Drive, Berth E3, Abel Point Marina (Meridian Marina) | Northern Abel Point Marina, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 7 4948 0084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 62 Activities in Airlie Beach
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day sail to the 'Best kept secret' of the Whitsunday's, Bali Hai Reef, located in the Whitsunday group of islands in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park, Queensland, Australia. Bali Hai Reef, is the most exclusive pristine reef in the Whitsunday Islands. Sail, explore, swim and snorkel with the most environmentally friendly cruise the Whitsunday's has to offer. 14.8 nautical miles from Airlie Beach is 'Bali Hai' is a tropical secluded paradise with magnificent fringing reef. Experperience real sailing in the Whitsunday's aboard DOMINO, a fast comfortable Lidgard 36 cruiser racer, one of the first displacement racing yachts built in New Zealand of double skin kauri by John Lidgard in 1976. Domino is owned and operated by Reg Eggers. As an owner, Reg takes great pride in ensuring guests treasure the experience sailing in Australia aboard S.V.Domino. It is the best experience the Great Barrier Reef has to offer. Be part of a group of only eight passengers or private charter the yacht for the day, catering for only small groups, this eco tourism experience will be cherished forever. One can also be part of the sailing, take the helm and have a go. Reg, is a New Zealand Coastal Master and also a Master Class 4 for those thinking of buying or hiring a yacht. Reg has a wealth of information to share. Domino departs Abell Point Marina at 9am and sails to 'Bali Hai'. Spend at least 2.5 hours on the island for lunch, snorkelling and exploring, then casually sail back to Airlie Beach arriving at approximately 5pm. Day sail in a group costs $180.00 per person, all inclusive of lunch, light beverages, EMC charges, snorkel gear etc. Private Charter rate for Skipper. crew and DOMINO, all inclusive is $1200.00 per day. ( prices effective 1 January 2014)
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“If you want to sail and not hear a motor, this is the tour for you”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

Have had a great day of sailing with Reg. So many tour companies show boats with sails hoisted but many still motor along to reach their destination. Reg loves to sail his Lidgard 36 and is the only charter yacht in Airlie that actually sails! We had the opportunity to sail with the gennaker and loved the sail downwind back to Abel Point Marina. If you can't afford a charter yacht in the Whitsundays then you must go on a real sail with Reg!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Poole, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“What a great day on S.V. Domino”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

What a great day! S.V. Domino has plenty of deck room for the maximum 8 guests and Reg, the owner/ skipper, is an interesting guy, a good sailor and an attentive host supplying juice, tea and coffee in abundance.
It is one of the very few sailing boats offering day trips from Airlie Beach. We were fortunate on our day; with a good breeze, most of the trip out and all of the trip back was under sail without engine.....Brilliant sailing!
The small island visited, Bali Hai, was idyllic. We transferred ashore in the tender to a sandy beach with all snorkelling equipment provided (including wetsuits). The most amazing corals and fish were in abundance just a few yards off the beach.... and with Sea Eagles flying overhead, just paradise!
Lunch is provided (pre-ordered for chicken or sea-food or vege) and taken on the island at the picnic tables just behind the beach. It was, without doubt, the best provided lunch of any trip we have been on; fresh salad, a quantity of amazing huge prawns and other seafood, and with all the trimmings and dressings provided.....absolutely superb!
It was the most enjoyable day and I would heartily recommend it..... Definitely quite special.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
1 review
“Best day ever”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

If you are looking for an exclusive cruise around the Whitsundays then this is the trip for you.
We had a fabulous day with reg, Sailed out to Bali Hai Island on his stunning yacht (very clean), where we snorkelled the amazing reef, we were left alone to do our own thing which was great. We ate our lunch (provided by Reg) on the beach.
The Island was so peaceful we could have stayed all day, there were no other tour boats there so we basically had the Island to ourselves.
We have been on several trips out to the reef and this definitley the best yet.
Thanks to Reg and Julie for a fabulous day of sailing.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
1 review
“simply the best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

My brother , who lives in Switzerland and I had the most amazing day with Reg. Reg is a fantastic host and Julie prepared a delicious lunch. My brother sailed the boat for most of the way and we both so enjoyed the snorkeling. Reg provides all the gear, all you have to bring is your swimming costume and towel! Bali Hai island is absolutely beautiful and fancy sharing the island with only 6 other people. A great day out and so much more unique than sailing on one of those big charters
Reg knows the area intimately and makes sure that everyone on board has the best time. I hope to visit Airlie again one day and certainly will go sailing again with Reg. Great value.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Glad we chose this over others”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Excellent. Why would you go on any other boat? A genuinely fantastic day out on the famous whitsunday water where you are not made to feel like a tourist making up numbers. Good points: fantastic private island location (we were the only group on the boat that day and had the island all to ourselves) relaxing mode of transport (we rode the wind almost all the way there) the best snorkelling, very good lunch (we took the seafood, it felt appropriate, was good quality and hungrily devoured!) and friendly, professional, interesting skipper. Not sure how much the other operators charge but even if they're charging half of what Reg charges I felt it was good value. It's up near the top for good reason and was a highlight of our Brisbane to Cairns roadtrip.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.V. Domino Private Charter also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to S.V. Domino Private Charter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S.V. Domino Private Charter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.