We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This was the worst meal I have ever eaten” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar

Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar
Roundabout Building | Cnr Shute Harbour Rd & The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
07 4946 6713
Improve this listing
Ranked #52 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“This was the worst meal I have ever eaten”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ordered oysters kilpatrick with a twist which were ok. A little bit watery but the killer was the garlic prawns I ordered and the garlic chilli bugs my partner ordered. My prawns consisted of a bowl full of butter with 4 prawns in it and half a baguette to 'mop up the juices'. The juices were literally a bowl of butter with a tiny bit of garlic in the bottom. It was disgusting. My partner's was disgusting as well but at least he had a total of 3 tiny bugs in his bowl of butter. The sparkling wine I ordered was very tasty but everything else was horrible. Wait staff were also sour faced and lacked customer service skills. Would never recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smuts22, Manager at Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar, responded to this review, August 19, 2013
Both the garlic prawns & bugs are entrees, not main meals. Not surprisingly they are entree size. They are served sizzling in extra virgin olive oil and a teaspoon of butter in cast iron pots with fresh minced garlic or chilli and some crusty lightly grilled bread to mop up the juices, as stated on the menu.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    63
    47
    42
    54
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Good food, varied menu, good value.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

We had a table in the outside dining area overlooking the park coincidently on the evening of a fabulous fireworks show! We had a good meal and the best view for the show! We would go back even without the fireworks :-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Amazing food,great views!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

My husband took me for dinner here for my birthday & we loved it...we shared 2 different prawn entrees that were amazing & then we both got the surf & turf so that we could get the best of both worlds,I have never had a surf & turf like this before most restaurants just give you a couple of prawns on top at ship wrecked you receive prawns,calamari,fish & a scallop on top of your steak which was also cooked perfectly...we were both really impressed with everything & the service was fantastic & all staff were very friendly...we were seated outside on the balcony overlooking the water where there was a beautiful sea breeze,I couldn't have asked for a better place to have my birthday dinner...
We will definitely return here for a meal next time we are in airlie beach...

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Great Location and decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had dinner twice at Shipwrecked and had an enjoyable dinner both nights. The pot pie was so good, we came back another night so we could both enjoy it again. The fish of the day special was great, plenty of flavour. We found the prices were in line with similar restaurants. Great location overlooking the park and harbour with a nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed, we believed the reviews shown on the downstairs wall and can only guess these were from sometime ago. Things ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was in the party of seven mentioned in the review previously and the waitress was most definitely asked to request the chef come to our table to discuss the poor quality of two of the dishes. She returned and advised that what I say goes. I have never written a review before but felt I needed to as the response to the previous reviewer was misleading.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.