We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the money” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Air Whitsunday Day Tours

Air Whitsunday Day Tours
Whitsunday Airport | Whitsunday Airport, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
61 (7) 4946 9111
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
and up
Whitsundays Seaplane Tour Including Whitehaven Beach and Hardy Lagoon
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Air Whitsunday is renowned for their seaplane services that rendezvous with their privately operated glass bottom boat, moored at an exclusive snorkelling location inside the coral suspended lagoon of Hardy Reef. Along with snorkelling tours to this exclusive reef location; they provide private picnics at Whitehaven Beach and the most comprehensive scenic flights on offer in the region - encompassing all the famous Whitsunday sights.
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Well worth the money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

I done a one hour scenic flight with air Whitsunday and it was the best money that I had spent (about $260) Our pilot Dan provided us with lots of information as we flew over them. He made sure to point out heart reef and then turned the plane around so that we could get another of it.

If your going to the airport from Airlie Beach, take the bus to Shute Harbour and mention to he bus dive that you want to get off at the airport, this only take about 15 minutes and cost $3.60, the ticket doesn't expire for 3 hours so you have plenty time I get back to Airlie

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kyneton, Australia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Very dissapointed when our flight was cancelled without any notice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

We had a panorama tour booked for New Years Day for our adult family of 4. We kept New years eve celebrations to a minimum as we had the tour the next day. Arrived at the airport and completed all the check in procedures, they took our $495.00 per person and we waited a couple of hours before the pilot arrived to tell us that we would not be going. Not much explanation was given except to say that it was something to do with the plane's landing skids. The plane was parked out the front the whole time and no one was looking at it or working on it. They did not offer us another day saying they were fully booked. They offered a scenic flight and after some negotiating they discounted that $30 pp. We had based our whole holiday around this trip. My son and his partner came from The Netherlands and we chose Airlie Beach purposely for this trip. Very disappointed. Air Whitsunday did not have a backup plan and the plane that they used for the scenic tour also had landing skids so I am not convinced that we were told the full story

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirWhitsunday, Guest Relations Manager at Air Whitsunday Day Tours, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Good Afternoon Julie M,

Thank you for your recent review, may we start by apologising for your recent experience with Air Whitsunday Seaplanes.

Unfortunately time to time these situations do arise and are completely outside of our control.

We hope the letter we sent you recently has helped clarify the unforseen circumstances surrounding your cancellation.

It is unfortunate that we could not accommodate you the same day due to running at full capacity for festive season. However you were contacted shortly after with an offer of seats available due to a cancellation within your travel period -which were declined.

Again we apologise and hope you are able to join us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best snorkelling we have every done!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2013

We absolutely loved our air whitsunday tour. We had already been to whitehaven beach on an earlier visit to Airlie so just did the reef adventure tour. It was amazing. The pilot was great and the girls in the office very helpful. We flew out over the islands and landed out on the reef. Great views! We were then transported by glass bottom boat (amazing underwater views of the coral) to the best snorkelling we have ever seen. Awesome coral and fish! We then fly back over the reef and got soem great pics of heart reef. Was a fabulous day out and we highly recommend!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheyenne, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
324 reviews
88 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Amazing views from the air”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2013

If you want a wow factor, fly over the Great Barrier Reef for an hour. The most amazing view you'll ever see will give you an idea how large the reef is. The cost in December 2013 was about $250!per person but worth every penny. Make sure the pilot points out "Heart Island". It's so tiny, if you blink you'll miss it, so have your camera ready.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chessington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

My husband and I booked the Panoramic tour and were not disappointed. It was money very well spent as we had a fabulous time. We joined the seaplane at Whitsunday Airport and we were a group of eight plus Lee the pilot. We flew over the Whitsunday Islands and the view was spectacular. Due to strong winds that day we were not able to land on Whitehaven Beach as planned instead Lee took us to a secluded beach on one of the other islands. It was absolute paradise. We had champagne and snacks were provided. We stayed for about an hour and swam in the lovely warm waters before taking off and heading for the Barrier Reef. We picked the perfect day as the view of the reef was absolutely stunning and something we will remember for a very long time. We flew over the Heart Reef and then landed by a private pontoon. From there we snorkeled out over the reef to a lagoon. I have bad arthritis and so I wasn't actually going to go snorkeling as I didn't have the strength to swim that far out but Lee didn't want me to miss out and so he literally pulled me over the reef while I held on to a life buoy and I am so grateful to him as it enabled me to see the reef under the water. That is customer service for you! This is certainly the way to see the Whitsundays and Barrier Reef and we would highly recommend this trip. This was our first visit to Australia and we loved everywhere we visited but this trip was definitely one of the highlights.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Whitsunday Day Tours also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland

Been to Air Whitsunday Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air Whitsunday Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.