We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very inconsistent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar

Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar
Roundabout Building | Cnr Shute Harbour Rd & The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
07 4946 6713
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very inconsistent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013 via mobile

We liked the look of the menu here and fancied some seafood. I had the calamari for an entree and my fiancé had the galliano prawns (special). Both were lovely. The calamari was a lot of food for an entree. For main I had reef & beef and it was quite frankly dreadful. The seafood was bland and the steak was awful. It was supposed to be rib fillet and medium rare. What I got was not rib fillet. It was also only about 10mm thick, very dry and overdone. My fiancé had fish which was also dry and not very nice. It was a big disappointment especially as the entrees were so nice and perfectly cooked. I would not return. I gave 3 just because the entree was nice.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smuts22, Owner at Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
We're disappointed about the main courses. I can assure you we only serve premium yearling rib fillet from the Kilcoy Pastoral Company which is minimum 100 day grain fed and MSA certified. If the cut was thin it's simply because the size of the fillet was large and to get the required portion weight it has to be cut thinner. We specify the maximum size to our butchers so that we don't have to cut it too thin but sometimes it's unavoidable. If it was overcooked that is our fault and we apologise. The writer does not say whether they said anything to our staff but it seems not.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    69
    49
    43
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
79 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Recommended but try elsewhere”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013 via mobile

Looking for fresh seafood one evening, we ate here, as suggested by our hosts. Staff were welcoming, offering taste of wine before purchasing, which is always welcome. Menu looked interesting but food was bland. Calamari was thickly cut, battered and reasonable with good accompanying salad. 2 mains of grilled Barramundi and Red Emperor were disappointing. Both served on bed of sad couscous, in some indefinable sauce. Fish lacked flavour, seemed dry and slightly overlooked ? Pre cooked. Could not recommend.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Do NOT order seafood platter ”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This was a scam at $135 per seafood platter for 2 people. Variable quality of the seafood with some of it not fresh, mostly cold and hugely overpriced. The tuna we ordered was clearly not fresh and overcooked, we sent it back. The sides of veggies were not cooked enough and basically raw. The cocktails tasted like watered down mocktails. Service was shotty having to ask for missing cutlery and waiving them down for drink orders etc. For the amount of money we paid this was a scandal. Would definitely NOT recommend.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingswinford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious fresh food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

Wow! Ok so the menu is a little pricey for a backpacker but the special board for $16.50, including a glass of wine, is actually cheaper than the bars. It was definitely worth it. The waitress was a little slow to seat me and take my order but the setting, a view over the sea, and décor, not to mention the food was well worth the wait.

The fresh food was well presented and plenty of it to feed an empty stomach.
Note - the special is only available at lunchtime.

You have to eat here!

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Fantastic! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2013

I am incredibly happy with the service, food, and atmosphere at Shipwrecked. The staff were absolutely the best, friendly and helpful. They stopped by often enough to make sure we were looked after, but not too often to be annoying - a perfect balance. We were seated at 6.30pm, had oyster entree, cocktails, the reef n beef (cooked perfectly) and the salmon, and dessert, and we're walking back to our hotel room by 8pm.

The food has a beautiful Asian inspired flair to it. Lots of lime and chilli infusions.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.