We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As advertised but boring and overpriced.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Whitsunday Crocodile Safari

Whitsunday Crocodile Safari
Proserpine River Eco Tours, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
07 4948 3310
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
Top Rated
$96*
and up
Whitsunday Crocodile Safari including Lunch
Certificate of Excellence
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Attraction details
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“As advertised but boring and overpriced.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This wasn't exactly the funnest tour out there and I wouldn't have chosen it, except our tour to the reef got cancelled at the last minute and this was the only other option for us. It is quite overpriced. We saw around 4-5 large crocs (about 3 metres long?) and a few small baby ones, so I can't exactly complain as this is what they advertise. Maybe it just isn't my thing but to be honest, after seeing one crocodile up close you've pretty much seen them all. So by the end it was getting a bit boring. The lunch was fantastic, I was expecting a small sausage sizzle but they had a good range of barbequed foods. I guess for the price you pay it is to be expected. The damper and tea were good too. The wetlands tour basically involves looking at different birds and plants which was very, very boring. I think they should make the cost less expensive by cancelling out the wetlands tour and making the croc tour a 2 hour one plus lunch, as that would leave half the day for me to be enjoying other tours rather than be stuck viewing wetlands. The guides were very knowledgable and nice. Overall it wasn't bad, really just depends on what you are looking for in the tour. If it is mainly for the crocs, go for it but I guess it just wasn't my thing as by the time you've seen the 2nd croc it starts getting a bit boring.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    18
    4
    0
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Townsville, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic day tour!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

Great tour with entertaining hosts. We saw atleast a dozen adult crocs & were given lots of opportunities to take photos/video. BBQ lunch included - good food & heaps of it. After lunch is the wetlands tour which doesn't sound very exciting but the guide was great. James knows all sorts of interesting facts and we saw lots of wallabies. Afternoon tea of damper & billy tea was a nice end to the day. Me, hubby & 9yr old son all thoroughly enjoyed it & would recommend. Most children would enjoy it but probably not at the preschool age as they have to sit quietly in the boat for 2hrs.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Much much better than in the zoo!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

We were really happy with this tour. We saw heaps of crocodile with theirs babies. It was amazing. unfortunately We didnt see mudcrabs. The barbecue lunch was really good, with a lot of choice and lamington for dessert. The wetland tour was not as interesting as the tour on the river but we leant some interesting stuff about trees and what aborigines do with it. We thought it was a little bit too expensive for what you get. But it is definitely worth it as it is rare to see crocodile in the wild without getting injured. You feel very safe in the boat!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
185 reviews
74 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“The best way to see the animals - in the wild”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Many crocodiles and birds on the river - in your boat you will get quite close to them and have plenty of opportunities to take good pictures. Depending on the time of year you'll also see the little croc babies (some only a few inches long). The trailer ride took you out to the wetlands to see more birds and wallabies, and the guide explained about various trees and shrubs. Both our river and land guide were extremely enthusiastic and knowledgeable which made for an interesting few hours. Be aware there is only one washroom facility located at the main "camp".

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qld
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
“A lot more than just Crocs!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

What a great day. A true Australian experience from the billie tea to the wild crocodiles. Steve and Peter were wonderful and what they don't know about the Australian bush isn't worth knowing. Amazing opportunity to immerse yourself in the Australian outback with viewing of heaps of kangaroos, birdlife and ending with spotting of many large crocs up close and personal. Would definitely recommend it.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Whitsunday Crocodile Safari also viewed

 

Been to Whitsunday Crocodile Safari? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Whitsunday Crocodile Safari, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.