We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location and decor” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar

Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar
Roundabout Building | Cnr Shute Harbour Rd & The Esplanade, Airlie Beach, Queensland 4802, Australia
07 4946 6713
Improve this listing
Ranked #53 of 78 Restaurants in Airlie Beach
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Reservations
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
1 review
“Great Location and decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We had dinner twice at Shipwrecked and had an enjoyable dinner both nights. The pot pie was so good, we came back another night so we could both enjoy it again. The fish of the day special was great, plenty of flavour. We found the prices were in line with similar restaurants. Great location overlooking the park and harbour with a nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

320 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    103
    69
    49
    43
    56
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed, we believed the reviews shown on the downstairs wall and can only guess these were from sometime ago. Things ”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I was in the party of seven mentioned in the review previously and the waitress was most definitely asked to request the chef come to our table to discuss the poor quality of two of the dishes. She returned and advised that what I say goes. I have never written a review before but felt I needed to as the response to the previous reviewer was misleading.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“seafood delight”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

This is the second time we have eaten here and I don't think the prices are over the top at all. All the waitresses were very friendly and new the product. The meals we had were cooked exactly as we expected and tasted great. The dishes are varied some traditional others unique to the chef maybe. Anyway we really liked it and thought we got value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Find it hard to say anything goodis”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Party of 7 celebrating a special birthday but meals were poor quality; the trout and snapper were dry and overcooked I have never tasted such bad fish in all of Australia. Chef refused to come out to discuss the problem. This restuarant relies on its location and half price cocktails ( as per other reviews) for patronage but should not claim any prizes for the food it serves up.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
smuts22, Manager at Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
We plead guilty to the snapper but the Coral Trout was perfectly OK. There was no charge for either meal and at no stage did the chef "refuse" to discuss it - the customer didn't ask to speak to him. The suggestion that we only stay in business because of cheap cocktails and a great location belie the fact that we have been operating here very successfully for eleven years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Over priced ordinary food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013 via mobile

We ate here for my sons birthday. Food was average. We had reef and beef and the steak was tough. My son had sizzling prawns nearly $20 for a small pot of very small prawns. The meals were very over priced for the quality. On the up side we had a awesome English waitress. She made our night!!!! I tipped her for here amazing service!!! I hope the restaurant owners don't think it was for the food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar also viewed

Airlie Beach, Queensland
 
Airlie Beach, Queensland
 

Been to Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shipwrecked Seafood and Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.