We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brian sailing his Dream!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of S.V. Domino Private Charter

S.V. Domino Private Charter
Shingley Drive, Berth E3, Abel Point Marina (Meridian Marina) | Northern Abel Point Marina, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
+61 7 4948 0084
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 62 Activities in Airlie Beach
Type: Boat Tours, Sightseeing Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Day sail to the 'Best kept secret' of the Whitsunday's, Bali Hai Reef, located in the Whitsunday group of islands in the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park, Queensland, Australia. Bali Hai Reef, is the most exclusive pristine reef in the Whitsunday Islands. Sail, explore, swim and snorkel with the most environmentally friendly cruise the Whitsunday's has to offer. 14.8 nautical miles from Airlie Beach is 'Bali Hai' is a tropical secluded paradise with magnificent fringing reef. Experperience real sailing in the Whitsunday's aboard DOMINO, a fast comfortable Lidgard 36 cruiser racer, one of the first displacement racing yachts built in New Zealand of double skin kauri by John Lidgard in 1976. Domino is owned and operated by Reg Eggers. As an owner, Reg takes great pride in ensuring guests treasure the experience sailing in Australia aboard S.V.Domino. It is the best experience the Great Barrier Reef has to offer. Be part of a group of only eight passengers or private charter the yacht for the day, catering for only small groups, this eco tourism experience will be cherished forever. One can also be part of the sailing, take the helm and have a go. Reg, is a New Zealand Coastal Master and also a Master Class 4 for those thinking of buying or hiring a yacht. Reg has a wealth of information to share. Domino departs Abell Point Marina at 9am and sails to 'Bali Hai'. Spend at least 2.5 hours on the island for lunch, snorkelling and exploring, then casually sail back to Airlie Beach arriving at approximately 5pm. Day sail in a group costs $180.00 per person, all inclusive of lunch, light beverages, EMC charges, snorkel gear etc. Private Charter rate for Skipper. crew and DOMINO, all inclusive is $1200.00 per day. ( prices effective 1 January 2014)
Useful Information: Activities for older children
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Brian sailing his Dream!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Reg thankyou so much for an awesome day, slow start to get there under motor but was a great trip out there anyways! Clearly the trip back and the gods being kind enough to provide some good winds Brian had the time of his life being at the helm for the most part of the trip back. You are a great host and full of knowledge and making sure we all had a comfortable trip both ways. The snorkeling was out of this world and the Turtles..... what a bonus to be so close to them. Cannot praise this trip highly enough and will be making sure everyone knows that it the best value in Airlie for sure... if you want personal, quiet, uncrowded tour then this one is a MUST ..LOOK NO FURTHER PEOPLE...............................................thanks again Reg

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    11
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ballina, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great relaxing day. Just what we wanted to escape from the daily grind.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

Our trip on Domino with Reg and Julie was a great day out. Relaxed while we sailed along ( well with motor as well as there was no wind) and Reg was always checking to make sure we where comfotable and needed a drink. We where made to feel right af home on the boat and enjoy a great day swimming and sailing and a beautiful relaxing lunch. If want a relaxing care Free day this is it.
Thanks for a great day guys. We will pass on to all our friends and family
Cheers Shane and Tamara

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a Fabulous Day!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2012 via mobile

Yesterday we spent the day with Reg on his wonderful yacht sailing to the beautiful Bali Hai reef. The weather had been a bit ordinary on our holiday and we actually extended our stay in the hope it would clear so we could experience sailing in the Whitsundays. So glad we did as it turned out to be a wonderful adventure. Reg was a wonderful host with a great sense of humour and an obvious love for sailing. His interaction with our kids was wonderful and my husband even got to have a go at sailing on the way out. We had decided we didn't want to go with the big tour boats, we wanted a different experience. That's exactly what we got!! The snorkelling was amazing and our sumptuous seafood lunch was delicious. We had the whole island to ourselves. Thanks Reg. We had a wonderful day.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Best for last”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

(I promised Reg a 6 out 5 star review, and although Tripadvisor won't give me more green circles to click, here's my verbal crack at it anyway.)
After a few days of island transfers on large, constantly loud and excessively fast motorboats, a day spent on a private yacht is a nice change of pace. Unbelievably relaxing and chilled, the mood this day trip sets up defines what island getaways are all about. The limited number of passengers added an 'exclusive' feel, which also made interaction with one another easier. The weather was nothing but perfect. Reg does an amazing job handling the boat while being the gracious host he is. Not only does he share interesting stories and his maritime knowledge, but he is also extremely passionate about the environment and sustainability of the Whitsunday reefs, like the one we visited. When Reg mentioned that it would be more vibrant than Hardy reef, which I visited the day before, I was skeptical. At just 4 feet deep waters, I was already eating my words. Bali Hai is definitely a must see for snorkelers. It almost felt too soon before we had to get out of the water for lunch. I had the elegant seafood pack which fit the occasion perfectly. I was almost too excited to get back on the boat after. Winds picked up and Reg sailed us back home and even offered passengers to steer the boat. I was too busy soaking sun, all the while enjoying my perfect last day out at sea in the Whitsundays. Best for last indeed.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Day!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2012

Our family of 4 2 adults and 2 teenagers spent last Sunday the 23rd on-board the SV Domino. It was so relaxing from the get go. Julie is lovely and supplied us with hats suncream etc. Also a cold drink before we set sail. It is very cosy in the cabin. There was 2 other passengers on board. The sail out was beautiful. My 2 teenage daughters were never so quiet! They both sat up the front of the boat and didnt say a word just took in the beautiful surroundings. Reg was great! So many offers of tea/coffee and cold drinks and yummy biscuits. The boat was very relaxed and we all became fast friends. Reg told story both going and retuning from the island, he had me in stitches! The island is beautiful. Snorkelling was brilliant, saw lots of coral and reef fish. Lunch was served under a tarp as it was quite hot on the day. Lunch was delicious and hit the spot after over an hour in the water! I loved the fact that at this stage we had the island to ourselves. So peaceful and idyllic. The return journey was also very relaxing. More stories were shared and more tea coffee and drinks. I would highly recommend this trip for all. Ten out of ten my whole family thoroughly enjoyed the day!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed S.V. Domino Private Charter also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to S.V. Domino Private Charter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage S.V. Domino Private Charter, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.