We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic tour on the great barrier reef” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Air Whitsunday Day Tours

Air Whitsunday Day Tours
Whitsunday Airport | Whitsunday Airport, Airlie Beach, Queensland, Australia
61 (7) 4946 9111
Website
Improve this listing
Book ahead on Viator
$211*
and up
Ranked #9 of 63 Activities in Airlie Beach
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Air Whitsunday is renowned for their seaplane services that rendezvous with their privately operated glass bottom boat, moored at an exclusive snorkelling location inside the coral suspended lagoon of Hardy Reef. Along with snorkelling tours to this exclusive reef location; they provide private picnics at Whitehaven Beach and the most comprehensive scenic flights on offer in the region - encompassing all the famous Whitsunday sights.
Hong Kong, China
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
57 attraction reviews
Reviews in 67 cities Reviews in 67 cities
87 helpful votes 87 helpful votes
“Fantastic tour on the great barrier reef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

We took the tour from Hayman Island to the reef, with the flight, the glass bottom boat and the snorkeling activity.
FANTASTIC. The views from the plane are very nice, the heart reef seen from above is stunning, the snorkeling amazing.
A must do !

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    150
    12
    3
    3
    6
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“A great way to visit whitehaven beach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was really lovely. It's great to see everything from the air. You get excellent views and photos and you spend as much time on the beach as the boats. The people who run it are very friendly and you get good service. You need to wade on to the beach from the plane and it is at least knee deep so bring shoes that can be removed or get wet and wear clothes that you can do this (for example, don't wear long trousers or precious clothes). I suggest wearing your swimmers under your clothes as there is nowhere to change. The beach is quite crowded, and you do land at the same end as the boats, so you don't get an advantage there. However, my partner gets seasick and so this was a good way to still see the beach but avoid a boat.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“WOW!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2012

What a fanatstic experience, my partner enjoy seeing the iconic "Heart Reef" & snorking on the Great Barrier Reef. A swim on the stunning Whitehaven Beach with champagne & snacks capped of a perfect day. Our thanks to Lauren & the Air Whitsunday team for giving us one of the best days ever.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairns, Australia
Top Contributor
152 reviews 152 reviews
53 attraction reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“A little disappointed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We booked the sea plane as we wanted to have the experience of taking off and landing in the water. The sea planes are actually based at Whitsunday Airport and during our trip we must have touched the water for all of 10 seconds.
The pilot Dan B was lovely and the views from the air fantastic.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Airlie Beach, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Best way to see the Great Barrier Reef”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This is a wonderful way to see the Great Barrier Reef...fly out to the Reef, snorkel for an hour with. A few other people and then fly back over the Whitsunday Islands. the pilot was excellent and very informative and helpful and the sea plane was very smooth to fly in. We got great pictures and flew over Heart Reef. The weather was perfect and no wind so the water was flat, clear and about 24C. It is fantastic having the whole reef are to explore with only a few other people. my husband says it was one of the bat days of his life. You can't beat that.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AirWhitsunday, Guest Relations Manager at Air Whitsunday Day Tours, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Hi airlienewz,

Thanks for your feedback, we really appreciate it. You are right.. it is the best way to experience the Great Barrier Reef Marine Park ... with only a few other guests and your pilot.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Air Whitsunday Day Tours also viewed

 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Air Whitsunday Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Air Whitsunday Day Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.