We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, but pricey.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tides Restaurant & Bar

Tides Restaurant & Bar
Peppers Airlie Beach Resort | Mount Whitsunday Drive, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
0749625100
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Good food, but pricey.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Some of the most delicious food I've ever eaten, but not worth the price tag. If someone else gets your waiters attention you will be forgotten. Good place to eat if you can afford it.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    20
    9
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mooloolaba, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Top Class Food and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

The food at Tides Restaurant is absolutely amazing!! The seafood is really fresh and very well cooked and the steak is also great. Tides menu is suited for entree, main and dessert. The views of the water are stunning as the sun is going down and service here is fantastic. I would recommend Tides to all my family and friends if they are passing through Airlie and want to have a decent fine dining meal.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
148 helpful votes 148 helpful votes
“How is this not #1 in Airlie?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

We are lucky to eat out and about in the great food locations of Melbourne. Melbourne sets a high bar and we find it hard to match the great food experiences with generally great service. We ate recently at a number of Townsville eateries, including the Peppers restaurant at Magnetic Island, which was excellent but Tides leaves them all behind. The staff working on this quiet Monday night were fantastic and this helps start the experience out on the right foot. Added to this were excellent food, wine and setting that makes this one of our favourite eating experiences ever.

Peppers is located on a rather steep little hill, so this may put some off but don't be discouraged you can get the Peppers bus from town on the odd hours or just do the walk, helps build up a good appetitie :-). Beautiful oysters, perfect angus beef fillet (and I am fussy with my beef) and a great strawberry dessert to share. Perfect dining experience.

if the manager reads this, please give the highest praise to the girl on the front, Monday Oct 15th.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Understaffing spoiled the night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Tides is seemingly the only formal almost fine dining restarant at Airlie and accordingly is the most expensive. Has a great setting for say lunch being high on a steep hill and the chef obviously puts serious time into his dishes. But we went early on a friday night with only a few tables occupied then and the tension was immediately obvious. By the time it filled up, we entertained ourselves by watching uncomfortable patrons on other tables who wanted attention (some reasonably but the odd one unreasonably too) but there were really only two waitresses on duty. There was a male waiter too but he seemed to be an attempt to supplement the waitresses and they seemed to spend their night in damage control such that my wife and I felt sorry for them. So sorry that we doubled the normal tip to our waitress in sympathy for the obvious preesure she was placed under by a management decision to understaff the place. Neither waitress complained which was a compliment to them but obviously this restaurant has a management issue it needs to address.
Food wise, my wife's prawn/crab cocktail was a disappointment too being dry of any sauce until she got to the very bottom of the glass and there at the base was the sauce! Too late! The chef needs to withdraw this dish until he fixes that.
Otherwise the food was good but at night the vista is pointless because a roof in front means you see no lights except for the odd one on a hill etc or the sea. So go for lunch not dinner.
This restaurant needs to gets its act together because Denman Cellars, Cha'mah and possibly Fish Devine and much better options and a lot cheaper. But staff this one properly and it could take its rightful place again as Airlie's best. The tension was such that I suggested to my wife that John Cleese could probably base another Faulty Towers program on what we were watching. Don't care about the higher costs, we don't need to leave a restaurant feeling uncomfortable

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melissa B, Manager at Tides Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, October 13, 2012
Dear Eric B,

Thank you review on Tides Restaurant & Bar and we are disappointed that you didn’t have a great dining experience with us. Please accept our sincerest apologies for you leaving the restaurant feeling uncomfortable but we appreciate your feedback. Please know that we are addressing our staffing levels and your feedback on the prawn cocktail has been passed on to our Executive Chef. We do have amazing views of the Whitsunday passage during the day, and if you are in for an early dinner you get to witness the spectacular colours of the sunset! I hope we may have an opportunity to welcome you back to Tides Restaurant soon.

Warm regards,
Melissa and the team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ballina, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Great food. Awesome location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I had dinner here for our 15 wedding anniversary. The food was 1st class. The chocolate dessert for two is a must. I would go back and just order dessert. The staff where very friendly and service was excellent. We made a booking and asked if they could pick us up from our accommodation at Pinnacles and it was not a problem af all.
Prices are not cheap but the food was excellent quality. If u want to spoil a luved one it's the place to go
Cheers Shane and Tamara.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tides Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Tides Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tides Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.