We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Balcony Views” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Airlie Thai

Airlie Thai
Beach Plaza The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
07 4946 4683
Improve this listing
Ranked #59 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Perth WA
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Balcony Views”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

We visited there for lunch late December. The restaurant is upstairs and got pleasant views from the balcony. We had to go to the counter and ask for service. The place was almost empty, only two small tables of other customers. We ordered drinks and food for all. First off, the waiter said they make no curry dishes for lunch (?!?), but changed his mind when we said we'd be going someplace else then. The wait was long and we had to enquire several times about the meals. Table service was non-existing and we had to go inside and ring a bell in order to get more drinks. When the food finally arrived, the dish for my 4 yo grandson was not there. We had to chase that as well. In my opinion, small Children should be served first. The food was good and tasty, but not real Thai food. Oh yes - don't forget to order rice seperately or you get non.
While waiting, 8 people walked in, sat down and left again after 15 minutes - guess they weren't that patient waiting for service.
To wrap it all up - Food is tasty, a bit on the expensive side for what it is and the views from the balcony are enjoyable. But don't go there if you're on a timer or in a hurry.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    28
    36
    24
    15
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful Fresh Food!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Having spent a lot of time recently in Airlie Beach we were thrilled to find this gem! Beautiful fresh food, great table service and value for money...what more could you ask for. The husband and wife owners are lovely people and really go out of their way to make everything so enjoyable and nothing is too much trouble for them. We have since been back with familiy and friends and are never disappointed. They also have a take-away menu and home delivery service which we have also tried. We will recommend Airlie Thai to others. Thank-you very much.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Really quite good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

This was very good thai, particularly for the country. It was a bit expensive but worth it. The rice in a shape of a heart was cute

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Very average Thai, though hits the spot.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

Went for dinner here tonight, waitress was very bubbly and friendly, great service (was a very quiet Sunday and raining when we were there, though hey ho).
Food was rather average for a thai, though the green curry was really tasty. :)

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gold Coast , Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good value Thai”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012 via mobile

If you want value for money without touch fuss then this is for you the Laksa is the best ever and green curry was also very good, we would go back

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Airlie Thai also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Airlie Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Airlie Thai, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.